21 May 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Shadowcaster - Single Review: Eternity

19 Mar 2023 // A review by Sharne Molloy-Turpin
Shadowcaster has indulged us with a journey into sonic space in their new single titled Eternity. Its Celtic rock sound and fast-paced rhythm employ numerous instruments that build upon one another to great effect.

Trent Graham provides us with gentle vocals, but there’s something fervent about each member's contribution to this single. Having their humble beginnings in Masterton, the piece might evoke a simple image of your hometown's local hotspot where listeners pass through oak doors into this bittersweet warmth of nostalgic folk.

It should be recognised that this is their first official writing collaboration as a band collectively, drawing poetic and emotionally driven lyrics. The song revolves around an a skewed romance and the onerous process of accepting misalignment.

Throughout the piece, we hear guitars, awash in reverb, swell in and out to encompass the variety of instruments. The production and instrumentation within the song works, in contrast, to Graham’s naked vocals that we hear initially. It showcases how clean-cut and original the song is. This single is delicate, refined, and tells us what Shadowcaster is capable of.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Shadowcaster

Hailing from several points across the lower North Island, Shadowcaster is a fledgling 6-piece ensemble offering an assortment of introspective, upbeat originals penned by frontman Trent Graham. Individually inspired by a wide array of both classic and contemporary sounds, the Shadowcaster family marries their eclectic hodgepodge of styles together to create a nostalgic pop-rock jaunt that's as energetic and vibrant as it is thoughtful and endearing.

Started in 2021, Shadowcaster was started when Trent Graham, who had left the music scene for 6 years after achieving a Diploma in Contemporary Music Performance at UCOL, got another guitar and knew that this is what had been missing from his life. Calling upon his former band mates from high school, the team started working together on writing new, original music, as well as a look at Trent's backlog of original compositions.

Shadowcaster has released 9 songs on digital platforms, started the Small Town Band Podcast, and participated in Battle of the Bands 2023, managing to make it into the Wellington Regional Finals.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Shadowcaster

Releases

There are no releases to display for Shadowcaster.

Other Reviews By Sharne Molloy-Turpin

C. Zukey - Album Review: Stone Fruit
18 May 2024 // by Sharne Molloy-Turpin
The sparkling new debut Stone Fruit by C. Zukey is a full-hearted reflection of feelings and a gentle sting of honest self-internalization.
Read More...
Gig Review: Electric Tapestry @ Valhalla, Wellington - 11/04/2024
12 Apr 2024 // by Sharne Molloy-Turpin
I have seen Electric Tapestry before, last year in December at Meow and I believe the Valhalla venue autographs the metal/rock band’s strength just a bit more. The scenery of the music is not necessarily that deep for those who enjoy the quiver of rock, but it was something I noticed.
Read More...
Marmalade Skies - Album Review: When I Wake Up
01 Feb 2024 // by Sharne Molloy-Turpin
There’s a gleaming warmth from local Kiwi band Marmalade Skies and their debut Album When I Wake Up. Set to be released on February 2, 2024, right in the middle of summer, the band will head for a tour around the North Island.
Read More...
Gig Review: Electric Tapestry @ Meow, Wellington - 14/12/2023
15 Dec 2023 // by Sharne Molloy-Turpin
Electric Tapestry takes traditional rock and adds a revitalised soundwave of numerous styles. What I first observed was how well-bound the band was on stage as they were equipped and prepared to showcase their harmonies, rhythms and styles.
Read More...
Fool's Lagoon - EP Review: Fool Me Twice
14 Dec 2023 // by Sharne Molloy-Turpin
We are so lucky to have yet another New Zealand band sound like molecules in a jar that bounces pieces of pop, rock and funk all into one. Fool's Lagoon has a new EP called Fool Me Twice which was recorded in the simplicity of a family home in Eastern Bays, Auckland.
Read More...
Junior Junior - EP Review: In the Light
30 Oct 2023 // by Sharne Molloy-Turpin
The sound of Junior Junior belongs to a summer night gig in Aotearoa. The band grew their talent in Hawkes Bay and Tamaki Makaurau and with pleasure, they sound reminiscent of the Arctic Monkeys.
Read More...
1 Drop Nation - Album Review: Moment In Time
12 Oct 2023 // by Sharne Molloy-Turpin
The sophomore album Moment In Time is wrapped in a groovy haze as one of Aotearoa’s stellar talents, 1 Drop Nation, went further with their latest album which is electrically robust. This album arrived just after the band's self-titled debut album came out at the end of 2022.
Read More...
Gig Review: Danica Bryant + Band @ Moon, Wellington - 10/09/2023
11 Sep 2023 // by Sharne Molloy-Turpin
Sunday evening was gritty and thundering despite the great weather. After pulling the front door of the Moon bar in Newtown, Wellington, I get a warm lilac smile from artist Danica Bryant and a sweet “Thank you for coming!
Read More...
View All Articles By Sharne Molloy-Turpin

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MILLION DOLLAR BABY
    Tommy Richman
  • I HAD SOME HELP
    Post Malone feat. Morgan Wallen
  • NOT LIKE US
    Kendrick Lamar
  • A BAR SONG (TIPSY)
    Shaboozey
  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • ESPRESSO
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • FORTNIGHT
    Taylor Swift feat. Post Malone
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • I LIKE THE WAY YOU KISS ME
    Artemas
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem