6 Feb 2023
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Night Bus - Single Review: Fine Lines

29 Dec 2021 // A review by Ben Ruegg

The latest track Fine Lines from self-described electronic bedroom pop artist Night Bus is a chill affair. It is a song that builds upon a simple melodic idea and explores it while a consistent beat runs through the background.

Without there being any vocals to drive the song, there is still an identifiable structure through the use of layering the different instrumental parts. It is a track that I enjoyed just chilling to, reading a book and letting the music do its thing.

Overall, the simplistic nature of the track is not a negative thing at all. Quite the contrary. It allows that melodic idea to slowly develop and build up and make its way back down again. With hints of groups like Kraftwerk and Daft Punk at times coming through, I believe this is a song that would appeal to anyone who is interested in electronic music.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Night Bus

Lo-fi, electronic bedroom pop from elusive Wellington figure.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Night Bus

Releases

There are no releases to display for Night Bus.

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Swizl Jager - Single/Video Review: Nanny Pia
06 Jan 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
The new track from Swizl Jager, Nanny Pia, is a fantastic new track that will have your head bobbing in a humble way. It's got a great vibe that will have you hitting that repeat button.
Read More...
Dilz - Single/Video Review: I've Been 2
05 Dec 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Dilz' new track I've Been 2 hits hard. With a huge bass sound that doesn't overwhelm as much as it just makes you aware of its power, paired with the chimes as a hook and a powerful trap beat, I would say that this Dilz track is a statement about where he has come from and where he is now.
Read More...
Taiotims - EP Review: Thank You For Your Patience
22 Nov 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Taiotims (Mataio Timaloa) is an Auckland Hip-Hop artist who has independently built a growing fanbase all over New Zealand. His music is known for his relatable story telling, nostalgic tone of voice and his soulful beats.
Read More...
Eliezer - Single Review: Certified Professional Dreamer
14 Oct 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Eliezer is back after a little while with his new track Certified Professional Dreamer. Produced with long-time collaborator Ten Oh, the track continues to show why Eliezer is name you need to stay aware of.
Read More...
Teazse - Single Review: Love, Money Or Drugs
14 Oct 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
The new single from Teazse, an independent rap artist from Auckland, brings a lot of what people like about modern hip hop and brings it into his own world, while still acknowledging the sound of those that came before. For example, the sampled pitched voice works well when used well, and it's done here well.
Read More...
Scalper - Single Review: I'm Life Feat Nawazish Ali Khan
14 Oct 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Scalper is Nadeem Shafi, born and raised in East London of Pakistani descent. First seen in Aotearoa New Zealand at WOMAD 1997 as the vocalist for the British band Fun-da-mental.
Read More...
Album Review: Leejunardo Da Vinci
03 Oct 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Leejun is a Hip-Hop R&B Artist who lives and works in the 03 Christchurch, New Zealand. His complex lyricism and smooth delivery alongside his soulful singing voice reflect the amount of time he's dedicated to working on his craft.
Read More...
CACO - EP Review: Chisme
21 Sep 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
CACO is a 23-year-old South Auckland raised Iraqi. Over the last 6 years, CACO has become an all-encompassing musical artist; producing, mixing, mastering, writing and recording the near extent of his 30+ track catalogue.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FLOWERS
    Miley Cyrus
  • KILL BILL
    SZA
  • ESCAPISM.
    RAYE feat. 070 Shake
  • SURE THING
    Miguel
  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • PLAYERS
    Coi Leray
  • PEOPLE
    Libianca
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • CREEPIN'
    Metro Boomin, The Weeknd And 21 Savage
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem