30 Sep 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

CACO - EP Review: Chisme

21 Sep 2022 // A review by Ben Ruegg

CACO is a 23-year-old South Auckland raised Iraqi. Over the last 6 years, CACO has become an all-encompassing musical artist; producing, mixing, mastering, writing and recording the near extent of his 30+ track catalogue.

His new EP Chisme is a great EP. One of the things that stands out for me is the real flow and delivery that you can hear come through the recordings. For example, on the opening track there are times when CACO is almost running out of breath. With a great beat that changes up towards the end, the song just delivers a punch hit while getting his thoughts off his chest. I respect that.

While each song is relatively short, it's about the right length for the style of music here. Even still, every track has a vibe and goes with it. Lyrically, he stays on focus and provides lyrical wordplay that shows a love for his craft. CACO also knows hooks. Listen to F**K That Noise and you'll understand. Even the way he changes his voice to become different characters where needed.

There is influences here from G-Eazy and Eminem for sure. But even the quality of the music, production and attention to detail. For 23 years old, I am in awe. This is one you want to hear more of. With over a year of production and work building up to it, you can hear everything here is from the heart, and is real.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About CACO

CACO is a 23-year-old South Auckland raised Iraqi. Over the last 6 years, CACO has become an all encompassing musical artist; producing, mixing, mastering, writing and recording the near extent of his 30+ track catalog.

A current 3rd year AUT Mechanical Engineering student, CACO still puts extreme effort into his creative pursuit while still keeping on top of his undergraduate studies. This dichotomous double take on life is also prevalent in the music CACO puts out. From old-school boom-bap tracks with hard, heavy bars, to sultry RnB vocals over melancholic, melodic beats, and everything in between.

To date CACO has performed over 100+ live shows, including as an opener in a national tour, released almost 40 tracks and has found himself rubbing shoulders with some of NZ’s most promising up-and-comers.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for CACO

Releases

There are no releases to display for CACO.

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Seaside Sloths - Album Review: Claws
31 Aug 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Seaside Sloths are a 7-piece, genre-defying outfit, here to remind everyone to slow down. Hailing from the jungle and now residing on luscious shorelines of the Kapiti Coast.
Read More...
Munro - Album Review: The Book Of Isaac
31 Aug 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Rapper/producer Munro makes all his songs in a humble caravan studio located in Matakana.On his new album, The Book Of Isaac, he explores different soundscapes that range from acoustic, east-coast jazz influenced hip-hop and others all influenced by the hip-hop sounds of the last 30 years.
Read More...
Big Sima - Album Review: Stereotypes of a Polynesian Misunderstood
04 Jul 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Currently one of the most active NZ Hip-Hop artists on the live circuit, The Underground King AKA Big Sima is no stranger to the big stage. During his come-up, he has played support for everyone from Busta Rhymes to Bone Thugs 'n Harmony, Guru (Gangstarr), Mobb Deep and Cypress Hill.
Read More...
Y$O - Single Review: So Sexy
03 Jul 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Y$O returns with a new funky and R&B-infused track So Sexy.From the moment the track starts, I can feel that there is a lot of influence from N.
Read More...
Single/Video Review: Makaveli-C Feat. SNRXG - Brothers
04 Jun 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
The new video from Makaveli-C Feat. SNRXG takes Hip-Hop and puts some New Zealand flavour in it.
Read More...
Paul The Kid - Single Review: Close My Eyes
01 Jun 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Paul The Kid is an extremely diverse artist, combining an eclectic mix of contemporary genres with prominent themes of hip-hop, dance and reggae to create absolute bangers. Paul is most at home performing live and his shows generate an eccentric energy that invites the audience to get involved in the party.
Read More...
EP Review: Yung Ludd - Two Tone
13 May 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Born and raised in Lyttelton, Yung Ludd is the rap alias of musician Connor Strati. Having spent some time in Auckland in his twenties, he was exposed to a lot of the underground Hip-Hop scene there which proved to be very influential on his sound.
Read More...
Will McClean - Single Review: Ego Prison
28 Apr 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
I'm getting to hear more Will McClean... yes please!
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SUPER FREAKY GIRL
    Nicki Minaj
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
  • SHUT DOWN
    BLACKPINK
  • B.O.T.A. (BADDEST OF THEM ALL)
    Eliza Rose And Interplanetary Criminal
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem