28 Feb 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Trip Change - Single Review: Never Seen A Boy Like Me

24 Jan 2022 // A review by Chris Chick

It is not hard to know that I am fan of all music, I think the ability to pick up a musical instrument and compose a song is impressive. The intricacies of bringing many parts together and making the final product sound so good is beyond my capabilities. To bring many different genres of music together and pull it off with surprisingly amazing results is something to be extremely proud of, and low and behold, I think Trip Change have just gone and done it.

This song is so good on so many levels, I could just leave it like that and trust that you will go out of your way to listen to it, but that is not why I am paid the big bucks (That statement was false, I get paid with hugs and kind words) When I first played this song, the cute intro really had wondering where this song was going to go, I like that, I felt like I was Dungeons and Dragons again. When the melodic ska beat and deep bass line hit my listeners, I was ready for a good head bobbing, you cannot help it, it is like watching Leo Messi pick up the ball from the halfway line and start running at defenders, the magic is about to happen. Being in Aotearoa I feel my analogy of an Argentinian Footballer does no justice, so imagine an in form Beauden Barrett gliding through an Australian defence.

This song sounds better and better the more I listen to it, especially when the sun is breaking through the clouds after a heavy rainfall. The changes of sound are seamless throughout the song with a Latin inspired number coming in at the end just to remind your hips that there is a lot of moving still to come. Music should have the ability to change your mood, and this does a cracking job of doing that, I cannot imagine anyone listening to this and not smiling at the end. I have created a point system based on songs I review; on subjects I think are important.

Hip Shaking – 9 out of 10 without a doubt, I almost had to call the emergency services in for a full hip replacement.

Buy Grandma a Copy? – 8 out of 10, she always loved a good heart-warming love story about that courting stage.

Party Starter – 8 out of 10, I would not be afraid of putting this song on during a party of people I did not know, and if they complained? Shame on them.

Great song, great vibes and very excited to hear the album. Taranaki just keeps pumping out good bands, it must be the water, or lack of, who knows. Get this song and give as much loves as you can to this band, just simply awesome.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Trip Change

Trip Change is an originals band from Taranaki bringing you tasty organic sounds from the soul. Join us on this party to purify the soul; journey through sound, light and groove freshly distilled from Maunga Taranaki to the sea, and everywhere in between.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Trip Change

Releases

There are no releases to display for Trip Change.

Other Reviews By Chris Chick

Ravenhall - Album Review: Brother
09 Feb 2024 // by Chris Chick
Listening to music should evoke an emotional response, to evoke a response that is both positive and uplifting is very difficult to do. I am sure those at the top of their game can argue that it is a talent that comes easy to them, but all the unseen variables that come into play through just living, making friends, going through the highs and lows of life.
Read More...
Furniss Brothers - Album Review: Drift Away
08 Dec 2023 // by Chris Chick
The Furniss Brothers comes to us with the 12-track album Drift Away, which is really apropos to how my mind felt whilst listening to this beauty. I am not going to lie, at one point I was so relaxed, I feared my heart had stopped.
Read More...
Lost Tribe Aotearoa - EP Review: Lost & Found
14 Jun 2023 // by Chris Chick
I am a true ‘noob’ when it comes to the Lost Tribe Aotearoa, so I can assure you and the band that this will be as unbiased as possible. After hearing the first song, I think it is going to be hard to stay that way all the way through this review.
Read More...
Late to Chelsea - EP Review: LTC
17 Feb 2023 // by Chris Chick
When it comes to the soundtrack of anyone’s life, I am pretty sure the counter cultural sounds and motives of the punk movement would have influenced you at some time. Every generation needs its punk bands even if it's just the opportunity to not take yourself too seriously and enjoy the madness that is life and music.
Read More...
Corrella - Single Review: Skankin
09 Dec 2022 // by Chris Chick
Oh yes, the summer vibes are in town and Corrella is starting the skank off without delay. Is there any other type of music that reflects New Zealand during the summertime as the ska/reggae vibes that permeated from the West Indies.
Read More...
EP Review: Bird Machine
24 Nov 2022 // by Chris Chick
Bird Machine are releasing their self-titled EP, the twosome brings a vibe of a New Zealand and Australian alt rock and dream pop to your ears. All these songs are remarkably performed, recorded, and produced from their home-based studio in the wonderful city of Hamilton.
Read More...
The Black Seeds - Album Review: Love & Fire
15 Jul 2022 // by Chris Chick
What a privilege it is to review a legendary band that is The Black Seeds. The band has been entertaining and soothing the ears of many a listener now since 1998.
Read More...
The Hootz - Single Review: Stay Away
06 May 2022 // by Chris Chick
Hailing from the Garden City and just a short 15-minute drive from yours truly, the 4-piece band known as The Hootz are releasing their upcoming single Stay Away. This song has a very melancholy vibe to it, but not in the sense of it being a negative thing, if anything it has a very Summer vibe feel to it.
Read More...
View All Articles By Chris Chick

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • TEXAS HOLD 'EM
    Beyonce
  • PRAISE JAH IN THE MOONLIGHT
    YG Marley
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • STICK SEASON
    Noah Kahan
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • LOVIN ON ME
    Jack Harlow
  • CRUEL SUMMER
    Taylor Swift
  • GREEDY
    Tate McRae
  • SNOOZE
    SZA
  • TRAINING SEASON
    Dua Lipa
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem