30 Jan 2023
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Tryonics - Single Review: Hey

08 Feb 2022 // A review by Darryl Baser

Tryonics is the solo project of Hap Richardson, formerly of My Little Pony, Go Victim and Freezer Child.

And that’s about there is to know about Tryonics, apart from a growing catalogue of tunes.

The latest in the tune in the one man band’s catalogue, and it’s a dead-set banger, simply called Hey.

The song starts as it continues, with an up-tempo groove, and a solid back-beat at more than 100 bpm, angular guitars spasm and punctuate, sometimes on the ones and threes, sometimes in counterpoint. Hap’s voice is in the mix, not prominent enough to make all the words clear.

You know how pigeon-holing music into categories is odious, well, it is genuinely bloody hard to put this song into a box. If I had to call it anything apart from ‘brilliant’, ‘addictive’ or a ‘banger’, I’d use words like a great blend of up-tempo groove with great smatterings of angular post punk.

It is a song that if radio or the interwebs picked it up it could blow up huge.

At 2:23 long it is the type of song which can easily be played many times in a row.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Tryonics

Tryonics is the solo project of Hap Richardson, formerly of My Little Pony, Go Victim and Freezer Child.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Tryonics

Releases

Fragmented
Year: 2022
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Darryl Baser

MEDaL - Album Review: Sequela
14 Dec 2022 // by Darryl Baser
Christchurch trio MEDaL are a combination of many years of New Zealand musical history. Singer and guitar slinger David Mulcahy was in JPSE and Superette, bass player John Billows has spent time with The Renderers and Dark Matter and drummer Mark Whyte is part of Into The Void.
Read More...
The Bobby Holidays - Album Review: At The Beach
13 Dec 2022 // by Darryl Baser
The Bobby Holidays' At The Beach opens with the song Jane, syncopation is to the fore with a great horn section blowing against bass, drums and guitar. The song has an up tempo happy summer vibe.
Read More...
Mad Cow - Single Review: Same Boat
01 Dec 2022 // by Darryl Baser
Same Boat is the latest single to be released Taranaki 3-piece Mad Cow. Mad Cow are mainstays of the New Plymouth have been around since the 1990’s in the North Island’s music scene, evolving from school band No Comment.
Read More...
The New Existentialists - EP Review: Last Days of the Internet
23 Nov 2022 // by Darryl Baser
It might seem like George D Henderson has been a part of the New Zealand music landscape for about as long as Keith Richards has been playing guitar. He’s been in the Flying Nun arena with The Puddle based in Dunedin.
Read More...
Nika - Single Review: Saviour Complex
03 Nov 2022 // by Darryl Baser
A song with an interesting title will always grab my attention, and the idea of people with a saviour complex has always fascinated me, so when the new song by Nika called Saviour Complex was offered to me to review I almost somersaulted. The song opens with a gently and alluring piano melody before Nika’s voice kicks in and from the first notes some vocal training is obvious.
Read More...
The RVMES - Single Review: Simple Things
05 Oct 2022 // by Darryl Baser
Oh My God. There are bangers then there’s this tune.
Read More...
VÏKÆ - EP Review: Love Games
25 Aug 2022 // by Darryl Baser
Veronika Bell, known to music fans as Vikae, has been composing and producing music for a good few years, and is gaining some crossover traction between the dance and pop worlds. While she writes many of her tunes on a piano, and can perform them beautifully with piano and her impressive voice, it is the dance-styled pop versions of her tune which have been garnering her acclaim.
Read More...
Mecuzine - Album Review: Locksmith Thief
21 Jul 2022 // by Darryl Baser
Now that’s a great way to open an album. Bruised and Broken is the first track of Mecuzine’s new album Locksmith Thief, and my god what an epic track to open their new record.
Read More...
View All Articles By Darryl Baser

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FLOWERS
    Miley Cyrus
  • KILL BILL
    SZA
  • ESCAPISM.
    RAYE feat. 070 Shake
  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • SURE THING
    Miguel
  • PEOPLE
    Libianca
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CREEPIN'
    Metro Boomin, The Weeknd And 21 Savage
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem