18 Jan 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Michael Morris - Single Review: Pseudoephedrine

20 Dec 2020 // A review by Brendan McCarthy

Dunedin based Alternative Pop/Rock/Punk musician Michael Morris returns home following an extensive journey throughout Europe while based in France.

The first single from his upcoming sophomore album is called Pseudoephedrine and is a nice example of what is shaping up to be a noteworthy body of work.

The track opens with clean cut vocals and acoustic guitar leading the ear to what potentially could be just another folk song pondering the weight of the world but this initial judgement is totally blown out of the water by a great hard-hitting explosion of rock guitar with appropriate rhythm section to back it up. Now you have my attention.

Pseudoephedrine is a pop/rock/punk tune that offers a great live feel with well delivered no-nonsense clean-and-loud strum electric guitar, matching perfectly with the bass line to push the song along and evoke some bounce from the crowd. I also love the fact that within the first minute of the track Michael delivers a lead guitar solo. Great to hear. Clearly, the world needs more guitar solo. Well done sir.

Note here to some great bass playing in the picking style holding the track together with some serious bottom end power. Again, well done mystery bass player.

Vocals are tuneful and appropriate to the song with a lyrical content that subtly alludes to confusion and hysteria surrounding the previous US presidency.

The roots of this reviewer are embedded in Dunedin and as such, I can see Michael’s music sitting perfectly on the stage at venues like The Crown Hotel. This track would definitely make a great set opener.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Michael Morris

Michael Morris is a New Zealand songwriter and music producer, based in Paris, France. His work is psychedelic, drawing influence from blues, folk and rock n roll. He is currently recording his debut album which is expected for release in 2018.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Michael Morris

Releases

Slow Loris
Year: 2018
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Brendan McCarthy

Gig Review: Jon Toogood @ Waihi Beach Hotel, Waihi Beach - 04/01/2021
05 Jan 2021 // by Brendan McCarthy
The Jon Toogood Solo, Acoustic tour rolled into the Waihi Beach Hotel last night and I was indeed an eager attendee. Jon has been regularly performing in this format for the last few years but the stars have not always been aligned to allow me to catch the gig, so I wanted to make sure that I did not let this opportunity pass by again.
Read More...
Personal Igloo - EP Review: Phone-in Serotonin
17 Nov 2020 // by Brendan McCarthy
For the last couple of days I have driven home with my windows down to allow the beautiful Bay of Plenty sunshine to stream into my life and for these journeys I have chilled to the most excellent musical sounds of Phone-in Serotonin by Personal Igloo. This has been perfect timing all round and a joyful reminder of how privileged we are as kiwis to live in paradise and be able to consume our own unique culture.
Read More...
Sean Bodley - Single Review: Sunday Drive
17 Jun 2020 // by Brendan McCarthy
In the world of lead guitar and instrumental offerings, Sean Bodley needs no introduction. Over the last 10 years, Sean has established a catalogue of six albums that display his dedication to the Guitar as an instrument of creation and clearly highlight his talent; therefore, one could correctly state that his latest single Sunday Drive is not his first rodeo.
Read More...
Andy Snadden - Album Review: The River
27 May 2020 // by Brendan McCarthy
The River is the debut album by Japan-based Kiwi singer/songwriter Andy Snadden. Displaying clear influences from some of the greats, one can instantly hear many hours of devotion to the likes of Lennon, McCartney, Dylan, Simon and Garfunkel have gone into the development of Andy's music.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Feelers @ Bay Park Arena, Tauranga - 20/12/2019
22 Dec 2019 // by Brendan McCarthy
An enthusiastic crowd of approx. 300 forty-somethings turned out to see Tauranga installment of The Feelers tour with Stellar* and Tablefox.
Read More...
B.A.D.S - EP Review: A.I.R 01
16 Oct 2019 // by Brendan McCarthy
Wellington band B.A.
Read More...
Danny McCrum - Album Review: Hustle Bustle
26 Sep 2019 // by Brendan McCarthy
Reviewing an album is both a pleasure and a responsibility so I wanted to take my time to really listen to this body of work and ensure that I gave it my honest thoughts. The very act of listening to twelve tracks in a row from the same artist is not common behaviour for myself or conceivably any of us these days.
Read More...
Gig Review: James Reid @ Totara St, Mt Maunganui - 21/09/2019
23 Sep 2019 // by Brendan McCarthy
A good size crowd of approximately 150 people resisted the temptation to sit at home and wait for the All Blacks to take over the nation, preferring to populate the magnificent Totara St venue for an intimate show by James Reid on the Tauranga section his solo Songbook Tour. With no need for support acts in this laid back style of event, James was onstage early at a very respectable 9pm and he immediately set the tone of the evening by tweaking with his guitar setup and making random jokes with the audience thus making everyone feel relaxed and welcome.
Read More...
View All Articles By Brendan McCarthy

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • WHY OH WHY
    L.A.B.
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • CONTROLLER
    L.A.B.
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • GOOD DAYS
    SZA
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. iann dior
  • NOT MY NEIGHBOUR
    Niko Walters
  • ANYONE
    Justin Bieber
  • SUNDOWN
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem