28 Jan 2023
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Phil Stoodley - Single/Video Review: Shame Shame

08 Mar 2022 // A review by Ben Ruegg

The new single from Phil Stoodley, Shame Shame, is a fantastic track that is not only catchy but has such a vibe to it that you will be hitting repeat over and over. With a solid bass line propping up the main guitar riff, the drums hold it all together and allow for Phil's vocals to sit neatly in place, which by the way sound real and authentic. The slight touch of slap echo and saturation puts it perfectly in the mix.

Not only that, but the quality of the recording, the mixing and the songwriting fit the image of the video aesthetic. It has a classic rock, almost Santana quality to it, but in a way that stays original and fitting. The arrangement and the production of the track could go unnoticed to those who don't care for that sort of thing, but here I am listening and noticing all sorts of decisions that make the track stand out. Like, the drum fill going into the solo and the lack of crash on beat one, or the tone of the fuzzed guitar solo that follows the fill. There are many things here to appreciate while also remaining completely accessible to every single listener out there.

Overall, this is one of those tracks that I feel is immediately a classic and you should check out and add to your playlists.

Watch the video here

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Phil Stoodley

Phil Stoodley has seen his fair share of traveling; whether from stage to stage with a guitar in hand or just jumping borders with a map and a whim, a desire to fill pages with fresh creativity has driven him for the better part of his life.

Phil’s early path as a musician was forged touring across New Zealand both on stage in various bands and off stage working in music production. The early 2000's saw him touring the UK, Europe, the US, and Asia as a session player for one of New Zealand’s best-loved and multi-platinum selling bands The Feelers, which led to a number of successful musical ventures including Phil’s own rock band Stoods and the opening slot for international bands including Velvet Revolver, Simple Minds, and Neil Finn.

Over the years, Phil’s recognition grew with his debut single Waiting For Thursday, a self-produced album No Surprise and his work as co-writer and producer for Hanna Grace's debut album Concrete & Roses and single In The Rain, along with compositions for TV, film, and commercials. 2012 saw the EP release of the electronic project Shaker Zulu - Funking Bell, a collaboration project with New Zealand's piano/ keys extraordinaire Andy Keys.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Phil Stoodley

Releases

No Surprise
Year: 2013
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Swizl Jager - Single/Video Review: Nanny Pia
06 Jan 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
The new track from Swizl Jager, Nanny Pia, is a fantastic new track that will have your head bobbing in a humble way. It's got a great vibe that will have you hitting that repeat button.
Read More...
Dilz - Single/Video Review: I've Been 2
05 Dec 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Dilz' new track I've Been 2 hits hard. With a huge bass sound that doesn't overwhelm as much as it just makes you aware of its power, paired with the chimes as a hook and a powerful trap beat, I would say that this Dilz track is a statement about where he has come from and where he is now.
Read More...
Taiotims - EP Review: Thank You For Your Patience
22 Nov 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Taiotims (Mataio Timaloa) is an Auckland Hip-Hop artist who has independently built a growing fanbase all over New Zealand. His music is known for his relatable story telling, nostalgic tone of voice and his soulful beats.
Read More...
Eliezer - Single Review: Certified Professional Dreamer
14 Oct 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Eliezer is back after a little while with his new track Certified Professional Dreamer. Produced with long-time collaborator Ten Oh, the track continues to show why Eliezer is name you need to stay aware of.
Read More...
Teazse - Single Review: Love, Money Or Drugs
14 Oct 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
The new single from Teazse, an independent rap artist from Auckland, brings a lot of what people like about modern hip hop and brings it into his own world, while still acknowledging the sound of those that came before. For example, the sampled pitched voice works well when used well, and it's done here well.
Read More...
Scalper - Single Review: I'm Life Feat Nawazish Ali Khan
14 Oct 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Scalper is Nadeem Shafi, born and raised in East London of Pakistani descent. First seen in Aotearoa New Zealand at WOMAD 1997 as the vocalist for the British band Fun-da-mental.
Read More...
Album Review: Leejunardo Da Vinci
03 Oct 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Leejun is a Hip-Hop R&B Artist who lives and works in the 03 Christchurch, New Zealand. His complex lyricism and smooth delivery alongside his soulful singing voice reflect the amount of time he's dedicated to working on his craft.
Read More...
CACO - EP Review: Chisme
21 Sep 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
CACO is a 23-year-old South Auckland raised Iraqi. Over the last 6 years, CACO has become an all-encompassing musical artist; producing, mixing, mastering, writing and recording the near extent of his 30+ track catalogue.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FLOWERS
    Miley Cyrus
  • KILL BILL
    SZA
  • ESCAPISM.
    RAYE feat. 070 Shake
  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • SURE THING
    Miguel
  • PEOPLE
    Libianca
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CREEPIN'
    Metro Boomin, The Weeknd And 21 Savage
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem