14 Apr 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Lizzy Kula - Single Review: I Dreamt About You

12 Apr 2023 // A review by Sharne Molloy-Turpin
Lizzy Kula shares a hypnotic new pop song that welcomes us to dance and possibly cry. Entitled I Dreamt About You, it’s a fresh debut for her but you couldn’t tell because she has utilised the structure of a good classic pop song. She has gathered the talents of Chris Chetland (Dua Lipa, Lorde, Bebe Rexha) to do the masters, Alex Twidle (Missy, Becca Caffyn, Dead Favours) for mixing and her own brother, Daniel Kulasingham (Sorry Sorry) to help produce the song. Lizzy has Sri Lankan/Chinese Malaysian heritage and grew up in New Zealand and is now based in Mount Maunganui.

What stands out immediately from the very beginning is the drums that generate a funky rhythm. The drums become the driving force and power of the rhythm while a supporting baseline gives it that funk style. Lizzy's bright vocals are effortlessly unified with this rhythm and you can hear a background layer of vocals that has a soft and breathy tone that is gentle like the trance of a dream.

I do wonder what effect it would have on the song if there was a gradual build-up to the beat rather than jumping right in. Perhaps if the beat was introduced later there could be further opportunities to add additional complexity to the song.

The lyrics paint a cloudy portrait of what it’s like to be in a push-and-pull relationship which is a great poignant subject for a song. Lizzy has expressed that her music is driven by storytelling, emotions and reflects how we process these elements in life. I enjoy the genuineness of this song and Lizzy explains where the song comes from “I was overthinking to the point where just the thought of them made me exhausted. Writing I Dreamt About You was a way for me to step out of that cycle long enough to realise that it was time for me to choose myself.”

It’s clear she exhibits a similar expression of music as her inspirations including Taylor Swift and Phoebe Bridgers and Stevie Wonder. Lizzy has also said that music has been a constant in her life so we can expect some more from her and her noticeably striking talent.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Lizzy Kula

Born in Malaysia, raised in Mount Maunganui, Lizzy Kula’s sound is just as eclectic as her upbringing. Lizzy Kula weaves her experiences of highs and heartbreaks into funky basslines, gritty drum breaks, and airy vocals, creating honest and raw songs that will leave you crying, dancing, or both.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Lizzy Kula

Releases

There are no releases to display for Lizzy Kula.

Other Reviews By Sharne Molloy-Turpin

Gig Review: Electric Tapestry @ Valhalla, Wellington - 11/04/2024
12 Apr 2024 // by Sharne Molloy-Turpin
I have seen Electric Tapestry before, last year in December at Meow and I believe the Valhalla venue autographs the metal/rock band’s strength just a bit more. The scenery of the music is not necessarily that deep for those who enjoy the quiver of rock, but it was something I noticed.
Read More...
Marmalade Skies - Album Review: When I Wake Up
01 Feb 2024 // by Sharne Molloy-Turpin
There’s a gleaming warmth from local Kiwi band Marmalade Skies and their debut Album When I Wake Up. Set to be released on February 2, 2024, right in the middle of summer, the band will head for a tour around the North Island.
Read More...
Gig Review: Electric Tapestry @ Meow, Wellington - 14/12/2023
15 Dec 2023 // by Sharne Molloy-Turpin
Electric Tapestry takes traditional rock and adds a revitalised soundwave of numerous styles. What I first observed was how well-bound the band was on stage as they were equipped and prepared to showcase their harmonies, rhythms and styles.
Read More...
Fool's Lagoon - EP Review: Fool Me Twice
14 Dec 2023 // by Sharne Molloy-Turpin
We are so lucky to have yet another New Zealand band sound like molecules in a jar that bounces pieces of pop, rock and funk all into one. Fool's Lagoon has a new EP called Fool Me Twice which was recorded in the simplicity of a family home in Eastern Bays, Auckland.
Read More...
Junior Junior - EP Review: In the Light
30 Oct 2023 // by Sharne Molloy-Turpin
The sound of Junior Junior belongs to a summer night gig in Aotearoa. The band grew their talent in Hawkes Bay and Tamaki Makaurau and with pleasure, they sound reminiscent of the Arctic Monkeys.
Read More...
1 Drop Nation - Album Review: Moment In Time
12 Oct 2023 // by Sharne Molloy-Turpin
The sophomore album Moment In Time is wrapped in a groovy haze as one of Aotearoa’s stellar talents, 1 Drop Nation, went further with their latest album which is electrically robust. This album arrived just after the band's self-titled debut album came out at the end of 2022.
Read More...
Gig Review: Danica Bryant + Band @ Moon, Wellington - 10/09/2023
11 Sep 2023 // by Sharne Molloy-Turpin
Sunday evening was gritty and thundering despite the great weather. After pulling the front door of the Moon bar in Newtown, Wellington, I get a warm lilac smile from artist Danica Bryant and a sweet “Thank you for coming!
Read More...
Gig Review: Catherine Bullock + Danica Bryant + Jeline @ Valhalla, Wellington - 12/07/2023
13 Jul 2023 // by Sharne Molloy-Turpin
These three artists brought something divinely emotional to Valhalla on Wednesday night. Each of these Wellington-based artists had something to say and a lot of friends to say it to.
Read More...
View All Articles By Sharne Molloy-Turpin

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • LIKE THAT
    Future And Metro Boomin feat. Kendrick Lamar
  • END OF BEGINNING
    Djo
  • I LIKE THE WAY YOU KISS ME
    Artemas
  • WE CAN'T BE FRIENDS (WAIT FOR YOUR LOVE)
    Ariana Grande
  • STICK SEASON
    Noah Kahan
  • TEXAS HOLD 'EM
    Beyonce
  • LEAVEMEALONE
    Fred Again.. And Baby Keem
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem