24 Apr 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Seaside Sloths - Album Review: Claws

31 Aug 2022 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Seaside Sloths are a 7-piece, genre-defying outfit, here to remind everyone to slow down. Hailing from the jungle and now residing on luscious shorelines of the Kapiti Coast. The Sloths have climbed down from their tree to present to you their second full-length album, Claws. Claws is abundant with vibrant soundscapes, lyrical prowess and many auditory twists and turns within each song. It plays cohesively as a body of work that encompasses more genres than you can wave a branch at!

And it's true. Right from the start of the album Give It All Away it feels like you have stepped into an East-Asian garden with the pan flutes welcoming you in. But quickly, you know that is not where you are. Sick flows that just easily come floating your way showcases the skill of these MC's. Backed up with a funky band, this opening track sets the tone.

But moments later you start to feel some more NZ Drum and Bass coming your way. Pretty much you want to just stop what you are doing, get up and dance to it. The group understands space in music and that is evident here and on many other tracks like We Don't Know where for the first part of the song there is some lo-fi rapping before the music takes over and becomes the focus. Like on Looking Up with its tasty guitar solo work at the end.

The album has a vision and an idea of bringing together all sorts of the NZ Hip Hop and Electronica sounds laid down by groups like Supergroove and Shapeshifter while mainly staying completely original. You can definitely hear and identify where their influences are in you pay close attention. And it's not just NZ artists here that I could reference. It just goes to show the care to detail that Seaside Sloths has put into this body of work.

With its cool twist on the cover of the movie Jaws, the whole package has personality written all over it. Definitely one to chill out to on one of the many upcoming sunny days.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Seaside Sloths

Seaside Sloths are a 7-piece, genre-defying outfit, here to remind everyone to slow down. Hailing from the jungle and now residing on luscious shorelines of the Kapiti Coast. The Sloths have climbed down from their tree to present to you their second full-length album, Claws.

Claws is abundant with vibrant soundscapes, lyrical prowess and many auditory twists and turns within each song. It plays cohesively as a body of work that encompasses more genres than you can wave a branch at!

With Claws released on 12 August 2022 and a bunch more live shows on the horizon, Slothmania is sweeping the nation at a rate that is anything but slow!

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Seaside Sloths

Releases

Claws
Year: 2022
Type: Album
Fear and Slothing in Sloth Vegas
Year: 2020
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Tom Knowles - Album Review: Atarangi - Morning Sky
28 Jun 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
Tom Knowles latest release Atarangi - Morning Sky is a must listen. Like, close this page now, go listen to the album, and then come back and read this.
Read More...
SuperMild - Single Review: Self Respect
21 Jun 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
SuperMild is a 3-piece genre-spanning band based in Auckland. Once cited in a review as spanning Reggae, Dub, Roots, RnB, Funk, Psychedelic, Rock, and Jazz, SuperMild is driven by a desire to not get stuck in one sound, and to bring banter, energy, a good time, and a great sound to as many stages as possible.
Read More...
Mazbou Q - SURVIVR6 - EP Review: Metahuman
11 May 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
This latest EP release, Metahuman, immerses listeners in a captivating cinematic journey from its very first note. With an infusion of sounds and concepts reminiscent of high-budget modern action films, the EP exudes an undeniable sense of intensity and potency that is instantly evident on the opening track, BBDO.
Read More...
Dilz - Single Review: Mentality
03 May 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
Dilz' latest track, Mentality, is a focused and polished work that showcases his unwavering dedication to his craft. The song's beat slowly develops, creating a sense of determination that is further reinforced by the lyrics, "Wake up in morning with a hustler mentality," in the first chorus.
Read More...
Eliezer - Album Review: Kingdom Come
13 Apr 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
Eliezer is a rising artist in the hip-hop scene, and his latest album Kingdom Come showcases his undeniable talent and passion for music. Produced in collaboration with Ten.
Read More...
Frontier - Single Review: Star Walkin'
28 Feb 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
Frontier are a passionate and energetic Pop Punk and Easycore four piece band from Christchurch, New Zealand. Their new release, Star Walkin', is driven by a huge intro that quickly moves into what we would expect from Pop/Punk, this song rocks.
Read More...
Swizl Jager - Single/Video Review: Nanny Pia
06 Jan 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
The new track from Swizl Jager, Nanny Pia, is a fantastic new track that will have your head bobbing in a humble way. It's got a great vibe that will have you hitting that repeat button.
Read More...
Dilz - Single/Video Review: I've Been 2
05 Dec 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Dilz' new track I've Been 2 hits hard. With a huge bass sound that doesn't overwhelm as much as it just makes you aware of its power, paired with the chimes as a hook and a powerful trap beat, I would say that this Dilz track is a statement about where he has come from and where he is now.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • I LIKE THE WAY YOU KISS ME
    Artemas
  • SATURN
    SZA
  • STICK SEASON
    Noah Kahan
  • END OF BEGINNING
    Djo
  • LIKE THAT
    Future And Metro Boomin feat. Kendrick Lamar
  • ESPRESSO
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • WE CAN'T BE FRIENDS (WAIT FOR YOUR LOVE)
    Ariana Grande
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem