8 Dec 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

This Little Badge - Single Review: Think of A Number

01 May 2022 // A review by Darryl Baser

Think of A Number is the first of a series of seven singles being released by This Little Badge, a project led by Dave Pope.

This song is an upbeat little number, based around the house lyrical phrase "think of a number", with the title line being repeated for the chorus.

The musical arrangement is solid, but with a sense of freedom at the breakdown into the middle eight.

It's a finger and toe tapping number, improving with repeated listens. The breakdown and solo section divert significantly from the initial and predominant structure, which breaks up the song well.

Being a bit of a word nerd, I'd have liked a bit more lyrical depth: i.e. why should the listener think of a number, what is the purpose?

That being said, it is a fine tune, and a great way to kick off New Zealand music month.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About This Little Badge

The background: “Music seems to be getting too po-faced and slow-paced, like it’s a case of ‘turn up, plug in and drop off’, so we’re trying to liven things up a bit with some boot-in-arse and tongue-in-cheek attitude. We’re aware - as is everyone else - that music generally covers the same subject matter, the familiar ‘old wine, new bottle’ routine, so we attempt to tell our stories from a different angle.

Are they hipsters: “When the occasion arises, we can be quipsters, tipsters, spicy dipsters, checkers-of-sundry-video-clipsters. But musically, we are definitely and always cut-the-crap-and-get-a-gripsters.”


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for This Little Badge

Releases

There are no releases to display for This Little Badge.

Other Reviews By Darryl Baser

Mad Cow - Single Review: Same Boat
01 Dec 2022 // by Darryl Baser
Same Boat is the latest single to be released Taranaki 3-piece Mad Cow. Mad Cow are mainstays of the New Plymouth have been around since the 1990’s in the North Island’s music scene, evolving from school band No Comment.
Read More...
The New Existentialists - EP Review: Last Days of the Internet
23 Nov 2022 // by Darryl Baser
It might seem like George D Henderson has been a part of the New Zealand music landscape for about as long as Keith Richards has been playing guitar. He’s been in the Flying Nun arena with The Puddle based in Dunedin.
Read More...
Nika - Single Review: Saviour Complex
03 Nov 2022 // by Darryl Baser
A song with an interesting title will always grab my attention, and the idea of people with a saviour complex has always fascinated me, so when the new song by Nika called Saviour Complex was offered to me to review I almost somersaulted. The song opens with a gently and alluring piano melody before Nika’s voice kicks in and from the first notes some vocal training is obvious.
Read More...
The RVMES - Single Review: Simple Things
05 Oct 2022 // by Darryl Baser
Oh My God. There are bangers then there’s this tune.
Read More...
VÏKÆ - EP Review: Love Games
25 Aug 2022 // by Darryl Baser
Veronika Bell, known to music fans as Vikae, has been composing and producing music for a good few years, and is gaining some crossover traction between the dance and pop worlds. While she writes many of her tunes on a piano, and can perform them beautifully with piano and her impressive voice, it is the dance-styled pop versions of her tune which have been garnering her acclaim.
Read More...
Mecuzine - Album Review: Locksmith Thief
21 Jul 2022 // by Darryl Baser
Now that’s a great way to open an album. Bruised and Broken is the first track of Mecuzine’s new album Locksmith Thief, and my god what an epic track to open their new record.
Read More...
Geneva Waves - Single Review: Wild Arrivals
29 May 2022 // by Darryl Baser
Geneva Waves is a one person musical project, based in Tamaki Makaurau/Auckland. Steven Tait is the man behind the moniker, who’s produced this wonderful piece of music.
Read More...
The New Things - EP Review: Pink Chocolate
20 May 2022 // by Darryl Baser
If I had to sum up The New Things four-song EP Pink Chocolate in two words they would be ‘perfectly imperfect’. The New Things are Tina McIvor and Jason Tamihana-Bryce, both have been around the indie music scene for a number of years separately and together; touring Japan a few years back.
Read More...
View All Articles By Darryl Baser

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem