23 Jan 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Craig Payne - Album Review: A Long Time Coming

23 Dec 2021 // A review by Paul Goddard

Life's a journey.


Different phases, ranging from feeling bulletproof to feeling paranoid to eventually feeling resigned to whatever happens.


Craig is on that journey and has been for a while. He has watched and he has swum in the murky waters of life.

Often the best timeless music is made by people who have spent plenty of time living on this spinning rock.

Craig Payne has decided to share his journey warts and all. Not offering solutions to the hassles we all face, just his experiences and reactions to everything life offers be it good or bad. This musical journey is one with deep roots dug deep into the past that secure him to a safe middle of the road track. There's nothing dangerous or scary here just a soul looking inwards as the world passes by outside.

This album is a reflection of a journey full of ups and downs, and it's delivered with wisdom and the knowledge that although we can’t control everything in life, we can control how we react to what happens.

Craig has picked up some passengers on his journey. Communication Overload is a conversation that could have been shared by David Bowie if twisted through a spiders from Mars blender.

It looks like Craig also got pulled over by a skanky cop resulting in the Fun Police having their day.

There is plenty of music coming from Craig's radio as he travels. To say that Classic Hits FM is the preferred station might be accurate but also lazy.

There is more.

The album moves between the 50’s and 60’s all with with a good heavy dose of good old rock ‘n’ roll.

Craig's stories are delivered simply, clearly, and as a storyteller each segment of this roadmap connects.

Take a listen and share in Craig's journey. It will help you reflect on where you are right now.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Craig Payne

For full bio, news, tracks, releases and to sign up for our newsletter please visit www.craigpaynemusic.org




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Craig Payne

Releases

I'm Not Giving The Game Away
Year: 2021
Type: Album
A Long Time Coming
Year: 2021
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

FRE3DOM - Single Review: On and On
20 Sep 2021 // by Paul Goddard
Who is pissed off right now? No?
Read More...
Captain Festus McBoyle's Travellin' Variety Show - Single/Video Review: Love Song 4 Lucy
06 Sep 2021 // by Paul Goddard
Sometimes we need a distraction, and a reminder of the basic core reasons as to why we exist.Sometimes, perhaps now more than ever, we need to be reminded of the simple joy that comes with being who we are and of the love that we share with other people.
Read More...
Album Review: Thunderground
18 Mar 2021 // by Paul Goddard
Headphones in, let's go.So the drummer keeps beat, guitars wail and scream, the singer....
Read More...
FRE3DOM - Single Review: Back To The Beginning
12 Mar 2021 // by Paul Goddard
Looking back to move forward. Musicians have done this from the beginning.
Read More...
Dark Water - Single Review: Seas of Fallen Concern
21 Jan 2021 // by Paul Goddard
I like to be transported. Moved to a different place.
Read More...
Manzo - Single Review: Working Class Hero (John Lennon Cover)
05 Dec 2020 // by Paul Goddard
In 1946 John Lennon almost became a Kiwi. His estranged father took him to Blackpool with the intention of heading over with John to start a new life in NZ.
Read More...
The Avondale Spiders - Single Review: Black Magik Pills
05 Nov 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Do you miss anything at the moment?The world is in a crazy place and it is easy to not want to look forward when the future doesn’t look so bright.
Read More...
Coffin Club - Single Review: Gaslight
08 Oct 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Gaslight (or rather Gaslighting) has become a bit of a buzz word recently and sits perfectly as the title for this short sharp shock of fuzzed up punk from Auckland three piece Coffin Club.Unlike a real Gaslight, this song is no slow burner.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DOWN UNDER
    Luude feat. Colin Hay
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • MR REGGAE
    L.A.B.
  • ABCDEFU
    GAYLE
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • FINGERS CROSSED
    Lauren Spencer-Smith
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem