16 Jun 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Goodspace - Single Review: Sit Down

05 May 2022 // A review by ApolloSteamTrain

Goodspace are an Auckland 4-piece band in the style of what I want to call Glitch Dream Rock.

A style that fuses together traditional songwriting styles with modern EDM soundscapes over Dream Pop vocal styles. Sort of. If you will.

If I had to make reference for those that require a box to put the band in, I would go with a newer and fresher version of Stone Roses or Happy Mondays.

Sit Down is their second release from their forthcoming album and is well worth your ear time for 2 reasons.

Reason 1: The track is totally direct and hits you immediately in the face with a hefty slice of the chorus. A nice trick that gives you a reference point to return to when the first full chorus comes around again in the song. Meantime the vocals take you on a very different dreamy groove journey, before the chorus returns using a mild drop at the 1:22 mark. This is good. With the chosen soundscape and style relying heavily on glitch sounds and samples it's a fresh approach to hear them used outside of the same old boring 4-4 dance patterns.

Reason 2: The track is only 2:25 long so you will be able to easily listen to it on repeat a few times before you have to move on to your next favourite new track. Initially the length pissed me off as I felt ripped off and left wanting but I accept that the platform I listened to the song on was Spotify and the version uploaded may be a condensed one.

Sit Down is a great track and is going to sound massive at a gig, as it has some considerable sub bass and a ton of texture that will command the floor. It has a nice simple and hooky chorus that repeats the words sit down and it is a total ear-worm. I promise you it will be with you all day.

Goodspace are displaying clear evidence of strong musical talent and a willingness to think outside the norm, while they mold a new sound as a group.

I look forward to seeing the band play live.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Goodspace

Music from a good space.

Composed of Jefferson Chen, Lloyd Thomason, Callum Lee and Jamie Martell Goodspace is a collective of 4 distinctive musicians.

Hailing from diverse musical backgrounds, the sound of Goodspace inevitably crosses multiple genres and creates a certain, eclectic blend of hip-hop-inspired indie rock / pop evoking such influences as Damon Albarn, Radiohead, André 3000 and Tyler, the Creator.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Goodspace

Releases

Under The Loquat Tree
Year: 2020
Type: Album
Goodspace
Year: 2019
Type: EP

Other Reviews By ApolloSteamTrain

Orangefarm - Album Review: Inheritance
21 Jul 2023 // by ApolloSteamTrain
Inheritance is the long awaited debut album from Wellington indie rock outfit Orangefarm. The band is the vehicle for the ongoing musical offerings of front-man Nigel Mitchell, who is well settled and respected in the Wellington musical landscape.
Read More...
Bleeding Star - Album Review: Dropper
02 Jun 2023 // by ApolloSteamTrain
Dropper is the debut album from Wellington band - Bleeding Star. Self-described as "Noise Rock" the band have risen from bedroom demos to supporting international touring acts and being voted #1 on Wellingtons Radio Active for their song February.
Read More...
Brian Baker - EP Review: Open Up Your Heart
27 Jul 2022 // by ApolloSteamTrain
Brian Baker is an established Kiwi songwriter whose career spans 40 years and is still going strong. His latest release is a 5-track EP entitled Open Up Your Heart and it brilliantly showcases Brian's musical experience and the journey that his art has taken him on.
Read More...
ShockOne x Lee Mvtthews - Single Review: Thinkin About
09 Jun 2022 // by ApolloSteamTrain
If you are entrenched in and or familiar with the world of EDM (specifically Drum n Bass) then Lee Mvtthews will require no introduction, but for those of us that are perhaps not keeping up, here is the group summary in three sentences from a Kiwi perspective: A few years back in 2012, a couple of Auckland blokes named Graham Matthews and Tom Lee were knocking the top off a few beers while shooting the shizness about the music business. They found that they were both into the same stuff, right and decided to have a crack at making a few tunes on the computer.
Read More...
Neil Beales - Single Review: Missing Words
13 Apr 2022 // by ApolloSteamTrain
Missing Words is the latest solo offering from Wellington based songwriter Neil Beales who is also a member of the band Tower of Flints. The track was Recorded at the Outland Sessions, a week long songwriting collaboration event where Neil has been a regular attendee for the last few years.
Read More...
Gig Review: Crowded House @ Claudelands Arena, Hamilton - 23/03/2021
24 Mar 2021 // by ApolloSteamTrain
The Crowded House To The Island tour strolled into Hamilton last night and took a seat at Claudelands Arena. A strong crowd of 4000 fans, comfortably arranged in a theatre style setting waited patiently for this long overdue performance from our favourite sons.
Read More...
Gig Review: Jon Toogood @ Waihi Beach Hotel, Waihi Beach - 04/01/2021
05 Jan 2021 // by ApolloSteamTrain
The Jon Toogood Solo, Acoustic tour rolled into the Waihi Beach Hotel last night and I was indeed an eager attendee. Jon has been regularly performing in this format for the last few years but the stars have not always been aligned to allow me to catch the gig, so I wanted to make sure that I did not let this opportunity pass by again.
Read More...
Michael Morris - Single Review: Pseudoephedrine
20 Dec 2020 // by ApolloSteamTrain
Dunedin based Alternative Pop/Rock/Punk musician Michael Morris returns home following an extensive journey throughout Europe while based in France. The first single from his upcoming sophomore album is called Pseudoephedrine and is a nice example of what is shaping up to be a noteworthy body of work.
Read More...
View All Articles By ApolloSteamTrain

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • HOUDINI
    Eminem
  • MILLION DOLLAR BABY
    Tommy Richman
  • PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • BIRDS OF A FEATHER
    Billie Eilish
  • ESPRESSO
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • A BAR SONG (TIPSY)
    Shaboozey
  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • I HAD SOME HELP
    Post Malone feat. Morgan Wallen
  • NOT LIKE US
    Kendrick Lamar
  • LUNCH
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem