16 Apr 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Vana - Single Review: Crawling

17 Apr 2023 // A review by Sharne Molloy-Turpin

We creep into the mind of Vana with a new bewitching single entitled Crawling, that tells the truth about seeing life through rose-coloured glasses. With two years in the making, this single highlights a personal, emotional experience. At 22 years old, she shares the stage with the talented young artists of Aotearoa. It’s important to note her creativity is also intended to reflect her being a member of the LGBTQ+ community. Furthermore, her music is intended to inspire women to embrace their sensuality.

This song screams jealousy and revenge and with her dark femininity, there is a sinister yet soft tone in her voice. What makes this song so powerful is the robust chorus that sounds like Vana is yelling the lyrics while being immersed in an energetic and synthetic sound. Her aggressive vocals match the lyrics as they sound like internal frustration. You can hear the hot-blooded emotions and expression of self-realisation. With red hair, Vana paints some great dark imagery that sounds like wandering through a mossy forest alone with only your own thoughts.

The heavy and gritty base guitar adds something wicked to the rhythm and it makes you crave the next verse. There’s an undertone of emo and punk rock influence, however, Vana brings in her own multifaceted rendering of the classic synth-pop sound. It’s what you might expect to hear from Grimes or Ethal Cain.

Vana is set to create more music to add to her collection. Spotify is where you can find her other work as well as her multiple platforms such as TikTok, Twitch and Instagram. Her music is fun and profoundly emotional so it will be interesting to see what she has to offer next.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Vana

Vana is an independent female dark pop artist from Aotearoa. She doubles as a musician and content creator and prioritises spending her time sharing her creativity with the world.

Vana's music is dark and alluring. She strives to make music that represents her pride as a member of the LGBTQ+ community, as well as encouraging women to embrace their sensuality.
Her songs encapsulate the feeling of viewing life through rose-tinted glasses, especially the consequences of doing so.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Vana

Releases

There are no releases to display for Vana.

Other Reviews By Sharne Molloy-Turpin

Gig Review: Electric Tapestry @ Valhalla, Wellington - 11/04/2024
12 Apr 2024 // by Sharne Molloy-Turpin
I have seen Electric Tapestry before, last year in December at Meow and I believe the Valhalla venue autographs the metal/rock band’s strength just a bit more. The scenery of the music is not necessarily that deep for those who enjoy the quiver of rock, but it was something I noticed.
Read More...
Marmalade Skies - Album Review: When I Wake Up
01 Feb 2024 // by Sharne Molloy-Turpin
There’s a gleaming warmth from local Kiwi band Marmalade Skies and their debut Album When I Wake Up. Set to be released on February 2, 2024, right in the middle of summer, the band will head for a tour around the North Island.
Read More...
Gig Review: Electric Tapestry @ Meow, Wellington - 14/12/2023
15 Dec 2023 // by Sharne Molloy-Turpin
Electric Tapestry takes traditional rock and adds a revitalised soundwave of numerous styles. What I first observed was how well-bound the band was on stage as they were equipped and prepared to showcase their harmonies, rhythms and styles.
Read More...
Fool's Lagoon - EP Review: Fool Me Twice
14 Dec 2023 // by Sharne Molloy-Turpin
We are so lucky to have yet another New Zealand band sound like molecules in a jar that bounces pieces of pop, rock and funk all into one. Fool's Lagoon has a new EP called Fool Me Twice which was recorded in the simplicity of a family home in Eastern Bays, Auckland.
Read More...
Junior Junior - EP Review: In the Light
30 Oct 2023 // by Sharne Molloy-Turpin
The sound of Junior Junior belongs to a summer night gig in Aotearoa. The band grew their talent in Hawkes Bay and Tamaki Makaurau and with pleasure, they sound reminiscent of the Arctic Monkeys.
Read More...
1 Drop Nation - Album Review: Moment In Time
12 Oct 2023 // by Sharne Molloy-Turpin
The sophomore album Moment In Time is wrapped in a groovy haze as one of Aotearoa’s stellar talents, 1 Drop Nation, went further with their latest album which is electrically robust. This album arrived just after the band's self-titled debut album came out at the end of 2022.
Read More...
Gig Review: Danica Bryant + Band @ Moon, Wellington - 10/09/2023
11 Sep 2023 // by Sharne Molloy-Turpin
Sunday evening was gritty and thundering despite the great weather. After pulling the front door of the Moon bar in Newtown, Wellington, I get a warm lilac smile from artist Danica Bryant and a sweet “Thank you for coming!
Read More...
Gig Review: Catherine Bullock + Danica Bryant + Jeline @ Valhalla, Wellington - 12/07/2023
13 Jul 2023 // by Sharne Molloy-Turpin
These three artists brought something divinely emotional to Valhalla on Wednesday night. Each of these Wellington-based artists had something to say and a lot of friends to say it to.
Read More...
View All Articles By Sharne Molloy-Turpin

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • LIKE THAT
    Future And Metro Boomin feat. Kendrick Lamar
  • END OF BEGINNING
    Djo
  • I LIKE THE WAY YOU KISS ME
    Artemas
  • WE CAN'T BE FRIENDS (WAIT FOR YOUR LOVE)
    Ariana Grande
  • STICK SEASON
    Noah Kahan
  • TEXAS HOLD 'EM
    Beyonce
  • LEAVEMEALONE
    Fred Again.. And Baby Keem
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem