2 Jul 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Paul The Kid - Single Review: Close My Eyes

01 Jun 2022 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Paul The Kid is an extremely diverse artist, combining an eclectic mix of contemporary genres with prominent themes of hip-hop, dance and reggae to create absolute bangers. Paul is most at home performing live and his shows generate an eccentric energy that invites the audience to get involved in the party.

On his track Close My Eyes the music develops and builds to what I feel is one of the coolest surprises in a song I have heard in a long time. With an almost dub vibe starting of the track, laid back and cool with a sombre feel to it, Paul The Kid sings about just shutting his eyes what is happening in life and knowing that he needs to face up to life.

"All the pressure to cook is boiling up and I should mellow out and I would. But I gotta get it done. I didn’t put my life into this just to run"

By the end of track, it twists and morphs into a feelgood song where the lead melody stays the same, but the harmony underneath changes, giving a new feel to it. It works so well that you really want to hit repeat to go through the motions again.

An excellent track and well worth your time.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Paul The Kid

Paul The Kid is an extremely diverse artist, combining an eclectic mix of contemporary genres. With prominent themes of hip hop, dance, and reggae to create absolute bangers. Drawing inspiration from Sticky Fingers, Mac Miller & Pendulum his shows generate a brilliant energy that always invite the audience to get stuck in.

Having been the founding member/lead singer of successful New Zealand Fun-Punk group Night Gaunts, Paul is very familiar to the stage. He has performed hundreds of gigs in New Zealand and London, organised and put on two successful full US tours, independently released two EPs, played Boomtown Fair festival 2018, Illusive festival 2019, local London festival Level Up! Fest and was recently broadcast on Australia's Triple J radio station.

After nearly 3 years in London, Paul is based back in Auckland, New Zealand. Fresh from gigging in Los Angeles and Berkeley Paul is gearing up to release brand new singles and videos, to perform festivals and gigs, and push his unique brand of the offbeat sound to dance floors and fields around the nation.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Paul The Kid

Releases

Two Tone Death Wave
Year: 2017
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Single/Video Review: Makaveli-C Feat. SNRXG - Brothers
04 Jun 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
The new video from Makaveli-C Feat. SNRXG takes Hip-Hop and puts some New Zealand flavour in it.
Read More...
EP Review: Yung Ludd - Two Tone
13 May 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Born and raised in Lyttelton, Yung Ludd is the rap alias of musician Connor Strati. Having spent some time in Auckland in his twenties, he was exposed to a lot of the underground Hip-Hop scene there which proved to be very influential on his sound.
Read More...
Will McClean - Single Review: Ego Prison
28 Apr 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
I'm getting to hear more Will McClean... yes please!
Read More...
Hans. - EP Review: Kimyuntak
20 Apr 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Hailing from Auckland, New Zealand, Hans. is an exciting Korean artist that has been dubbed by VICE Magazine as "One of the rising stars of New Zealand Hip Hop.
Read More...
Eliezer - Album Review: Diary Entries Vol 1
20 Apr 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
This is a great album. Even at 30 mins long, the overall feel and vibe of it is fantastic.
Read More...
Jeivenchy - Album Review: Fatal Attraction
31 Mar 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Jeivenchy, not to be confused with “Givenchy”, is a singer/songwriter based in Wellington, New Zealand. His debut album Seenzoned introduced his melodramatic lyrics, 80's inspired vocals and catchy choruses.
Read More...
Partyboi Pan - Single Review: Mystical Barz
16 Mar 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Partyboi Pan is the founder of The Mason, a vision to upgrade the very idea of what parties are with the sole purpose of showcasing local passions and talents.His latest track Mystical Barz opens with a dialogue that really sets the mood for the track.
Read More...
Phil Stoodley - Single/Video Review: Shame Shame
08 Mar 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
The new single from Phil Stoodley, Shame Shame, is a fantastic track that is not only catchy but has such a vibe to it that you will be hitting repeat over and over. With a solid bass line propping up the main guitar riff, the drums hold it all together and allow for Phil's vocals to sit neatly in place, which by the way sound real and authentic.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • JIMMY COOKS
    Drake feat. 21 Savage
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem