2 Dec 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The New Existentialists - EP Review: Last Days of the Internet

23 Nov 2022 // A review by Darryl Baser

It might seem like George D Henderson has been a part of the New Zealand music landscape for about as long as Keith Richards has been playing guitar.

He’s been in the Flying Nun arena with The Puddle based in Dunedin. He relocated to Auckland several years ago, and resurfaced with The New Existentialists.

The group released the Last Days of the Internet EP in late October and the five-song effort is already garnering critical acclaim.

The EP opens up with the title track, and right from the opening you know it’s George D Henderson on fine form. He’s always been a good songwriter, and with lines like, “you have become an algorithm, a file too corrupted to download”, it is pure George. Overdriven guitars push along the song as the rhythm section sits on a bed of zeros and ones for George’s narrative to soar over.

The words of track two, I Don't Need The Light to See The Way reads as a man getting to terms with growing older particularly; “I don’t need the light to see the way. Already spoken to the dead and they’re okay. But I can’t stay”.

Musically George D Henderson stems from solid pop sensibilities of the late 1950's to the mid-1960's, seemingly drawing inspiration from the great writers and arrangers of that time. But rising to initial fame during the Flying Nun era in Dunedin, the southern jangle lives on with this stately Auckland resident.

Top EP George, working on an album bro?

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

Other Reviews By Darryl Baser

Mad Cow - Single Review: Same Boat
01 Dec 2022 // by Darryl Baser
Same Boat is the latest single to be released Taranaki 3-piece Mad Cow. Mad Cow are mainstays of the New Plymouth have been around since the 1990’s in the North Island’s music scene, evolving from school band No Comment.
Read More...
Nika - Single Review: Saviour Complex
03 Nov 2022 // by Darryl Baser
A song with an interesting title will always grab my attention, and the idea of people with a saviour complex has always fascinated me, so when the new song by Nika called Saviour Complex was offered to me to review I almost somersaulted. The song opens with a gently and alluring piano melody before Nika’s voice kicks in and from the first notes some vocal training is obvious.
Read More...
The RVMES - Single Review: Simple Things
05 Oct 2022 // by Darryl Baser
Oh My God. There are bangers then there’s this tune.
Read More...
VÏKÆ - EP Review: Love Games
25 Aug 2022 // by Darryl Baser
Veronika Bell, known to music fans as Vikae, has been composing and producing music for a good few years, and is gaining some crossover traction between the dance and pop worlds. While she writes many of her tunes on a piano, and can perform them beautifully with piano and her impressive voice, it is the dance-styled pop versions of her tune which have been garnering her acclaim.
Read More...
Mecuzine - Album Review: Locksmith Thief
21 Jul 2022 // by Darryl Baser
Now that’s a great way to open an album. Bruised and Broken is the first track of Mecuzine’s new album Locksmith Thief, and my god what an epic track to open their new record.
Read More...
Geneva Waves - Single Review: Wild Arrivals
29 May 2022 // by Darryl Baser
Geneva Waves is a one person musical project, based in Tamaki Makaurau/Auckland. Steven Tait is the man behind the moniker, who’s produced this wonderful piece of music.
Read More...
The New Things - EP Review: Pink Chocolate
20 May 2022 // by Darryl Baser
If I had to sum up The New Things four-song EP Pink Chocolate in two words they would be ‘perfectly imperfect’. The New Things are Tina McIvor and Jason Tamihana-Bryce, both have been around the indie music scene for a number of years separately and together; touring Japan a few years back.
Read More...
Tony Jacob - Single Review: Just One Step
11 May 2022 // by Darryl Baser
The 2021 released single Just One Step by Tony Jacob is a sumptuously produced song, with lyrics and a very positive vibe. "You can move on mountains with just one step, you could take the world on with no regrets..
Read More...
View All Articles By Darryl Baser

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • 685 (REMIX)
    Victor J Sefo, Lisi And Mwayz
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem