9 Dec 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Michael Morris - Single Review: Pseudoephedrine

20 Dec 2020 // A review by Brendan McCarthy

Dunedin based Alternative Pop/Rock/Punk musician Michael Morris returns home following an extensive journey throughout Europe while based in France.

The first single from his upcoming sophomore album is called Pseudoephedrine and is a nice example of what is shaping up to be a noteworthy body of work.

The track opens with clean cut vocals and acoustic guitar leading the ear to what potentially could be just another folk song pondering the weight of the world but this initial judgement is totally blown out of the water by a great hard-hitting explosion of rock guitar with appropriate rhythm section to back it up. Now you have my attention.

Pseudoephedrine is a pop/rock/punk tune that offers a great live feel with well delivered no-nonsense clean-and-loud strum electric guitar, matching perfectly with the bass line to push the song along and evoke some bounce from the crowd. I also love the fact that within the first minute of the track Michael delivers a lead guitar solo. Great to hear. Clearly, the world needs more guitar solo. Well done sir.

Note here to some great bass playing in the picking style holding the track together with some serious bottom end power. Again, well done mystery bass player.

Vocals are tuneful and appropriate to the song with a lyrical content that subtly alludes to confusion and hysteria surrounding the previous US presidency.

The roots of this reviewer are embedded in Dunedin and as such, I can see Michael’s music sitting perfectly on the stage at venues like The Crown Hotel. This track would definitely make a great set opener.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Michael Morris

Michael Morris is a New Zealand songwriter and music producer, based in Paris, France. His work is psychedelic, drawing influence from blues, folk and rock n roll. He is currently recording his debut album which is expected for release in 2018.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Michael Morris

Releases

Slow Loris
Year: 2018
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Brendan McCarthy

Brian Baker - EP Review: Open Up Your Heart
27 Jul 2022 // by Brendan McCarthy
Brian Baker is an established Kiwi songwriter whose career spans 40 years and is still going strong. His latest release is a 5-track EP entitled Open Up Your Heart and it brilliantly showcases Brian's musical experience and the journey that his art has taken him on.
Read More...
ShockOne x Lee Mvtthews - Single Review: Thinkin About
09 Jun 2022 // by Brendan McCarthy
If you are entrenched in and or familiar with the world of EDM (specifically Drum n Bass) then Lee Mvtthews will require no introduction, but for those of us that are perhaps not keeping up, here is the group summary in three sentences from a Kiwi perspective: A few years back in 2012, a couple of Auckland blokes named Graham Matthews and Tom Lee were knocking the top off a few beers while shooting the shizness about the music business. They found that they were both into the same stuff, right and decided to have a crack at making a few tunes on the computer.
Read More...
Goodspace - Single Review: Sit Down
05 May 2022 // by Brendan McCarthy
Goodspace are an Auckland 4-piece band in the style of what I want to call Glitch Dream Rock. A style that fuses together traditional songwriting styles with modern EDM soundscapes over Dream Pop vocal styles.
Read More...
Neil Beales - Single Review: Missing Words
13 Apr 2022 // by Brendan McCarthy
Missing Words is the latest solo offering from Wellington based songwriter Neil Beales who is also a member of the band Tower of Flints. The track was Recorded at the Outland Sessions, a week long songwriting collaboration event where Neil has been a regular attendee for the last few years.
Read More...
Gig Review: Crowded House @ Claudelands Arena, Hamilton - 23/03/2021
24 Mar 2021 // by Brendan McCarthy
The Crowded House To The Island tour strolled into Hamilton last night and took a seat at Claudelands Arena. A strong crowd of 4000 fans, comfortably arranged in a theatre style setting waited patiently for this long overdue performance from our favourite sons.
Read More...
Gig Review: Jon Toogood @ Waihi Beach Hotel, Waihi Beach - 04/01/2021
05 Jan 2021 // by Brendan McCarthy
The Jon Toogood Solo, Acoustic tour rolled into the Waihi Beach Hotel last night and I was indeed an eager attendee. Jon has been regularly performing in this format for the last few years but the stars have not always been aligned to allow me to catch the gig, so I wanted to make sure that I did not let this opportunity pass by again.
Read More...
Personal Igloo - EP Review: Phone-in Serotonin
17 Nov 2020 // by Brendan McCarthy
For the last couple of days I have driven home with my windows down to allow the beautiful Bay of Plenty sunshine to stream into my life and for these journeys I have chilled to the most excellent musical sounds of Phone-in Serotonin by Personal Igloo. This has been perfect timing all round and a joyful reminder of how privileged we are as kiwis to live in paradise and be able to consume our own unique culture.
Read More...
Sean Bodley - Single Review: Sunday Drive
17 Jun 2020 // by Brendan McCarthy
In the world of lead guitar and instrumental offerings, Sean Bodley needs no introduction. Over the last 10 years, Sean has established a catalogue of six albums that display his dedication to the Guitar as an instrument of creation and clearly highlight his talent; therefore, one could correctly state that his latest single Sunday Drive is not his first rodeo.
Read More...
View All Articles By Brendan McCarthy

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem