16 Jun 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Marianne Leigh - Single Review: I Don't Care

23 Jun 2023 // A review by Sharne Molloy-Turpin

I Don't Care, the new single by Marianne Leigh, takes pop punk and makes it celestial. I love it when a song takes a concept and can stretch the emotion it evokes. In this case, Marianne tells us how she feels about the modern phenomenon called FOMO. At the age of 20, Marianne has created something beyond her years and has placed her individualised stamp on indie-pop music. From her hometown in Auckland, she created this special track and received gracious support from Ryan Cruickshank who helped with mixing.

“The creation of I Don't Care was unlike anything I had done before. It was very much a 21st-century experience”

The melodies and harmonies are tranquil with Marianne’s voice being both soft and powerful at the same time. There's a nice contrasting flow between the chorus which hits us with a strong force and the sinister verses. I especially like how Marianne’s voice beautifully bounces off the low-toned base and the supporting instruments. And behind the instruments, there are the lyrics that go into the deep trenches of being entangled with insecurities. They reflect the inner thoughts of deep fears and self-comparison which shows how powerful it is for an artist to share something so personal.

Marianne has travelled across the world to London from New Zealand in pursuit of even more music opportunities. She makes her London debut on June 28th as she takes a great step headlining at Troubadour in celebration of her single release alongside London-based acts Marchant, peafloom and Rosie Webb. At Visconti Studio in London, a studio built in partnership with Grammy award-winning Tony Visconti, Marianne sent mixes back and forth and Emily Wheatcroft-Snape put all the beautiful parts of the song together from New Zealand. With already an EP up her sleeve titled Simple Things and a few more singles, there is certainly more to hear from this young artist. It’s going to be well worth seeing what she releases in the future.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Marianne Leigh

Marianne Leigh is an acoustic indie-pop artist writing catchy tunes about genuine human emotions and experiences. She speaks to the soul with her meaningful lyrics and connects to listeners through her narrative songwriting style. Leigh's songs discuss the struggles of a naive youth, the ups and downs of love, and learning life lessons.

She is a versatile artist, her authenticity heard in both her emotional ballads and upbeat singles. The 18-year-old placed first in the nationwide Smokefree Rockquest competition with her single Best of Me in 2019, and brought her talent to TV on the What Now and Cath Vincent TV Shows.

She is a three-time finalist of the Play It Strange songwriting competitions and was mentored by award-winning NZ musician Bic Runga. “Authenticity beams through Marianne Leigh’s connection, vast musical space and raw artistry." - NZ Musician Magazine.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Marianne Leigh

Releases

Simple Things
Year: 2021
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Sharne Molloy-Turpin

C. Zukey - Album Review: Stone Fruit
18 May 2024 // by Sharne Molloy-Turpin
The sparkling new debut Stone Fruit by C. Zukey is a full-hearted reflection of feelings and a gentle sting of honest self-internalization.
Read More...
Gig Review: Electric Tapestry @ Valhalla, Wellington - 11/04/2024
12 Apr 2024 // by Sharne Molloy-Turpin
I have seen Electric Tapestry before, last year in December at Meow and I believe the Valhalla venue autographs the metal/rock band’s strength just a bit more. The scenery of the music is not necessarily that deep for those who enjoy the quiver of rock, but it was something I noticed.
Read More...
Marmalade Skies - Album Review: When I Wake Up
01 Feb 2024 // by Sharne Molloy-Turpin
There’s a gleaming warmth from local Kiwi band Marmalade Skies and their debut Album When I Wake Up. Set to be released on February 2, 2024, right in the middle of summer, the band will head for a tour around the North Island.
Read More...
Gig Review: Electric Tapestry @ Meow, Wellington - 14/12/2023
15 Dec 2023 // by Sharne Molloy-Turpin
Electric Tapestry takes traditional rock and adds a revitalised soundwave of numerous styles. What I first observed was how well-bound the band was on stage as they were equipped and prepared to showcase their harmonies, rhythms and styles.
Read More...
Fool's Lagoon - EP Review: Fool Me Twice
14 Dec 2023 // by Sharne Molloy-Turpin
We are so lucky to have yet another New Zealand band sound like molecules in a jar that bounces pieces of pop, rock and funk all into one. Fool's Lagoon has a new EP called Fool Me Twice which was recorded in the simplicity of a family home in Eastern Bays, Auckland.
Read More...
Junior Junior - EP Review: In the Light
30 Oct 2023 // by Sharne Molloy-Turpin
The sound of Junior Junior belongs to a summer night gig in Aotearoa. The band grew their talent in Hawkes Bay and Tamaki Makaurau and with pleasure, they sound reminiscent of the Arctic Monkeys.
Read More...
1 Drop Nation - Album Review: Moment In Time
12 Oct 2023 // by Sharne Molloy-Turpin
The sophomore album Moment In Time is wrapped in a groovy haze as one of Aotearoa’s stellar talents, 1 Drop Nation, went further with their latest album which is electrically robust. This album arrived just after the band's self-titled debut album came out at the end of 2022.
Read More...
Gig Review: Danica Bryant + Band @ Moon, Wellington - 10/09/2023
11 Sep 2023 // by Sharne Molloy-Turpin
Sunday evening was gritty and thundering despite the great weather. After pulling the front door of the Moon bar in Newtown, Wellington, I get a warm lilac smile from artist Danica Bryant and a sweet “Thank you for coming!
Read More...
View All Articles By Sharne Molloy-Turpin

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • HOUDINI
    Eminem
  • MILLION DOLLAR BABY
    Tommy Richman
  • PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • BIRDS OF A FEATHER
    Billie Eilish
  • ESPRESSO
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • A BAR SONG (TIPSY)
    Shaboozey
  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • I HAD SOME HELP
    Post Malone feat. Morgan Wallen
  • NOT LIKE US
    Kendrick Lamar
  • LUNCH
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem