20 Jul 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

SKILAA - Album Review: Tiger In The River

04 Jul 2024 // A review by Ben Ruegg


SKILAA’s sound is a unique blend of RnB, alternative, progressive folk, and hip-hop. The band began writing together in late 2017 after meeting through Auckland University’s Jazz programme. Their initial singles Bluffin’ and Way of The World established them as K’Rd’s favourite party-starters and garnered attention across the country. Vocally influenced by traditional Bulgarian harmonies, West African pop, Gospel, RnB, and Chelsea’s Greek-Cypriot heritage, their ethereal vocal arrangements are a standout feature. Their single I Never Knew reached #1 on bFM's Top 10 and was played across Student Radios throughout NZ. With the release of Tiger In The River on July 5, 2024, SKILAA continues to captivate with their distinctive sound and masterful compositions.

Tiger In The River, the debut album by Auckland-based band, is a fantastic showcase of diverse musical influences and impressively good and crazy musicianship. I was lucky enough to listen to this with my headphones soaking up all the goodness of a band who knows what they are doing, and how to do it.

The album kicks off with I Never Knew, featuring great chord progressions, tasty voicing, and wonderful, explorative melodies and harmonies. The mixing is fantastic, making sure the vocals sit perfectly upon the music, which is like a wild trip of jazz and funk influences.

Tracks like Southern Gothic blend rap, funk, soul, building to climactic finish that is reminiscent of Radiohead's The National Anthem. It's awesome and chaotic!

Scratch Me Out highlights Adam's intricate drum groove, combined with soulful vocals, while Money (featuring Guilty Simpson) delivers solid funk and soul with smooth vocals and great lyrics which reflect the current state of music, where it's at and how much money artists actually make. I love it.

The album also offers a John Mayer vibe with Sufficient, where the album takes a slight detour, yet again showcasing the sheer talent of all those involved.

The whole album, from start to finish is worthy of your time and attention. Listen closely to the different sounds and vibes. I can only imagine how this music would translate live, since ultimately, that is where the energy of music lives. And with such incredible musicianship, I would say these songs would be absolutely mind blowing, considering the vocal work and beautiful exotic harmonies.

Overall, this is some of the best playing and performances captured here. Every track is well written, well performed and as I mentioned, exceptionally recorded and mixed.

 

About SKILAA

SKILAA’s sound is equal parts RnB, alternative, progressive folk and hip-hop. It’s something you can’t quite put your finger on, but you know you like it.

The Auckland-based six-piece started writing together in late 2017 after meeting through Auckland University’s Jazz programme. The initial success of their first singles Bluffin and Way of The World have secured them as K’Rd’s favourite party-starters and have allowed them to recently emerge with promise throughout the country, featuring at festivals such as Great Sounds Great and Welcome to Nowhere.

Vocally, there are influences from traditional Bulgarian harmonies, West African pop, Gospel and RnB, and Chelsea’s Greek-Cypriot heritage. Melismatic singing and close harmonies all feed into the ethereal vocal arrangements that SKILAA are known for.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for SKILAA

Releases

Tiger In The River
Year: 2024
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Aotearoa Music Awards 2024
02 Jun 2024 // by Ben Ruegg
Thursday 30 May, 2024 was a wonderful night for our music industry. The Aotearoa Music Awards were being held for the first time at the Viaduct Event Centre, and for the first time in two years.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - Album Review: Between The Brave, Bold and Given Up
30 May 2024 // by Ben Ruegg
The opening track of Dan Sharp's album named Between The Brave, Bold and Given Up sounds familiar in a good way. It's like coming home after a long day, with cold weather and rain, but opening a door to warmth and comfort.
Read More...
Tom Knowles - Album Review: Atarangi - Morning Sky
28 Jun 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
Tom Knowles latest release Atarangi - Morning Sky is a must listen. Like, close this page now, go listen to the album, and then come back and read this.
Read More...
SuperMild - Single Review: Self Respect
21 Jun 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
SuperMild is a 3-piece genre-spanning band based in Auckland. Once cited in a review as spanning Reggae, Dub, Roots, RnB, Funk, Psychedelic, Rock, and Jazz, SuperMild is driven by a desire to not get stuck in one sound, and to bring banter, energy, a good time, and a great sound to as many stages as possible.
Read More...
Mazbou Q - SURVIVR6 - EP Review: Metahuman
11 May 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
This latest EP release, Metahuman, immerses listeners in a captivating cinematic journey from its very first note. With an infusion of sounds and concepts reminiscent of high-budget modern action films, the EP exudes an undeniable sense of intensity and potency that is instantly evident on the opening track, BBDO.
Read More...
Dilz - Single Review: Mentality
03 May 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
Dilz' latest track, Mentality, is a focused and polished work that showcases his unwavering dedication to his craft. The song's beat slowly develops, creating a sense of determination that is further reinforced by the lyrics, "Wake up in morning with a hustler mentality," in the first chorus.
Read More...
Eliezer - Album Review: Kingdom Come
13 Apr 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
Eliezer is a rising artist in the hip-hop scene, and his latest album Kingdom Come showcases his undeniable talent and passion for music. Produced in collaboration with Ten.
Read More...
Frontier - Single Review: Star Walkin'
28 Feb 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
Frontier are a passionate and energetic Pop Punk and Easycore four piece band from Christchurch, New Zealand. Their new release, Star Walkin', is driven by a huge intro that quickly moves into what we would expect from Pop/Punk, this song rocks.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg
SELECT artists.ID as artist_id, artists.Name, sum(artists_stats.Count) as hitcount FROM artists, artists_stats WHERE artists_stats.Date > ('2024-07-19' - INTERVAL 14 DAY)-0 AND artists.ID = artists_stats.AID AND artists.Enabled = 'y' AND artists.Deleted = 'n' GROUP BY artists_stats.AID ORDER BY hitcount DESC, Name LIMIT 10

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • NOT LIKE US
    Kendrick Lamar
  • BIRDS OF A FEATHER
    Billie Eilish
  • MILLION DOLLAR BABY
    Tommy Richman
  • PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • HOUDINI
    Eminem
  • A BAR SONG (TIPSY)
    Shaboozey
  • ESPRESSO
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • GOOD LUCK, BABE!
    Chappell Roan
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem