21 Feb 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Munro - Album Review: The Book Of Isaac

31 Aug 2022 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Rapper/producer Munro makes all his songs in a humble caravan studio located in Matakana.

On his new album, The Book Of Isaac, he explores different soundscapes that range from acoustic, east-coast jazz influenced hip-hop and others all influenced by the hip-hop sounds of the last 30 years.

Lyrically, the album delves into working hard to make it; something we all can relate to. Like on the track Yoda, or speaking about creating his music in order to be honest, soul searching and navigating life in general on Clownfish which has the first of many features of artists.

Crucify Your Mind is definitely the stand out track that has a hook which I do not doubt will resonate with people. Sonically, harmonically, this track will appeal to all. Gutzy features again here as he did on Clownfish and together with Rodriguez speak about what it's like to create music, being on your phone at 3am coming up with lyrics. It feels like a song about the metaphor about music being the object of attention in the song, as opposed to a partner which is clever. Writing music is a personal journey, and sometimes we converse with ourselves too much during the creative process. This is definitely my favourite track here.

On the penultimate track Voicemail beautiful vocals provided by Ishaana set the tone for a softer song that has an acoustic guitar laying overtop of a beat, mixed in with a telephone ringing. There is a back and forth between Munro and Ishaana here.

Closing the album is the track Last Man Standing which demonstrates again the very relaxed and comfortable cadence of Munro. Each track here doesn't sound forced. It sounds relaxed and confident. This track has that vibe written all over it.

A great album from an artist to keep your eye on.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Munro

Rapper/producer Munro makes all his songs in a humble caravan studio located in Matakana. Catch him performing his new self produced album The Book Of Isaac on August 18th, 2022 @ Cassette 9 in Auckland for BreakingSoundNZ.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Munro

Releases

The Book of Isaac
Year: 2022
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Tom Knowles - Album Review: Atarangi - Morning Sky
28 Jun 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
Tom Knowles latest release Atarangi - Morning Sky is a must listen. Like, close this page now, go listen to the album, and then come back and read this.
Read More...
SuperMild - Single Review: Self Respect
21 Jun 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
SuperMild is a 3-piece genre-spanning band based in Auckland. Once cited in a review as spanning Reggae, Dub, Roots, RnB, Funk, Psychedelic, Rock, and Jazz, SuperMild is driven by a desire to not get stuck in one sound, and to bring banter, energy, a good time, and a great sound to as many stages as possible.
Read More...
Mazbou Q - SURVIVR6 - EP Review: Metahuman
11 May 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
This latest EP release, Metahuman, immerses listeners in a captivating cinematic journey from its very first note. With an infusion of sounds and concepts reminiscent of high-budget modern action films, the EP exudes an undeniable sense of intensity and potency that is instantly evident on the opening track, BBDO.
Read More...
Dilz - Single Review: Mentality
03 May 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
Dilz' latest track, Mentality, is a focused and polished work that showcases his unwavering dedication to his craft. The song's beat slowly develops, creating a sense of determination that is further reinforced by the lyrics, "Wake up in morning with a hustler mentality," in the first chorus.
Read More...
Eliezer - Album Review: Kingdom Come
13 Apr 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
Eliezer is a rising artist in the hip-hop scene, and his latest album Kingdom Come showcases his undeniable talent and passion for music. Produced in collaboration with Ten.
Read More...
Frontier - Single Review: Star Walkin'
28 Feb 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
Frontier are a passionate and energetic Pop Punk and Easycore four piece band from Christchurch, New Zealand. Their new release, Star Walkin', is driven by a huge intro that quickly moves into what we would expect from Pop/Punk, this song rocks.
Read More...
Swizl Jager - Single/Video Review: Nanny Pia
06 Jan 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
The new track from Swizl Jager, Nanny Pia, is a fantastic new track that will have your head bobbing in a humble way. It's got a great vibe that will have you hitting that repeat button.
Read More...
Dilz - Single/Video Review: I've Been 2
05 Dec 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Dilz' new track I've Been 2 hits hard. With a huge bass sound that doesn't overwhelm as much as it just makes you aware of its power, paired with the chimes as a hook and a powerful trap beat, I would say that this Dilz track is a statement about where he has come from and where he is now.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • PRAISE JAH IN THE MOONLIGHT
    YG Marley
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • STICK SEASON
    Noah Kahan
  • LOVIN ON ME
    Jack Harlow
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • SNOOZE
    SZA
  • GREEDY
    Tate McRae
  • CRUEL SUMMER
    Taylor Swift
  • CARNIVAL
    Kanye West And Ty Dolla $ign
  • MURDER ON THE DANCEFLOOR
    Sophie Ellis-Bextor
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem