24 May 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

ARLi - Single Review: KARMA

31 May 2023 // A review by Sharne Molloy-Turpin

The first thought that came into my mind after hearing this song was how it would work so well on the soundtrack of a nostalgic 90's film. It’s relatable and relentlessly resilient, I love it. ARLi talks about that feeling of resentment in multiple different contexts. One familiar scenario is the resentment towards someone you had a romantic connection with in the past, and how we paint a revengeful picture in our mind of them being humbled by karma in some way. In her new single titled KARMA Auckland-based artist ARLi, also known as Alice Foulds, evokes this emotion in a dynamic way.

ARLi was originally known as Alice Foulds in the NZ music scene for seven years. Her sound is coloured with hints of classic rock with a splash of punk. You can hear the effect that her childhood influences had on her, including Blink182, The Offspring, Nirvana, and Avril Lavigne. Producer Toby Lloyd from Tiny Triumph Recordings bring the song to its full capacity of admiration, along with Robin Schmidt who helped master the song.

The song shouts about the importance of being unshackled and having resilience, especially as a woman in a world full of gender inequality and misogyny. Further, ARLi is explaining her own personal struggles including her experiences within the music industry, which is always a refreshing perspective and an important conversation to have. The title of the single matches the sound perfectly. The lyrics sound like they are empowered by resentment and the adrenaline that comes with it and there’s almost something poignant about it. What is particularly interesting to notice about the lyrics is that it uses a rhyming scheme. In this way, it adds a tone of poetic playfulness to the song. On each heavy drum beat, there's a word that plays on the word Karma. You can hear this used in lots of good rock songs because it’s compelling and it helps the supporting instruments, such as a bass guitar, to have a cohesive and enforced rhythm.

There’s more ARLi has to offer in her music, especially considering she isn’t afraid to target an important topic. I’m intrigued to see what else ARLi has to offer after hearing this single so I’ll continue to keep an eye out for her future projects.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About ARLi

ARLi is the fresh rebranding of Auckland born singer/songwriter Alice Foulds. Having completed several successful NZ tours, ARLi steps into a new unapologetic era in music, embracing her childhood influence of artists like Blink-182, Alanis Morissette and Avril Lavigne.

Her brand new single Uninvite Me releases Dec 3rd 2022.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for ARLi

Releases

There are no releases to display for ARLi.

Other Reviews By Sharne Molloy-Turpin

C. Zukey - Album Review: Stone Fruit
18 May 2024 // by Sharne Molloy-Turpin
The sparkling new debut Stone Fruit by C. Zukey is a full-hearted reflection of feelings and a gentle sting of honest self-internalization.
Read More...
Gig Review: Electric Tapestry @ Valhalla, Wellington - 11/04/2024
12 Apr 2024 // by Sharne Molloy-Turpin
I have seen Electric Tapestry before, last year in December at Meow and I believe the Valhalla venue autographs the metal/rock band’s strength just a bit more. The scenery of the music is not necessarily that deep for those who enjoy the quiver of rock, but it was something I noticed.
Read More...
Marmalade Skies - Album Review: When I Wake Up
01 Feb 2024 // by Sharne Molloy-Turpin
There’s a gleaming warmth from local Kiwi band Marmalade Skies and their debut Album When I Wake Up. Set to be released on February 2, 2024, right in the middle of summer, the band will head for a tour around the North Island.
Read More...
Gig Review: Electric Tapestry @ Meow, Wellington - 14/12/2023
15 Dec 2023 // by Sharne Molloy-Turpin
Electric Tapestry takes traditional rock and adds a revitalised soundwave of numerous styles. What I first observed was how well-bound the band was on stage as they were equipped and prepared to showcase their harmonies, rhythms and styles.
Read More...
Fool's Lagoon - EP Review: Fool Me Twice
14 Dec 2023 // by Sharne Molloy-Turpin
We are so lucky to have yet another New Zealand band sound like molecules in a jar that bounces pieces of pop, rock and funk all into one. Fool's Lagoon has a new EP called Fool Me Twice which was recorded in the simplicity of a family home in Eastern Bays, Auckland.
Read More...
Junior Junior - EP Review: In the Light
30 Oct 2023 // by Sharne Molloy-Turpin
The sound of Junior Junior belongs to a summer night gig in Aotearoa. The band grew their talent in Hawkes Bay and Tamaki Makaurau and with pleasure, they sound reminiscent of the Arctic Monkeys.
Read More...
1 Drop Nation - Album Review: Moment In Time
12 Oct 2023 // by Sharne Molloy-Turpin
The sophomore album Moment In Time is wrapped in a groovy haze as one of Aotearoa’s stellar talents, 1 Drop Nation, went further with their latest album which is electrically robust. This album arrived just after the band's self-titled debut album came out at the end of 2022.
Read More...
Gig Review: Danica Bryant + Band @ Moon, Wellington - 10/09/2023
11 Sep 2023 // by Sharne Molloy-Turpin
Sunday evening was gritty and thundering despite the great weather. After pulling the front door of the Moon bar in Newtown, Wellington, I get a warm lilac smile from artist Danica Bryant and a sweet “Thank you for coming!
Read More...
View All Articles By Sharne Molloy-Turpin

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MILLION DOLLAR BABY
    Tommy Richman
  • I HAD SOME HELP
    Post Malone feat. Morgan Wallen
  • NOT LIKE US
    Kendrick Lamar
  • A BAR SONG (TIPSY)
    Shaboozey
  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • ESPRESSO
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • FORTNIGHT
    Taylor Swift feat. Post Malone
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • I LIKE THE WAY YOU KISS ME
    Artemas
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem