18 Jan 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Jon Toogood - Gig Review: Jon Toogood @ Waihi Beach Hotel, Waihi Beach - 04/01/2021

05 Jan 2021 // A review by Brendan McCarthy
The Jon Toogood Solo, Acoustic tour rolled into the Waihi Beach Hotel last night and I was indeed an eager attendee. Jon has been regularly performing in this format for the last few years but the stars have not always been aligned to allow me to catch the gig, so I wanted to make sure that I did not let this opportunity pass by again.


For any readers that have made it to the second paragraph and are not familiar with the name Jon Toogood, then I highly recommend you check out the band Shihad. Jon is the front man for this award winning, internationally renowned, iconic New Zealand rock band, formed in 1988.

I know right? That’s like ages ago.

Well yes, it is and I can list multiple reasons why Jon and Shihad are still trucking along in a world where to the majority, rock music is not as relevant as it once was but the outstanding reason at the very top of the list is of course, great songs. Great songs transcend generations and can be performed in any format as long as passion is retained in the performance.

Jon took to the WBH stage at the somewhat early time of 8pm and instantly projected the casual nature of the show by speaking to the 100 strong audience while he tuned his guitars. After a short welcoming introduction, Jon informed the crowd that the structure of the evening would be a knees-up singalong to some of his favourite songs, encouraging audience participation.

Tuned up and ready to go, Jon launched the evening with the instantly recognizable opening chords to Neil Young’s – Hey Hey My My, fittingly starting the show with the lyrics "Rock and roll will never die".

First song jitters over and done with its original time with a concise version of Think You’re So Free from the last Shihad album FVEY, followed up with the well-known track Run from the one and only Pacifier album prompting the first of the requested singalongs of the evening.

The format is now established and Jon continues through his set, bouncing between his favourite covers and Shihad originals with ease. He performs standout versions of iconic Kiwi songs including Th' Dudes – Bliss, The Exponents – Victoria, Dragon - Rain and the current Shihad release, a cover of Split Enz – I Got You, while interweaving superb versions of Brightest Star, Home Again and Pacifier.

Technical problems during Pacifier prompt a retelling of the now infamous Police Horse joke that Jon told to an audience of music industry people in the USA during the Pacifier period, causing the end of the contract and the return to New Zealand. The pain of what could have been is now the stuff of legend.

Jon fittingly apologies for the Pacifier era and gets on with the job. A job that he does very well.

The set is rounded off with a stand up acoustic version of Ace of Spades by Motorhead – not something that you see every day.

Acoustic solo gigs are honest and upfront and allow the audience to see the true artist as they are with no production to hide behind.

Jon is a master of the truth and delivers his version of rock n roll on acoustic guitar as only he can.

Long may he continue to do so.

Lastly because I am old enough to say this.

ROCK ON.


Photos from Jon's Leigh Sawmill show on 3 January, courtesy and copyright to Morgan Creative.

 

About Jon Toogood

NZ music legend, and guitarist and vocalist for Shihad and The Adults.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Jon Toogood

Releases

There are no releases to display for Jon Toogood.

Other Reviews By Brendan McCarthy

Michael Morris - Single Review: Pseudoephedrine
20 Dec 2020 // by Brendan McCarthy
Dunedin based Alternative Pop/Rock/Punk musician Michael Morris returns home following an extensive journey throughout Europe while based in France. The first single from his upcoming sophomore album is called Pseudoephedrine and is a nice example of what is shaping up to be a noteworthy body of work.
Read More...
Personal Igloo - EP Review: Phone-in Serotonin
17 Nov 2020 // by Brendan McCarthy
For the last couple of days I have driven home with my windows down to allow the beautiful Bay of Plenty sunshine to stream into my life and for these journeys I have chilled to the most excellent musical sounds of Phone-in Serotonin by Personal Igloo. This has been perfect timing all round and a joyful reminder of how privileged we are as kiwis to live in paradise and be able to consume our own unique culture.
Read More...
Sean Bodley - Single Review: Sunday Drive
17 Jun 2020 // by Brendan McCarthy
In the world of lead guitar and instrumental offerings, Sean Bodley needs no introduction. Over the last 10 years, Sean has established a catalogue of six albums that display his dedication to the Guitar as an instrument of creation and clearly highlight his talent; therefore, one could correctly state that his latest single Sunday Drive is not his first rodeo.
Read More...
Andy Snadden - Album Review: The River
27 May 2020 // by Brendan McCarthy
The River is the debut album by Japan-based Kiwi singer/songwriter Andy Snadden. Displaying clear influences from some of the greats, one can instantly hear many hours of devotion to the likes of Lennon, McCartney, Dylan, Simon and Garfunkel have gone into the development of Andy's music.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Feelers @ Bay Park Arena, Tauranga - 20/12/2019
22 Dec 2019 // by Brendan McCarthy
An enthusiastic crowd of approx. 300 forty-somethings turned out to see Tauranga installment of The Feelers tour with Stellar* and Tablefox.
Read More...
B.A.D.S - EP Review: A.I.R 01
16 Oct 2019 // by Brendan McCarthy
Wellington band B.A.
Read More...
Danny McCrum - Album Review: Hustle Bustle
26 Sep 2019 // by Brendan McCarthy
Reviewing an album is both a pleasure and a responsibility so I wanted to take my time to really listen to this body of work and ensure that I gave it my honest thoughts. The very act of listening to twelve tracks in a row from the same artist is not common behaviour for myself or conceivably any of us these days.
Read More...
Gig Review: James Reid @ Totara St, Mt Maunganui - 21/09/2019
23 Sep 2019 // by Brendan McCarthy
A good size crowd of approximately 150 people resisted the temptation to sit at home and wait for the All Blacks to take over the nation, preferring to populate the magnificent Totara St venue for an intimate show by James Reid on the Tauranga section his solo Songbook Tour. With no need for support acts in this laid back style of event, James was onstage early at a very respectable 9pm and he immediately set the tone of the evening by tweaking with his guitar setup and making random jokes with the audience thus making everyone feel relaxed and welcome.
Read More...
View All Articles By Brendan McCarthy

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • WHY OH WHY
    L.A.B.
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • CONTROLLER
    L.A.B.
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • GOOD DAYS
    SZA
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. iann dior
  • NOT MY NEIGHBOUR
    Niko Walters
  • ANYONE
    Justin Bieber
  • SUNDOWN
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem