5 Oct 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Seaside Sloths - Album Review: Claws

31 Aug 2022 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Seaside Sloths are a 7-piece, genre-defying outfit, here to remind everyone to slow down. Hailing from the jungle and now residing on luscious shorelines of the Kapiti Coast. The Sloths have climbed down from their tree to present to you their second full-length album, Claws. Claws is abundant with vibrant soundscapes, lyrical prowess and many auditory twists and turns within each song. It plays cohesively as a body of work that encompasses more genres than you can wave a branch at!

And it's true. Right from the start of the album Give It All Away it feels like you have stepped into an East-Asian garden with the pan flutes welcoming you in. But quickly, you know that is not where you are. Sick flows that just easily come floating your way showcases the skill of these MC's. Backed up with a funky band, this opening track sets the tone.

But moments later you start to feel some more NZ Drum and Bass coming your way. Pretty much you want to just stop what you are doing, get up and dance to it. The group understands space in music and that is evident here and on many other tracks like We Don't Know where for the first part of the song there is some lo-fi rapping before the music takes over and becomes the focus. Like on Looking Up with its tasty guitar solo work at the end.

The album has a vision and an idea of bringing together all sorts of the NZ Hip Hop and Electronica sounds laid down by groups like Supergroove and Shapeshifter while mainly staying completely original. You can definitely hear and identify where their influences are in you pay close attention. And it's not just NZ artists here that I could reference. It just goes to show the care to detail that Seaside Sloths has put into this body of work.

With its cool twist on the cover of the movie Jaws, the whole package has personality written all over it. Definitely one to chill out to on one of the many upcoming sunny days.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Seaside Sloths

Seaside Sloths are a 7-piece, genre-defying outfit, here to remind everyone to slow down. Hailing from the jungle and now residing on luscious shorelines of the Kapiti Coast. The Sloths have climbed down from their tree to present to you their second full-length album, Claws.

Claws is abundant with vibrant soundscapes, lyrical prowess and many auditory twists and turns within each song. It plays cohesively as a body of work that encompasses more genres than you can wave a branch at!

With Claws released on 12 August 2022 and a bunch more live shows on the horizon, Slothmania is sweeping the nation at a rate that is anything but slow!

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Seaside Sloths

Releases

Claws
Year: 2022
Type: Album
Fear and Slothing in Sloth Vegas
Year: 2020
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Album Review: Leejunardo Da Vinci
03 Oct 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Leejun is a Hip-Hop R&B Artist who lives and works in the 03 Christchurch, New Zealand. His complex lyricism and smooth delivery alongside his soulful singing voice reflect the amount of time he's dedicated to working on his craft.
Read More...
CACO - EP Review: Chisme
21 Sep 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
CACO is a 23-year-old South Auckland raised Iraqi. Over the last 6 years, CACO has become an all-encompassing musical artist; producing, mixing, mastering, writing and recording the near extent of his 30+ track catalogue.
Read More...
Munro - Album Review: The Book Of Isaac
31 Aug 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Rapper/producer Munro makes all his songs in a humble caravan studio located in Matakana.On his new album, The Book Of Isaac, he explores different soundscapes that range from acoustic, east-coast jazz influenced hip-hop and others all influenced by the hip-hop sounds of the last 30 years.
Read More...
Big Sima - Album Review: Stereotypes of a Polynesian Misunderstood
04 Jul 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Currently one of the most active NZ Hip-Hop artists on the live circuit, The Underground King AKA Big Sima is no stranger to the big stage. During his come-up, he has played support for everyone from Busta Rhymes to Bone Thugs 'n Harmony, Guru (Gangstarr), Mobb Deep and Cypress Hill.
Read More...
Y$O - Single Review: So Sexy
03 Jul 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Y$O returns with a new funky and R&B-infused track So Sexy.From the moment the track starts, I can feel that there is a lot of influence from N.
Read More...
Single/Video Review: Makaveli-C Feat. SNRXG - Brothers
04 Jun 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
The new video from Makaveli-C Feat. SNRXG takes Hip-Hop and puts some New Zealand flavour in it.
Read More...
Paul The Kid - Single Review: Close My Eyes
01 Jun 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Paul The Kid is an extremely diverse artist, combining an eclectic mix of contemporary genres with prominent themes of hip-hop, dance and reggae to create absolute bangers. Paul is most at home performing live and his shows generate an eccentric energy that invites the audience to get involved in the party.
Read More...
EP Review: Yung Ludd - Two Tone
13 May 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Born and raised in Lyttelton, Yung Ludd is the rap alias of musician Connor Strati. Having spent some time in Auckland in his twenties, he was exposed to a lot of the underground Hip-Hop scene there which proved to be very influential on his sound.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • SUPER FREAKY GIRL
    Nicki Minaj
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
  • B.O.T.A. (BADDEST OF THEM ALL)
    Eliza Rose And Interplanetary Criminal
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem