29 Jan 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Night Bus - Single Review: Fine Lines

29 Dec 2021 // A review by Ben Ruegg

The latest track Fine Lines from self-described electronic bedroom pop artist Night Bus is a chill affair. It is a song that builds upon a simple melodic idea and explores it while a consistent beat runs through the background.

Without there being any vocals to drive the song, there is still an identifiable structure through the use of layering the different instrumental parts. It is a track that I enjoyed just chilling to, reading a book and letting the music do its thing.

Overall, the simplistic nature of the track is not a negative thing at all. Quite the contrary. It allows that melodic idea to slowly develop and build up and make its way back down again. With hints of groups like Kraftwerk and Daft Punk at times coming through, I believe this is a song that would appeal to anyone who is interested in electronic music.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Night Bus

Lo-fi, electronic bedroom pop from elusive Wellington figure.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Night Bus

Releases

There are no releases to display for Night Bus.

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Old Salts - Single Review: Take a Breather
27 Jan 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Old Salts are an alternative rock band that are set to leave listeners buzzed with the release of their debut single Take a Breather.Citing influences as Primus and Them Crooked Vultures, you can definitely hear this in the way the song, not only sounds but how it is written and arranged.
Read More...
Justin Sane - Album Review: Rising w/ Huz
29 Dec 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Justin Sane has been DJing at clubs and events around the world since 1997, released countless remixes and bootlegs on numerous labels, hosted Party Hard Mix on The Edge for 5 years and had singles in the Top 20 New Zealand Singles Chart. In 2020, Justin Sane again teamed up with fellow singer/Songwriter Huz and began releasing music again, both tracks of which ended up in the #3 dance singles on iTunes and in the Top 30 overall NZ singles, one reaching the #10 spot.
Read More...
Stu J - Single Review: Destination Unknown
29 Dec 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
A Kiwi-born musician, producer and DJ, Stu J loves to create energetic, up-beat indie-dance songs which have an electronic feel, but still include the best parts of rock and pop. His current music feels similar to artists like MGMT and Empire of the Sun.
Read More...
SuperFly Killa - Single Review: Hold I Down
10 Dec 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
A vast array of interests, influences, and experiences have come together in an amalgamation of soul, reggae, Dub, and rock. SuperFly Killa are a fresh new sound who reside on the sunny shores of Gisborne, NZHold I Down is a fantastic, fantastic track!
Read More...
Rei - Album Review: Enjoy The Ride
29 Nov 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Enjoy The Ride showcases Rei’s diversity and prowess as a musician and producer with its mix of rap, pop, R&B and UK flavour, it’s a fusion of innovative styles. Written over the past 2 years, mixed and mastered by Kog Studio’s Chris Chetland and supported by NZ On Air, this project is a musical ride in itself.
Read More...
EP Review: Will McClean and The Zooks - Live At The Surgery
06 Nov 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Will McClean and The Zooks - Live At The Surgery EP is a hat tip to live hip-hop. The band is super tight with wonderful guitar licks working wonderfully over top of the rhythm section.
Read More...
Cking - Single/Video Review: No Snakes Feat. Dilz
21 Oct 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Cking is the Brisbane-based, New Zealand-bred rapper who’s eclectic catalogue of hits has seen him share the stage with everyone from T-Pain to Kerser, and now, he’s linked up with fellow NZ emcee Dilz for a hard-hitting banger, No Snakes. Cking and Dilz each come lyrically strapped with passionate and emotive verses, matching the energy of the rapid-fire, earth-rattling production alongside them.
Read More...
Dallas Harvey - Single Review: Patience
20 Oct 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Auckland City’s up and coming Hip-Hop artist Dallas Harvey is a breath of fresh air with his honest lyricism, piecing his life together through story-telling and music. Mentored by the likes of Church from Church & AP, Chris RL and Melodownz, Dallas has built a well-versed understanding of self throughout his development at Te Karanga Navigators songwriting and production sessions.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DOWN UNDER
    Luude feat. Colin Hay
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • MR REGGAE
    L.A.B.
  • ABCDEFU
    GAYLE
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • FINGERS CROSSED
    Lauren Spencer-Smith
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem