3 Dec 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Paul The Kid - Single Review: Close My Eyes

01 Jun 2022 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Paul The Kid is an extremely diverse artist, combining an eclectic mix of contemporary genres with prominent themes of hip-hop, dance and reggae to create absolute bangers. Paul is most at home performing live and his shows generate an eccentric energy that invites the audience to get involved in the party.

On his track Close My Eyes the music develops and builds to what I feel is one of the coolest surprises in a song I have heard in a long time. With an almost dub vibe starting of the track, laid back and cool with a sombre feel to it, Paul The Kid sings about just shutting his eyes what is happening in life and knowing that he needs to face up to life.

"All the pressure to cook is boiling up and I should mellow out and I would. But I gotta get it done. I didn’t put my life into this just to run"

By the end of track, it twists and morphs into a feelgood song where the lead melody stays the same, but the harmony underneath changes, giving a new feel to it. It works so well that you really want to hit repeat to go through the motions again.

An excellent track and well worth your time.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Paul The Kid

Paul The Kid is an extremely diverse artist, combining an eclectic mix of contemporary genres. With prominent themes of hip hop, dance, and reggae to create absolute bangers. Drawing inspiration from Sticky Fingers, Mac Miller & Pendulum his shows generate a brilliant energy that always invite the audience to get stuck in.

Having been the founding member/lead singer of successful New Zealand Fun-Punk group Night Gaunts, Paul is very familiar to the stage. He has performed hundreds of gigs in New Zealand and London, organised and put on two successful full US tours, independently released two EPs, played Boomtown Fair festival 2018, Illusive festival 2019, local London festival Level Up! Fest and was recently broadcast on Australia's Triple J radio station.

After nearly 3 years in London, Paul is based back in Auckland, New Zealand. Fresh from gigging in Los Angeles and Berkeley Paul is gearing up to release brand new singles and videos, to perform festivals and gigs, and push his unique brand of the offbeat sound to dance floors and fields around the nation.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Paul The Kid

Releases

Two Tone Death Wave
Year: 2017
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Taiotims - EP Review: Thank You For Your Patience
22 Nov 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Taiotims (Mataio Timaloa) is an Auckland Hip-Hop artist who has independently built a growing fanbase all over New Zealand. His music is known for his relatable story telling, nostalgic tone of voice and his soulful beats.
Read More...
Eliezer - Single Review: Certified Professional Dreamer
14 Oct 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Eliezer is back after a little while with his new track Certified Professional Dreamer. Produced with long-time collaborator Ten Oh, the track continues to show why Eliezer is name you need to stay aware of.
Read More...
Teazse - Single Review: Love, Money Or Drugs
14 Oct 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
The new single from Teazse, an independent rap artist from Auckland, brings a lot of what people like about modern hip hop and brings it into his own world, while still acknowledging the sound of those that came before. For example, the sampled pitched voice works well when used well, and it's done here well.
Read More...
Scalper - Single Review: I'm Life Feat Nawazish Ali Khan
14 Oct 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Scalper is Nadeem Shafi, born and raised in East London of Pakistani descent. First seen in Aotearoa New Zealand at WOMAD 1997 as the vocalist for the British band Fun-da-mental.
Read More...
Album Review: Leejunardo Da Vinci
03 Oct 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Leejun is a Hip-Hop R&B Artist who lives and works in the 03 Christchurch, New Zealand. His complex lyricism and smooth delivery alongside his soulful singing voice reflect the amount of time he's dedicated to working on his craft.
Read More...
CACO - EP Review: Chisme
21 Sep 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
CACO is a 23-year-old South Auckland raised Iraqi. Over the last 6 years, CACO has become an all-encompassing musical artist; producing, mixing, mastering, writing and recording the near extent of his 30+ track catalogue.
Read More...
Seaside Sloths - Album Review: Claws
31 Aug 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Seaside Sloths are a 7-piece, genre-defying outfit, here to remind everyone to slow down. Hailing from the jungle and now residing on luscious shorelines of the Kapiti Coast.
Read More...
Munro - Album Review: The Book Of Isaac
31 Aug 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Rapper/producer Munro makes all his songs in a humble caravan studio located in Matakana.On his new album, The Book Of Isaac, he explores different soundscapes that range from acoustic, east-coast jazz influenced hip-hop and others all influenced by the hip-hop sounds of the last 30 years.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • 685 (REMIX)
    Victor J Sefo, Lisi And Mwayz
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem