5 Oct 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Munro - Album Review: The Book Of Isaac

31 Aug 2022 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Rapper/producer Munro makes all his songs in a humble caravan studio located in Matakana.

On his new album, The Book Of Isaac, he explores different soundscapes that range from acoustic, east-coast jazz influenced hip-hop and others all influenced by the hip-hop sounds of the last 30 years.

Lyrically, the album delves into working hard to make it; something we all can relate to. Like on the track Yoda, or speaking about creating his music in order to be honest, soul searching and navigating life in general on Clownfish which has the first of many features of artists.

Crucify Your Mind is definitely the stand out track that has a hook which I do not doubt will resonate with people. Sonically, harmonically, this track will appeal to all. Gutzy features again here as he did on Clownfish and together with Rodriguez speak about what it's like to create music, being on your phone at 3am coming up with lyrics. It feels like a song about the metaphor about music being the object of attention in the song, as opposed to a partner which is clever. Writing music is a personal journey, and sometimes we converse with ourselves too much during the creative process. This is definitely my favourite track here.

On the penultimate track Voicemail beautiful vocals provided by Ishaana set the tone for a softer song that has an acoustic guitar laying overtop of a beat, mixed in with a telephone ringing. There is a back and forth between Munro and Ishaana here.

Closing the album is the track Last Man Standing which demonstrates again the very relaxed and comfortable cadence of Munro. Each track here doesn't sound forced. It sounds relaxed and confident. This track has that vibe written all over it.

A great album from an artist to keep your eye on.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Munro

Rapper/producer Munro makes all his songs in a humble caravan studio located in Matakana. Catch him performing his new self produced album The Book Of Isaac on August 18th, 2022 @ Cassette 9 in Auckland for BreakingSoundNZ.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Munro

Releases

The Book of Isaac
Year: 2022
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Album Review: Leejunardo Da Vinci
03 Oct 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Leejun is a Hip-Hop R&B Artist who lives and works in the 03 Christchurch, New Zealand. His complex lyricism and smooth delivery alongside his soulful singing voice reflect the amount of time he's dedicated to working on his craft.
Read More...
CACO - EP Review: Chisme
21 Sep 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
CACO is a 23-year-old South Auckland raised Iraqi. Over the last 6 years, CACO has become an all-encompassing musical artist; producing, mixing, mastering, writing and recording the near extent of his 30+ track catalogue.
Read More...
Seaside Sloths - Album Review: Claws
31 Aug 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Seaside Sloths are a 7-piece, genre-defying outfit, here to remind everyone to slow down. Hailing from the jungle and now residing on luscious shorelines of the Kapiti Coast.
Read More...
Big Sima - Album Review: Stereotypes of a Polynesian Misunderstood
04 Jul 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Currently one of the most active NZ Hip-Hop artists on the live circuit, The Underground King AKA Big Sima is no stranger to the big stage. During his come-up, he has played support for everyone from Busta Rhymes to Bone Thugs 'n Harmony, Guru (Gangstarr), Mobb Deep and Cypress Hill.
Read More...
Y$O - Single Review: So Sexy
03 Jul 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Y$O returns with a new funky and R&B-infused track So Sexy.From the moment the track starts, I can feel that there is a lot of influence from N.
Read More...
Single/Video Review: Makaveli-C Feat. SNRXG - Brothers
04 Jun 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
The new video from Makaveli-C Feat. SNRXG takes Hip-Hop and puts some New Zealand flavour in it.
Read More...
Paul The Kid - Single Review: Close My Eyes
01 Jun 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Paul The Kid is an extremely diverse artist, combining an eclectic mix of contemporary genres with prominent themes of hip-hop, dance and reggae to create absolute bangers. Paul is most at home performing live and his shows generate an eccentric energy that invites the audience to get involved in the party.
Read More...
EP Review: Yung Ludd - Two Tone
13 May 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Born and raised in Lyttelton, Yung Ludd is the rap alias of musician Connor Strati. Having spent some time in Auckland in his twenties, he was exposed to a lot of the underground Hip-Hop scene there which proved to be very influential on his sound.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • SUPER FREAKY GIRL
    Nicki Minaj
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
  • B.O.T.A. (BADDEST OF THEM ALL)
    Eliza Rose And Interplanetary Criminal
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem