2 Dec 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The RVMES - Single Review: Simple Things

05 Oct 2022 // A review by Darryl Baser

Oh My God. There are bangers then there’s this tune. To use a car metaphor, this banger makes others look like clapped out junkyard scrap.

Simple Things is 2:19 minutes of well-honed punk-rock inspired cleverly written brilliance. Put it this way, I’d written only this much before I hit repeat to hear it again.

The four bar intro of drums alone is an indication of the high tempo, and high energy song about to erupt into your ear ears.

The basic premise of the words of Simple Things is a personal view point of an un-spoilt life, someone who has to work to get by. The opening stanza is: “We never ask for much, we never ask for much, things do not just fall in to our lap,” which kinda sets the scene for the next two lines: “give me an honest break, give me a fuckin’ steak, then I guess I might just be ok.”

Musically The RVMES are tighter than machine tightened wheel nuts. The last band I heard play this tight and fast were Die! Die! Die!, and before that The Ramones.

I’d love to hear these guys live, keeping this pace up over a 60 minute set, surely they’ve got one or two songs under 180 BPM.

Simply put this is a great fast song that’s over too soon, and stands up to being on repeat. Roll on the album.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About The RVMES

The RVMES (pronounced 'The Rooms') are a fiercely independent alternative band from Auckland known for an energy filled live show and pure dedication to their craft. Basing the essence of their band around capturing multiple genres within their songs, they have sculpted and honed a sound that is truly unique and theirs.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The RVMES

Releases

Simple Things
Year: 2022
Type: Album
Lifetime
Year: 2021
Type: Album
The RVMES
Year: 2019
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Darryl Baser

Mad Cow - Single Review: Same Boat
01 Dec 2022 // by Darryl Baser
Same Boat is the latest single to be released Taranaki 3-piece Mad Cow. Mad Cow are mainstays of the New Plymouth have been around since the 1990’s in the North Island’s music scene, evolving from school band No Comment.
Read More...
The New Existentialists - EP Review: Last Days of the Internet
23 Nov 2022 // by Darryl Baser
It might seem like George D Henderson has been a part of the New Zealand music landscape for about as long as Keith Richards has been playing guitar. He’s been in the Flying Nun arena with The Puddle based in Dunedin.
Read More...
Nika - Single Review: Saviour Complex
03 Nov 2022 // by Darryl Baser
A song with an interesting title will always grab my attention, and the idea of people with a saviour complex has always fascinated me, so when the new song by Nika called Saviour Complex was offered to me to review I almost somersaulted. The song opens with a gently and alluring piano melody before Nika’s voice kicks in and from the first notes some vocal training is obvious.
Read More...
VÏKÆ - EP Review: Love Games
25 Aug 2022 // by Darryl Baser
Veronika Bell, known to music fans as Vikae, has been composing and producing music for a good few years, and is gaining some crossover traction between the dance and pop worlds. While she writes many of her tunes on a piano, and can perform them beautifully with piano and her impressive voice, it is the dance-styled pop versions of her tune which have been garnering her acclaim.
Read More...
Mecuzine - Album Review: Locksmith Thief
21 Jul 2022 // by Darryl Baser
Now that’s a great way to open an album. Bruised and Broken is the first track of Mecuzine’s new album Locksmith Thief, and my god what an epic track to open their new record.
Read More...
Geneva Waves - Single Review: Wild Arrivals
29 May 2022 // by Darryl Baser
Geneva Waves is a one person musical project, based in Tamaki Makaurau/Auckland. Steven Tait is the man behind the moniker, who’s produced this wonderful piece of music.
Read More...
The New Things - EP Review: Pink Chocolate
20 May 2022 // by Darryl Baser
If I had to sum up The New Things four-song EP Pink Chocolate in two words they would be ‘perfectly imperfect’. The New Things are Tina McIvor and Jason Tamihana-Bryce, both have been around the indie music scene for a number of years separately and together; touring Japan a few years back.
Read More...
Tony Jacob - Single Review: Just One Step
11 May 2022 // by Darryl Baser
The 2021 released single Just One Step by Tony Jacob is a sumptuously produced song, with lyrics and a very positive vibe. "You can move on mountains with just one step, you could take the world on with no regrets..
Read More...
View All Articles By Darryl Baser

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • 685 (REMIX)
    Victor J Sefo, Lisi And Mwayz
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem