28 Nov 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Goodspace - Single Review: Sit Down

05 May 2022 // A review by Brendan McCarthy

Goodspace are an Auckland 4-piece band in the style of what I want to call Glitch Dream Rock.

A style that fuses together traditional songwriting styles with modern EDM soundscapes over Dream Pop vocal styles. Sort of. If you will.

If I had to make reference for those that require a box to put the band in, I would go with a newer and fresher version of Stone Roses or Happy Mondays.

Sit Down is their second release from their forthcoming album and is well worth your ear time for 2 reasons.

Reason 1: The track is totally direct and hits you immediately in the face with a hefty slice of the chorus. A nice trick that gives you a reference point to return to when the first full chorus comes around again in the song. Meantime the vocals take you on a very different dreamy groove journey, before the chorus returns using a mild drop at the 1:22 mark. This is good. With the chosen soundscape and style relying heavily on glitch sounds and samples it's a fresh approach to hear them used outside of the same old boring 4-4 dance patterns.

Reason 2: The track is only 2:25 long so you will be able to easily listen to it on repeat a few times before you have to move on to your next favourite new track. Initially the length pissed me off as I felt ripped off and left wanting but I accept that the platform I listened to the song on was Spotify and the version uploaded may be a condensed one.

Sit Down is a great track and is going to sound massive at a gig, as it has some considerable sub bass and a ton of texture that will command the floor. It has a nice simple and hooky chorus that repeats the words sit down and it is a total ear-worm. I promise you it will be with you all day.

Goodspace are displaying clear evidence of strong musical talent and a willingness to think outside the norm, while they mold a new sound as a group.

I look forward to seeing the band play live.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Goodspace

Music from a good space.

Composed of Jefferson Chen, Lloyd Thomason, Callum Lee and Nick Annear, Goodspace is a collective of 4 distinctive musicians.

Hailing from diverse musical backgrounds, the sound of Goodspace inevitably crosses multiple genres and creates a certain, eclectic blend of hip-hop-inspired indie rock / pop evoking such influences as Damon Albarn, Radiohead, André 3000 and Tyler, the Creator.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Goodspace

Releases

Under The Loquat Tree
Year: 2020
Type: Album
Goodspace
Year: 2019
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Brendan McCarthy

Brian Baker - EP Review: Open Up Your Heart
27 Jul 2022 // by Brendan McCarthy
Brian Baker is an established Kiwi songwriter whose career spans 40 years and is still going strong. His latest release is a 5-track EP entitled Open Up Your Heart and it brilliantly showcases Brian's musical experience and the journey that his art has taken him on.
Read More...
ShockOne x Lee Mvtthews - Single Review: Thinkin About
09 Jun 2022 // by Brendan McCarthy
If you are entrenched in and or familiar with the world of EDM (specifically Drum n Bass) then Lee Mvtthews will require no introduction, but for those of us that are perhaps not keeping up, here is the group summary in three sentences from a Kiwi perspective: A few years back in 2012, a couple of Auckland blokes named Graham Matthews and Tom Lee were knocking the top off a few beers while shooting the shizness about the music business. They found that they were both into the same stuff, right and decided to have a crack at making a few tunes on the computer.
Read More...
Neil Beales - Single Review: Missing Words
13 Apr 2022 // by Brendan McCarthy
Missing Words is the latest solo offering from Wellington based songwriter Neil Beales who is also a member of the band Tower of Flints. The track was Recorded at the Outland Sessions, a week long songwriting collaboration event where Neil has been a regular attendee for the last few years.
Read More...
Gig Review: Crowded House @ Claudelands Arena, Hamilton - 23/03/2021
24 Mar 2021 // by Brendan McCarthy
The Crowded House To The Island tour strolled into Hamilton last night and took a seat at Claudelands Arena. A strong crowd of 4000 fans, comfortably arranged in a theatre style setting waited patiently for this long overdue performance from our favourite sons.
Read More...
Gig Review: Jon Toogood @ Waihi Beach Hotel, Waihi Beach - 04/01/2021
05 Jan 2021 // by Brendan McCarthy
The Jon Toogood Solo, Acoustic tour rolled into the Waihi Beach Hotel last night and I was indeed an eager attendee. Jon has been regularly performing in this format for the last few years but the stars have not always been aligned to allow me to catch the gig, so I wanted to make sure that I did not let this opportunity pass by again.
Read More...
Michael Morris - Single Review: Pseudoephedrine
20 Dec 2020 // by Brendan McCarthy
Dunedin based Alternative Pop/Rock/Punk musician Michael Morris returns home following an extensive journey throughout Europe while based in France. The first single from his upcoming sophomore album is called Pseudoephedrine and is a nice example of what is shaping up to be a noteworthy body of work.
Read More...
Personal Igloo - EP Review: Phone-in Serotonin
17 Nov 2020 // by Brendan McCarthy
For the last couple of days I have driven home with my windows down to allow the beautiful Bay of Plenty sunshine to stream into my life and for these journeys I have chilled to the most excellent musical sounds of Phone-in Serotonin by Personal Igloo. This has been perfect timing all round and a joyful reminder of how privileged we are as kiwis to live in paradise and be able to consume our own unique culture.
Read More...
Sean Bodley - Single Review: Sunday Drive
17 Jun 2020 // by Brendan McCarthy
In the world of lead guitar and instrumental offerings, Sean Bodley needs no introduction. Over the last 10 years, Sean has established a catalogue of six albums that display his dedication to the Guitar as an instrument of creation and clearly highlight his talent; therefore, one could correctly state that his latest single Sunday Drive is not his first rodeo.
Read More...
View All Articles By Brendan McCarthy

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • 685 (REMIX)
    Victor J Sefo, Lisi And Mwayz
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem