14 Apr 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Taiotims - EP Review: Thank You For Your Patience

22 Nov 2022 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Taiotims (Mataio Timaloa) is an Auckland Hip-Hop artist who has independently built a growing fanbase all over New Zealand. His music is known for his relatable story telling, nostalgic tone of voice and his soulful beats. Over the years Taiotims has perfected his craft by infusing the styles of his biggest influences (J. Cole, Andre 3000 and Kendrick Lamar) and molding it in to his own.

On his EP Thank You For Your Patience, you can certainly hear the influences coming through in slick sound that never sounds overly produced, keeping the authenticity of the music that he has studied. For example, in the opening track Throw It Up there are a few different vocal deliveries as he throws down his bars. The hooks are constantly consistent and easy to follow. The sound stage is big, wide and sounds crystal clear. There is a mix of later LA based rap along with the New Zealand rap sound I grew up with from groups like Deceptikonz, David Dallas and Scribe.

The production of the tracks for me is the highlight here. Tight bass lines, beautifully voiced chords, and progressions that will make musicians smile, but will sound amazing won't stir those who don't listen that closely to production like many of us do. I encourage people to really check out and pay attention to the detail in Yesterday which to me had the most Kendrick Lamar influenced sound, while not sounding like Kendrick. Even still, again, the delivery, the lyrics, everything....it oozes passion and dedication, something that proves why Taiotims been getting so much respect from other Hip-Hop artists.

There is not one song here that stands out as the best because the whole EP has a feel to it that sounds amazing. With the ending track Poly Way he wraps up with a shout out while also referencing back to the name of the EP. Even though he shouts "We Out" at the end, there is no way he is on his way out. It's only up from here. An excellent NZ Hip-Hop EP that you need to hear.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Taiotims

Taiotims (Mataio Timaloa) is an Auckland Hip-Hop artist who has independently built a growing fanbase all over New Zealand. His music is known for his relatable story telling, nostalgic tone of voice and his soulful beats. Over the years Taiotims has perfected his craft by infusing the styles of his biggest influences (J. Cole, Andre 3000 and Kendrick Lamar) and molding it in to his own. Taiotims engineers his own vocals, and has received recognition from Local artists such as Scribe, Tom Scott (Home Brew), Lucky Lance, Che Fu, Diggy Dupe, Rizvan and Poetik.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Taiotims

Releases

Thank You For Your Patience
Year: 2022
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Tom Knowles - Album Review: Atarangi - Morning Sky
28 Jun 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
Tom Knowles latest release Atarangi - Morning Sky is a must listen. Like, close this page now, go listen to the album, and then come back and read this.
Read More...
SuperMild - Single Review: Self Respect
21 Jun 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
SuperMild is a 3-piece genre-spanning band based in Auckland. Once cited in a review as spanning Reggae, Dub, Roots, RnB, Funk, Psychedelic, Rock, and Jazz, SuperMild is driven by a desire to not get stuck in one sound, and to bring banter, energy, a good time, and a great sound to as many stages as possible.
Read More...
Mazbou Q - SURVIVR6 - EP Review: Metahuman
11 May 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
This latest EP release, Metahuman, immerses listeners in a captivating cinematic journey from its very first note. With an infusion of sounds and concepts reminiscent of high-budget modern action films, the EP exudes an undeniable sense of intensity and potency that is instantly evident on the opening track, BBDO.
Read More...
Dilz - Single Review: Mentality
03 May 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
Dilz' latest track, Mentality, is a focused and polished work that showcases his unwavering dedication to his craft. The song's beat slowly develops, creating a sense of determination that is further reinforced by the lyrics, "Wake up in morning with a hustler mentality," in the first chorus.
Read More...
Eliezer - Album Review: Kingdom Come
13 Apr 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
Eliezer is a rising artist in the hip-hop scene, and his latest album Kingdom Come showcases his undeniable talent and passion for music. Produced in collaboration with Ten.
Read More...
Frontier - Single Review: Star Walkin'
28 Feb 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
Frontier are a passionate and energetic Pop Punk and Easycore four piece band from Christchurch, New Zealand. Their new release, Star Walkin', is driven by a huge intro that quickly moves into what we would expect from Pop/Punk, this song rocks.
Read More...
Swizl Jager - Single/Video Review: Nanny Pia
06 Jan 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
The new track from Swizl Jager, Nanny Pia, is a fantastic new track that will have your head bobbing in a humble way. It's got a great vibe that will have you hitting that repeat button.
Read More...
Dilz - Single/Video Review: I've Been 2
05 Dec 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Dilz' new track I've Been 2 hits hard. With a huge bass sound that doesn't overwhelm as much as it just makes you aware of its power, paired with the chimes as a hook and a powerful trap beat, I would say that this Dilz track is a statement about where he has come from and where he is now.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • LIKE THAT
    Future And Metro Boomin feat. Kendrick Lamar
  • END OF BEGINNING
    Djo
  • I LIKE THE WAY YOU KISS ME
    Artemas
  • WE CAN'T BE FRIENDS (WAIT FOR YOUR LOVE)
    Ariana Grande
  • STICK SEASON
    Noah Kahan
  • TEXAS HOLD 'EM
    Beyonce
  • LEAVEMEALONE
    Fred Again.. And Baby Keem
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem