26 Mar 2023
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Lorde - Gig Review: Lorde @ The Outer Fields, Western Springs - 04/03/2023

07 Mar 2023 // A review by Gaby Ivanov-Giraldo

Blue skies filled the days prior to the Lorde gig; the Solar Power tour had the sun visible and candescent. On March 4th in Western Springs, Tamaki Makaurau had not seen Lorde here for years, and some fans had even had their ticket waiting since 2021, when this third studio album was released. Crowds gathered by the stage pretty fast, and there was a young energy that really brought you back. I recall Lorde’s upcoming success when I was younger, too. Lorde being nothing short of monumental for kiwis, she’s put us on the global stage years back. Lorde is not only recognised in Hollywood, but she has in fact developed hugely as an artist. She’s endured books of cynicism, critique and disarray, and for this tour she came back to battle the recollection of her hometown. I applaud her bravery for her endurance this far in music; we all know how stressful talent of that kind can be. Lorde had empowering opening acts, great food trucks, a spacious venue and most importantly; a happy crowd. 

The first artist Nikki Reid had a sensual and engaging energy which was dancey and full of fire. She got the crowd on their feet, moving and resonating. The age is here for unchained energy; and here came our opening act with serious bravado. The second act was a band called Fazerdaze who sounded a bit like Pixies; a band who I hope has heard of The Beths, too. They brought an epic chill to the day, an indie-folk daydream matched with a kind and subtle energy. Oh, and of course some kick ass guitar licks. Marlon Williams deserves his own paragraph. An Elvis-inspired artist with character for days. Not to mention, he serenaded all of us with his vocals, tight band and extremely versatile playing field. He entertained us all, played percussion, electric acoustic; the whole lot. Marlon is heartfelt and deep, and his songs are rich in aroha. They’re melodic and guitar-driven with a Hawaiian voice to some of the tracks. I loved how he got us all laughing, together and thinking about the good stuff like family. His song My Boy set the crowd free with love and warmth. He opened with some bluesy numbers, and then shifted our energy into anticipation. 

By 8.33pm people were practically itching for Lorde. This artist has not only sold millions of albums this far in her journey, she’s also won Grammys, been vividly ridiculed in South Park, been nominated for a Golden Globe award (Yellow Flicker Beat), reached number one in her own country more times than we can count, oh and reached the age of 26 without dropping dead in the music industry. Well done, Lorde! We know this means you’ve been working hard. 

Homemade Dynamite came on; we all dropped and danced. How could you not recognise this song!? Closely followed by Buzzcut Season, and Stoned at the Nail Salon. Her first outfit was white, delicate and fun. Her voice and band; literally phenomenal! She hasn’t just been making new music. Her entire aura, demeanour and voice has progressed. So yes, she’s changed. I could hear the vocal cords crying out, just as much as her performance blew us away. I could see an energetic live-soul spreading love, and keeping faith. Oh, and she sang Stoned at the Nail Salon in Te Reo. If that’s not brave, I don’t know what else is. Her stage presence was gorgeous. Her movements were synchronised and delicate, and she danced in Doc Martens with a huge smile on her face. California came on, a song that talks about the life she doesn’t want. She danced for her 15 year old self, embraced her adoration of summer and even discussed the power of sexuality during this time of year (in her own way, of course). Liability then came on, where she opened up about her inner self and not being able to please people. 

The last song I thought I would hear is Goldenhorse’s Maybe Tomorrow, but damn did she make it work! Secrets from a Girl Who Knows It All then played, followed by Tennis Court, Mood Ring and Perfect Places. Her style definitely has influences from modern art, and sonically embracing indie-folk, psychedelic and pop combined. One of her blue and orange sets reminded me of Kandinsky; a geometric lullaby of colour and ambience. Another description could be an escape from our absolutely disorderly current times… which I have no clue why people would not want to do? Lorde taught us this evening to embrace the little joys in life, and to bask in the sun of Solar Power. She opened this song with a metaphor of a sunny day that charges you up. The lighting and colour in this set was stunning. 

The show ended on Green Light, Royals and Team. Above all, each song inspired heavy yet happy thoughts for me, and I’m sure for everyone else that went. The ones who didn’t enjoy this display of rawness were, in my opinion, not true fans. I think this evening showcased more than just a brand or an artist. It showcased a human being, with an electric energy for people and those around her. The journey of talent for the world is one of our toughest. It’s always met with combat, and never has it ever been an easy path. What Lorde showed me this evening was that you can evolve, and you can remember all in one, and with a lot of grace and understanding. This show didn’t feel like the Lorde we used to know, and I hope we can remember what it feels like to create, to share, to rediscover and to be in awe of each other.


Photo Credit: Nicole Brannen

 

About Lorde

In 2013, a 16-year-old Lorde quietly, yet confidently asserted herself as the voice of a generation with her full-length debut, Pure Heroine. The album would go triple-platinum, win two GRAMMY® Awards, and spawn the certified Diamond, record-breaking, international juggernaut single, Royals, and quadruple-platinum follow up Team. The former cemented Lorde as "the youngest solo artist and the only New Zealander to achieve #1 on the Billboard Hot 100 since 1987".

Time exalted her amongst the 'Most Influential Teenagers in the World', she landed on Forbes’s '30 Under 30' List, graced the cover of Rolling Stone and performed alongside Nirvana during the 2014 Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony. She also curated the official soundtrack for The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part 1 and recorded Yellow Flicker Beat as the lead single.

In 2017 Lorde released her second full-length studio album, Melodrama which debuted at #1 on the Billboard 200 Chart, making her the first ever NZ artist to land a #1 debut album in the United States. The album reached #1 in over 45 countries and earned Lorde a nomination for Album of the Year at the 2018 GRAMMY® Awards.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Lorde

Releases

Solar Power
Year: 2021
Type: Album
Te Ao Marama
Year: 2021
Type: EP
Melodrama
Year: 2017
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
The Love Club
Year: 2013
Type: EP
Pure Heroine
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape

Other Reviews By Gaby Ivanov-Giraldo

WoLF - Single Review: Underachiever
17 Feb 2023 // by Gaby Ivanov-Giraldo
WoLF is a solo project (Aaron Hogg) with over 25 years' experience as a vocalist, guitarist and bassist. Having a lot of tour and show experience, WoLF is an accomplished artist with international acts and festivals under his belt.
Read More...
Tipare - Single Review: Party Calls
02 Jan 2023 // by Gaby Ivanov-Giraldo
Tipare dropped the single Party Calls to enliven the new beginnings of our post-pandemic world. She’s a singer songwriter who’s lived all around Aotearoa, having lived in New York as early as seventeen.
Read More...
theajsound - Single Review: Oolala Feat. Sophie Gibson
05 Dec 2022 // by Gaby Ivanov-Giraldo
Theajsound is a rising artist who just released a new track called Oolala. Sophie Gibson’s voice features in the radio edit, and it’s a tasty tune for sure!
Read More...
Eve Kelly - Single Review: Gotta Let Go
08 Nov 2022 // by Gaby Ivanov-Giraldo
Gotta Let Go is the new contemporary anthem from Eve Kelly, a vocalist born and raised in Whakatane. Eve grew up performing in music theatre around Aotearoa, as well as singing in national competitions and at smaller gigs such as weddings and local fundraisers.
Read More...
Scarlett Eden - Single Review: Real Life
02 Nov 2022 // by Gaby Ivanov-Giraldo
Scarlett Eden’s new track released this October 21st, and it’s called Real Life. Coining herself a "funked up pop filled R&B singer", Scarlett experiments with blues, funk, jazz, R&B, and soul.
Read More...
Reece Milton - Single Review: Ms Mona Lisa
23 Oct 2022 // by Gaby Ivanov-Giraldo
Born in Wellington, and raised in Nelson, Reece Milton is a singer songwriter and guitarist who’s recently earned a recording contract with Antipodes Records, and management with StudioBox Creative. Finding licks that match indie rock influence, pop and a bit of jazz, Reece has created a new single which follows the success of his debut.
Read More...
Brown-E - Single Review: Give Me Your Love
02 Oct 2022 // by Gaby Ivanov-Giraldo
Jenna Palmer, AKA Brown-E, is a self-managed and independent singer songwriter based in Auckland and Tauranga. Stepping on the scene at the right time, she’s got a single for the sweethearts!
Read More...
The BackChat - Double Single Review: Effortless and Conspirator
11 Aug 2022 // by Gaby Ivanov-Giraldo
Auckland-based four piece The BackChat have created two new singles which are releasing this August 12th. Breaking through the loneliness of winter months, Effortless gives us an aural experience for closed doors.
Read More...
View All Articles By Gaby Ivanov-Giraldo

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • BOY'S A LIAR PT. 2
    PinkPantheress And Ice Spice
  • FLOWERS
    Miley Cyrus
  • KILL BILL
    SZA
  • LAST NIGHT
    Morgan Wallen
  • DIE FOR YOU (REMIX)
    The Weeknd And Ariana Grande
  • SURE THING
    Miguel
  • PEOPLE
    Libianca
  • ESCAPISM.
    RAYE feat. 070 Shake
  • PLAYERS
    Coi Leray
  • CALM DOWN
    Rema And Selena Gomez
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem