28 May 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Bleeding Star - Album Review: Dropper

02 Jun 2023 // A review by ApolloSteamTrain

Dropper is the debut album from Wellington band - Bleeding Star. Self-described as "Noise Rock" the band have risen from bedroom demos to supporting international touring acts and being voted #1 on Wellingtons Radio Active for their song February.

Given that I am a solid fan of anything guitar, I was happy to be offered the album for a listen. Guitar music is often considered old school these days, so I am always keen to hear how the younger generation are keeping the chords ringing.

I am happy to report that Bleeding Star are flying the guitar flag right from the top of the pole.

So here come the comparisons (this is what happens when older ears listen to new music) Lets keep it short and simple.

I am hearing musicality and styles from the likes of Weezer, The Chills, The Cure and even a bit of early U2. Excellent work.

You may hear the same or different. Or you may hear Bleeding Star.

What I really like about these guys is that they are actually NOT attempting to re-invent anything. Not trying too hard. Just being themselves. Just being a good band. That is more than enough for me.

I feel that on Dropper, Bleeding Star have simply presented their own version of everything that is great about a guitar rock band. Worked out how to communicate the emotion of being human and collectively deliver it to an audience. Solid guitar work. Vocals and melodies that leave you wanting more. Drums done right for the song. Well done.

Bleeding Star have a very "live" sound that can often get lost in the perfect production that pumps out of studios these days. However the production on Dropper has kept their sound raw, honest and still very live. A perfect reflection of what I feel must be a great live set.

Standout tracks for me are as follows:

Be Your Ghost - an epic opening track with a pumping stadium feel. Brilliant drumming on this one. Short and a total hit to the face. Wake up here we go.

Poison in You - Rock 101. Upbeat and a total live show track. Jump up and down. Now.

Why Do Parties Have To Be So Loud? - Great drum feel that leads into a very well-crafted guitar pop song. Good hooks with a strong vocal performance. Yep its "cold at the bus stop"

Dropper is a solid collection of tracks and a clear indication of both the serious intention of this new band and their journey so far.

Great work Kiwis.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Bleeding Star

Powerfully crafted indie noise rock curated by an exciting and utterly convincing new talent from Wellington

Bleeding Star is Jude Savage, Carlos Bellamy, Kindekel Banda- Moyes and Otis Hill. Inspired by the long marriage of melody and noise they deliver a set of carefully considered cuts that are disarmingly raw and intuitively crafted.

Bleeding Star have been fortunate enough to be on some choice bills including a performance supporting Daffodils and The Lazy Eyes and successful shows at Auckland’s Others Way festival, The Newtown festival 2023 and the Island Bay festival. They were also the band was voted #1 on Wellington’s Radio Active for their home bedroom recorded demo February. Bleeding Star are moving from strength to strength…and quickly. Don’t let their relative youth cause you any doubt. This young outfit play with a maturity beyond their years and deliver with an unflinching point of view.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Bleeding Star

Releases

Dropper
Year: 2023
Type: Album
We Fall Together
Year: 2023
Type: Album
6 Songs (Demo Collection)
Year: 2022
Type: EP
Be Your Ghost (Demo Collection)
Year: 2021
Type: Album

Other Reviews By ApolloSteamTrain

Orangefarm - Album Review: Inheritance
21 Jul 2023 // by ApolloSteamTrain
Inheritance is the long awaited debut album from Wellington indie rock outfit Orangefarm. The band is the vehicle for the ongoing musical offerings of front-man Nigel Mitchell, who is well settled and respected in the Wellington musical landscape.
Read More...
Brian Baker - EP Review: Open Up Your Heart
27 Jul 2022 // by ApolloSteamTrain
Brian Baker is an established Kiwi songwriter whose career spans 40 years and is still going strong. His latest release is a 5-track EP entitled Open Up Your Heart and it brilliantly showcases Brian's musical experience and the journey that his art has taken him on.
Read More...
ShockOne x Lee Mvtthews - Single Review: Thinkin About
09 Jun 2022 // by ApolloSteamTrain
If you are entrenched in and or familiar with the world of EDM (specifically Drum n Bass) then Lee Mvtthews will require no introduction, but for those of us that are perhaps not keeping up, here is the group summary in three sentences from a Kiwi perspective: A few years back in 2012, a couple of Auckland blokes named Graham Matthews and Tom Lee were knocking the top off a few beers while shooting the shizness about the music business. They found that they were both into the same stuff, right and decided to have a crack at making a few tunes on the computer.
Read More...
Goodspace - Single Review: Sit Down
05 May 2022 // by ApolloSteamTrain
Goodspace are an Auckland 4-piece band in the style of what I want to call Glitch Dream Rock. A style that fuses together traditional songwriting styles with modern EDM soundscapes over Dream Pop vocal styles.
Read More...
Neil Beales - Single Review: Missing Words
13 Apr 2022 // by ApolloSteamTrain
Missing Words is the latest solo offering from Wellington based songwriter Neil Beales who is also a member of the band Tower of Flints. The track was Recorded at the Outland Sessions, a week long songwriting collaboration event where Neil has been a regular attendee for the last few years.
Read More...
Gig Review: Crowded House @ Claudelands Arena, Hamilton - 23/03/2021
24 Mar 2021 // by ApolloSteamTrain
The Crowded House To The Island tour strolled into Hamilton last night and took a seat at Claudelands Arena. A strong crowd of 4000 fans, comfortably arranged in a theatre style setting waited patiently for this long overdue performance from our favourite sons.
Read More...
Gig Review: Jon Toogood @ Waihi Beach Hotel, Waihi Beach - 04/01/2021
05 Jan 2021 // by ApolloSteamTrain
The Jon Toogood Solo, Acoustic tour rolled into the Waihi Beach Hotel last night and I was indeed an eager attendee. Jon has been regularly performing in this format for the last few years but the stars have not always been aligned to allow me to catch the gig, so I wanted to make sure that I did not let this opportunity pass by again.
Read More...
Michael Morris - Single Review: Pseudoephedrine
20 Dec 2020 // by ApolloSteamTrain
Dunedin based Alternative Pop/Rock/Punk musician Michael Morris returns home following an extensive journey throughout Europe while based in France. The first single from his upcoming sophomore album is called Pseudoephedrine and is a nice example of what is shaping up to be a noteworthy body of work.
Read More...
View All Articles By ApolloSteamTrain

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MILLION DOLLAR BABY
    Tommy Richman
  • NOT LIKE US
    Kendrick Lamar
  • LUNCH
    Billie Eilish
  • A BAR SONG (TIPSY)
    Shaboozey
  • I HAD SOME HELP
    Post Malone feat. Morgan Wallen
  • CHIHIRO
    Billie Eilish
  • ESPRESSO
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • BIRDS OF A FEATHER
    Billie Eilish
  • SKINNY
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem