2 Dec 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Taiotims - EP Review: Thank You For Your Patience

22 Nov 2022 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Taiotims (Mataio Timaloa) is an Auckland Hip-Hop artist who has independently built a growing fanbase all over New Zealand. His music is known for his relatable story telling, nostalgic tone of voice and his soulful beats. Over the years Taiotims has perfected his craft by infusing the styles of his biggest influences (J. Cole, Andre 3000 and Kendrick Lamar) and molding it in to his own.

On his EP Thank You For Your Patience, you can certainly hear the influences coming through in slick sound that never sounds overly produced, keeping the authenticity of the music that he has studied. For example, in the opening track Throw It Up there are a few different vocal deliveries as he throws down his bars. The hooks are constantly consistent and easy to follow. The sound stage is big, wide and sounds crystal clear. There is a mix of later LA based rap along with the New Zealand rap sound I grew up with from groups like Deceptikonz, David Dallas and Scribe.

The production of the tracks for me is the highlight here. Tight bass lines, beautifully voiced chords, and progressions that will make musicians smile, but will sound amazing won't stir those who don't listen that closely to production like many of us do. I encourage people to really check out and pay attention to the detail in Yesterday which to me had the most Kendrick Lamar influenced sound, while not sounding like Kendrick. Even still, again, the delivery, the lyrics, everything....it oozes passion and dedication, something that proves why Taiotims been getting so much respect from other Hip-Hop artists.

There is not one song here that stands out as the best because the whole EP has a feel to it that sounds amazing. With the ending track Poly Way he wraps up with a shout out while also referencing back to the name of the EP. Even though he shouts "We Out" at the end, there is no way he is on his way out. It's only up from here. An excellent NZ Hip-Hop EP that you need to hear.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Taiotims

Taiotims (Mataio Timaloa) is an Auckland Hip-Hop artist who has independently built a growing fanbase all over New Zealand. His music is known for his relatable story telling, nostalgic tone of voice and his soulful beats. Over the years Taiotims has perfected his craft by infusing the styles of his biggest influences (J. Cole, Andre 3000 and Kendrick Lamar) and molding it in to his own. Taiotims engineers his own vocals, and has received recognition from Local artists such as Scribe, Tom Scott (Home Brew), Lucky Lance, Che Fu, Diggy Dupe, Rizvan and Poetik.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Taiotims

Releases

Thank You For Your Patience
Year: 2022
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Eliezer - Single Review: Certified Professional Dreamer
14 Oct 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Eliezer is back after a little while with his new track Certified Professional Dreamer. Produced with long-time collaborator Ten Oh, the track continues to show why Eliezer is name you need to stay aware of.
Read More...
Teazse - Single Review: Love, Money Or Drugs
14 Oct 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
The new single from Teazse, an independent rap artist from Auckland, brings a lot of what people like about modern hip hop and brings it into his own world, while still acknowledging the sound of those that came before. For example, the sampled pitched voice works well when used well, and it's done here well.
Read More...
Scalper - Single Review: I'm Life Feat Nawazish Ali Khan
14 Oct 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Scalper is Nadeem Shafi, born and raised in East London of Pakistani descent. First seen in Aotearoa New Zealand at WOMAD 1997 as the vocalist for the British band Fun-da-mental.
Read More...
Album Review: Leejunardo Da Vinci
03 Oct 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Leejun is a Hip-Hop R&B Artist who lives and works in the 03 Christchurch, New Zealand. His complex lyricism and smooth delivery alongside his soulful singing voice reflect the amount of time he's dedicated to working on his craft.
Read More...
CACO - EP Review: Chisme
21 Sep 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
CACO is a 23-year-old South Auckland raised Iraqi. Over the last 6 years, CACO has become an all-encompassing musical artist; producing, mixing, mastering, writing and recording the near extent of his 30+ track catalogue.
Read More...
Seaside Sloths - Album Review: Claws
31 Aug 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Seaside Sloths are a 7-piece, genre-defying outfit, here to remind everyone to slow down. Hailing from the jungle and now residing on luscious shorelines of the Kapiti Coast.
Read More...
Munro - Album Review: The Book Of Isaac
31 Aug 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Rapper/producer Munro makes all his songs in a humble caravan studio located in Matakana.On his new album, The Book Of Isaac, he explores different soundscapes that range from acoustic, east-coast jazz influenced hip-hop and others all influenced by the hip-hop sounds of the last 30 years.
Read More...
Big Sima - Album Review: Stereotypes of a Polynesian Misunderstood
04 Jul 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Currently one of the most active NZ Hip-Hop artists on the live circuit, The Underground King AKA Big Sima is no stranger to the big stage. During his come-up, he has played support for everyone from Busta Rhymes to Bone Thugs 'n Harmony, Guru (Gangstarr), Mobb Deep and Cypress Hill.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • 685 (REMIX)
    Victor J Sefo, Lisi And Mwayz
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem