27 May 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Goodspace - Single Review: Sit Down

05 May 2022 // A review by Brendan McCarthy

Goodspace are an Auckland 4-piece band in the style of what I want to call Glitch Dream Rock.

A style that fuses together traditional songwriting styles with modern EDM soundscapes over Dream Pop vocal styles. Sort of. If you will.

If I had to make reference for those that require a box to put the band in, I would go with a newer and fresher version of Stone Roses or Happy Mondays.

Sit Down is their second release from their forthcoming album and is well worth your ear time for 2 reasons.

Reason 1: The track is totally direct and hits you immediately in the face with a hefty slice of the chorus. A nice trick that gives you a reference point to return to when the first full chorus comes around again in the song. Meantime the vocals take you on a very different dreamy groove journey, before the chorus returns using a mild drop at the 1:22 mark. This is good. With the chosen soundscape and style relying heavily on glitch sounds and samples it's a fresh approach to hear them used outside of the same old boring 4-4 dance patterns.

Reason 2: The track is only 2:25 long so you will be able to easily listen to it on repeat a few times before you have to move on to your next favourite new track. Initially the length pissed me off as I felt ripped off and left wanting but I accept that the platform I listened to the song on was Spotify and the version uploaded may be a condensed one.

Sit Down is a great track and is going to sound massive at a gig, as it has some considerable sub bass and a ton of texture that will command the floor. It has a nice simple and hooky chorus that repeats the words sit down and it is a total ear-worm. I promise you it will be with you all day.

Goodspace are displaying clear evidence of strong musical talent and a willingness to think outside the norm, while they mold a new sound as a group.

I look forward to seeing the band play live.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Goodspace

Music from a good space.

Composed of Jefferson Chen, Lloyd Thomason, Callum Lee and Nick Annear, Goodspace is a collective of 4 distinctive musicians.

Hailing from diverse musical backgrounds, the sound of Goodspace inevitably crosses multiple genres and creates a certain, eclectic blend of hip-hop-inspired indie rock / pop evoking such influences as Damon Albarn, Radiohead, André 3000 and Tyler, the Creator.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Goodspace

Releases

Under The Loquat Tree
Year: 2020
Type: Album
Goodspace
Year: 2019
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Brendan McCarthy

Neil Beales - Single Review: Missing Words
13 Apr 2022 // by Brendan McCarthy
Missing Words is the latest solo offering from Wellington based songwriter Neil Beales who is also a member of the band Tower of Flints. The track was Recorded at the Outland Sessions, a week long songwriting collaboration event where Neil has been a regular attendee for the last few years.
Read More...
Gig Review: Crowded House @ Claudelands Arena, Hamilton - 23/03/2021
24 Mar 2021 // by Brendan McCarthy
The Crowded House To The Island tour strolled into Hamilton last night and took a seat at Claudelands Arena. A strong crowd of 4000 fans, comfortably arranged in a theatre style setting waited patiently for this long overdue performance from our favourite sons.
Read More...
Gig Review: Jon Toogood @ Waihi Beach Hotel, Waihi Beach - 04/01/2021
05 Jan 2021 // by Brendan McCarthy
The Jon Toogood Solo, Acoustic tour rolled into the Waihi Beach Hotel last night and I was indeed an eager attendee. Jon has been regularly performing in this format for the last few years but the stars have not always been aligned to allow me to catch the gig, so I wanted to make sure that I did not let this opportunity pass by again.
Read More...
Michael Morris - Single Review: Pseudoephedrine
20 Dec 2020 // by Brendan McCarthy
Dunedin based Alternative Pop/Rock/Punk musician Michael Morris returns home following an extensive journey throughout Europe while based in France. The first single from his upcoming sophomore album is called Pseudoephedrine and is a nice example of what is shaping up to be a noteworthy body of work.
Read More...
Personal Igloo - EP Review: Phone-in Serotonin
17 Nov 2020 // by Brendan McCarthy
For the last couple of days I have driven home with my windows down to allow the beautiful Bay of Plenty sunshine to stream into my life and for these journeys I have chilled to the most excellent musical sounds of Phone-in Serotonin by Personal Igloo. This has been perfect timing all round and a joyful reminder of how privileged we are as kiwis to live in paradise and be able to consume our own unique culture.
Read More...
Sean Bodley - Single Review: Sunday Drive
17 Jun 2020 // by Brendan McCarthy
In the world of lead guitar and instrumental offerings, Sean Bodley needs no introduction. Over the last 10 years, Sean has established a catalogue of six albums that display his dedication to the Guitar as an instrument of creation and clearly highlight his talent; therefore, one could correctly state that his latest single Sunday Drive is not his first rodeo.
Read More...
Andy Snadden - Album Review: The River
27 May 2020 // by Brendan McCarthy
The River is the debut album by Japan-based Kiwi singer/songwriter Andy Snadden. Displaying clear influences from some of the greats, one can instantly hear many hours of devotion to the likes of Lennon, McCartney, Dylan, Simon and Garfunkel have gone into the development of Andy's music.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Feelers @ Bay Park Arena, Tauranga - 20/12/2019
22 Dec 2019 // by Brendan McCarthy
An enthusiastic crowd of approx. 300 forty-somethings turned out to see Tauranga installment of The Feelers tour with Stellar* and Tablefox.
Read More...
View All Articles By Brendan McCarthy

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • N95
    Kendrick Lamar
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • DIE HARD
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Blxst And Amanda Reifer
  • UNITED IN GRIEF
    Kendrick Lamar
  • FATHER TIME
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Sampha
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem