2 Dec 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Nika - Single Review: Saviour Complex

03 Nov 2022 // A review by Darryl Baser

A song with an interesting title will always grab my attention, and the idea of people with a saviour complex has always fascinated me, so when the new song by Nika called Saviour Complex was offered to me to review I almost somersaulted.

The song opens with a gently and alluring piano melody before Nika’s voice kicks in and from the first notes some vocal training is obvious.

Lyrically the song supports the title.

At a minute and 58 seconds long it is a song I wish was longer. There are a couple of verses then a pre chorus, then the chorus of "he has a complex, he has a saviour complex".

I feel the words of the pre-chorus are the key; "when his high horse races, you know that he's betting against it", so it seems to my mind Nika has tangled with a destructive narcissist.

Melodically it is beautiful, complex with the gift of sounding simple, and a very fine song. I’m looking forward to hearing more from Nika.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Nika

An Aotearoa-based, queer, singer/songwriter with a deep love for music across all genres and styles. The common thread of Nika's music is considered lyricism and heart-string-tugging melodies. Nika has been writing and performing music since the age of 9 accompanying herself with piano and guitar interchangeably. In 2022, Nika wrote and performed the song Saviour Complex for the documentary film Beyond Conversion combining her passions for LGBT+ activism and music.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Nika

Releases

There are no releases to display for Nika.

Other Reviews By Darryl Baser

Mad Cow - Single Review: Same Boat
01 Dec 2022 // by Darryl Baser
Same Boat is the latest single to be released Taranaki 3-piece Mad Cow. Mad Cow are mainstays of the New Plymouth have been around since the 1990’s in the North Island’s music scene, evolving from school band No Comment.
Read More...
The New Existentialists - EP Review: Last Days of the Internet
23 Nov 2022 // by Darryl Baser
It might seem like George D Henderson has been a part of the New Zealand music landscape for about as long as Keith Richards has been playing guitar. He’s been in the Flying Nun arena with The Puddle based in Dunedin.
Read More...
The RVMES - Single Review: Simple Things
05 Oct 2022 // by Darryl Baser
Oh My God. There are bangers then there’s this tune.
Read More...
VÏKÆ - EP Review: Love Games
25 Aug 2022 // by Darryl Baser
Veronika Bell, known to music fans as Vikae, has been composing and producing music for a good few years, and is gaining some crossover traction between the dance and pop worlds. While she writes many of her tunes on a piano, and can perform them beautifully with piano and her impressive voice, it is the dance-styled pop versions of her tune which have been garnering her acclaim.
Read More...
Mecuzine - Album Review: Locksmith Thief
21 Jul 2022 // by Darryl Baser
Now that’s a great way to open an album. Bruised and Broken is the first track of Mecuzine’s new album Locksmith Thief, and my god what an epic track to open their new record.
Read More...
Geneva Waves - Single Review: Wild Arrivals
29 May 2022 // by Darryl Baser
Geneva Waves is a one person musical project, based in Tamaki Makaurau/Auckland. Steven Tait is the man behind the moniker, who’s produced this wonderful piece of music.
Read More...
The New Things - EP Review: Pink Chocolate
20 May 2022 // by Darryl Baser
If I had to sum up The New Things four-song EP Pink Chocolate in two words they would be ‘perfectly imperfect’. The New Things are Tina McIvor and Jason Tamihana-Bryce, both have been around the indie music scene for a number of years separately and together; touring Japan a few years back.
Read More...
Tony Jacob - Single Review: Just One Step
11 May 2022 // by Darryl Baser
The 2021 released single Just One Step by Tony Jacob is a sumptuously produced song, with lyrics and a very positive vibe. "You can move on mountains with just one step, you could take the world on with no regrets..
Read More...
View All Articles By Darryl Baser

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • 685 (REMIX)
    Victor J Sefo, Lisi And Mwayz
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem