16 Apr 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Magnalith - EP Review: Oblivion

04 May 2023 // A review by Liam Davis
Every so often, a musical effort comes along that reinvents the wheel- Magnalith, I believe - has done that. Oblivion is a beautiful cacophony of aggression and melancholy. With sounds and similarities to the likes of other wheel reinventors System of a Down and Deftones; as well as influences in Groove and Doom Metal.

Any Metal fan would find something to love with this EP. The three tracks offered may be short, but make up for it in the layers and powerful performances on display here. Each track builds off the former without feeling repetitive or drawn out, with each listening providing more details and nuances to love. Musically, it is a masterpiece.

Instrumentally- there is so much to unpack. It's obvious that songwriter Matthew Bosher has put his heart and soul into this. The ethereal and beautiful cleans and shrill screams weave perfectly into the muddy and wall-shaking Guitar riffs that vibrate my desk as I write this. Matthew is a clear and concise master of his craft.

And I think Oblivion, as a whole, is the perfect display of this. However, I believe new listeners, especially to the genre, would be turned off by the amount of Aggression and Sonic power that comes in early on.
In conclusion, this is a musical slow burn; but a well-worthwhile one. I cannot wait for May 5th when this beast is unleashed into the wild.
Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Magnalith

Magnalith is dense but concise, expressionistic but corporeal music. Tangentially metal, curiously harmonic. Unbridled structural deviations see handbrake slides into weird, cinematic passages that lurch back into leviathan riffs.

The second EP, Oblivion (out 5 May) builds out the fantastical but humanistic atmosphere of the debut, Instrumentality. The hallmarks of experimental vignettes, conceptual lyricism, pathos and sagacious mixing remain. The new release accelerates the heavy, harmonic and cerebral qualities that capture the imagination of post-metal, prog and hard rock fans.

For songwriter Mathew Bosher, the first single, Sympathy, represents a return to music. Production of the EP was interrupted by the premature birth of his son; a welcome but harrowing arrival. Bosher spent a day in the recording studio, then a hundred in the neonatal intensive care unit with his family. He stopped listening to music for the first few weeks of his son’s care, recognising that any songs would be imbued with his family's trauma. Now the little one is thriving. Completing the recordings was a kind of celebration of the urgent and irrepressible creative force.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Magnalith

Releases

Oblivion
Year: 2023
Type: EP
Instrumentality
Year: 2021
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Liam Davis

Plagueditch - EP Review: Save Me A Spot In Hell
06 Feb 2024 // by Liam Davis
New Zealand is having a hard time being a peaceful picturesque country when we keep exporting some of the most genre-bending, crushing metal to date; and Plagueditch dropping their debut release; does not help this -- Mind you this is an amazing problem to have.Save Me A Spot In Hell blends the brutality of dark rock and the percussive precision of industrial metal- for an amalgamation of evil and foot, tapping, headbanging appreciated goodness.
Read More...
Infinity Ritual - EP Review: II
02 Nov 2023 // by Liam Davis
The New Plymouth-based stoner groove metal group Infinity Ritual has put on quite the show for us here. Their new EP II is an experiment, if nothing more; a show of catchy 'metallised' Arctic Monkeys' riffs bootstrapped with addictive grooves and an ever-changing atmosphere is definitely the pinnacle of underground music in NZ.
Read More...
Model Home - Album Review: ...And Nobody Made A Sound
12 Sep 2023 // by Liam Davis
Model Home’s new album wastes no time opening the listener into their soundscape in ...And Nobody Made A Sound; The new album teeming with swinging beats and sparkling guitar parts as well as a solid voice that empowers and uplifts the listener.
Read More...
Gig Review: Crooked Royals @ Big Fan, Auckland - 29/07/2023
30 Jul 2023 // by Liam Davis
Crooked Royals set a precedent for Auckland home shows last night, Packing a sold-out crowd into an intimate venue, Big Fan, in the sleepy suburb of Morningside. Each supporting act brought in what felt like a puzzle piece into what Crooked Royals’ soundscape is, the venue-shattering line-up of Stacked, All I Seek, and Finger Tight opening for the aforementioned powerhouse act.
Read More...
Darktide - EP Review: No One, Nowhere, Nothing
24 Jun 2023 // by Liam Davis
At first glance, you’d never think quiet little New Zealand would be capable of exporting such a brutal act as Darktide. Their new EP No One, Nowhere, Nothing is exactly that: Brutal, unrelenting, and evil.
Read More...
Dear Antler - Single Review: Sweet Little Worm
17 Jun 2023 // by Liam Davis
Before today, occult rock was a very alien concept to me, but upon hearing the brand new Dear Antler song, Sweet Little Worm, I can confidently say, "It does what it says on the box".Sweet Little Worm is an atmospheric, slow-burning, and dark track that encompasses many feelings and vibes, and positively the type of song you'd have playing whilst conjuring your innermost urges to *Not* summon a demon in your bedroom.
Read More...
Allophones - Single Review: Eyeball
21 May 2023 // by Liam Davis
Dunedin trio The Allophones are bringing back the Sex Pistols era of punk into a modern society that desperately needs a rebellious spirit.Their newest track Eyeball is a solid presentation with plenty of differing sections - from clean to hard-hitting, head banging riffs and a dynamic range of vocals all densely packed into this 3-and-a-half-minute demonstration.
Read More...
ISLA - Single Review: Overthinking
15 May 2023 // by Liam Davis
In the uncertainty of the world around us; Isla brings us serenity.The voice, the gentle strumming guitar, and calming hum of the bass feels peaceful but also bittersweet.
Read More...
View All Articles By Liam Davis

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • LIKE THAT
    Future And Metro Boomin feat. Kendrick Lamar
  • END OF BEGINNING
    Djo
  • I LIKE THE WAY YOU KISS ME
    Artemas
  • WE CAN'T BE FRIENDS (WAIT FOR YOUR LOVE)
    Ariana Grande
  • STICK SEASON
    Noah Kahan
  • TEXAS HOLD 'EM
    Beyonce
  • LEAVEMEALONE
    Fred Again.. And Baby Keem
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem