19 Jun 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Skitch Hiker - Single Review: Slippery Wet Handshake

30 Jun 2023 // A review by Paul Goddard

Wow.

Just when you have given up on music and banging your head against a brick wall wondering why Taylor Swift is more popular than toilet roll during a pandemic something like this comes along.

Something to remind you how important music is and why the connection it creates is at the core of who we are.

Music is all about connection and emotion.

How it makes you feel. 

This song by this band took me completely by surprise and fired me up more than a Tesla whose batteries are about to catch fire.

Simple lyrics wrapped around a twisted nursery rhyme rhythm delivered as if Monster Magnet had sniffed a few lines rather than dropped a few tabs. Like all good music, it left me wanting to hear more. Wondering where this was coming from?

Anger is an energy and energy is what drives this tune into your brain but there is more to it than that.NZ has had plenty of bands with energy in spades, Shihad, The D4, The Mint Chicks, and more and like Skitch Hiker they all had/have something else.

You won't hear Slippery Wet Handshake on More FM or The Edge nor will you see Skitch Hiker supporting Six60 at Western Springs.

Skitch Hiker are bigger/better than that.

It (Skitch Hiker) needs to travel beyond the borders.

There are people all over the world ready to connect.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Skitch Hiker

Formed in 2020, Skitch Hiker features members Jonathan Ashwell, Luke Dickens and Chops McWatters. Over the course of the year they experimented with a plethora of creative ideas brought by each member, and their sound now reflects the punching, rich dark howls of bands like Black Sabbath, Soundgarden, Led Zeppelin to name a few. A blend of anti-war themes with dark, sardonic, surrealist humour make Skitch Hiker's identity completely their own.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Skitch Hiker

Releases

There are no releases to display for Skitch Hiker.

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

The Dirty Tones - Album Review: Sweet Thang
23 May 2024 // by Paul Goddard
For me, Blues music is the real soul music. It has storytelling like Country and folk music and passion like Rock music, but at its core it gives a window into the soul of the people creating it.
Read More...
Sam Cullen - EP Review: Love Again
18 Apr 2024 // by Paul Goddard
When I first heard this brand-new EP from Invercargill native Sam Cullen, I was immediately reminded of another famous Sam who has an equally famous last name (Fender).The four songs on the Love Again EP  have a familiarity and similarity with roots going back to Springsteen and the well-trodden stadium rock road but there is also something in the songs on Love Again that could only be grown in New Zealand.
Read More...
Retro Valley - Single Review: Backseat Lovers
19 May 2023 // by Paul Goddard
Right from the opening bars of Backseat Lovers by Hamilton-based Retro Valley it is clear that this song is pure class.This 3-minute tune is a next-level lesson in how to create, perform and produce a pop/indie classic.
Read More...
Murmur Tooth and Lars Moston - Album Review: No Time To Explain
19 May 2023 // by Paul Goddard
Collaborations can work. Sometimes they do most of the time they don't.
Read More...
Album Review: Sex Dad's Greatest Hits: The Very Best Of Sex Dad
27 Dec 2022 // by Paul Goddard
Feeling bloated and underwhelmed. Listening to mainstream radio in the car as I left my phone at home.
Read More...
Marrow Neck - EP Review: Made Up
23 Nov 2022 // by Paul Goddard
Sitting here in a very wet and cold, rainy UK watching the oldies falling out of the local Wetherspoons where they have been on the piss since 9am (yep the UK is weird it's only the old people who can afford to get pissed all day).I am reflecting on the past as I listen to the latest EP Made Up from Auckland-based Mark Hannington.
Read More...
Amanaki - EP Review: Tempest
03 Nov 2022 // by Paul Goddard
Hardcore.It tends to mean extreme.
Read More...
Big Scout - Album Review: Council Sport
18 Aug 2022 // by Paul Goddard
It’s finally here. The first Long Player from Blenheim noisy buggers Big Scout.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • HOUDINI
    Eminem
  • MILLION DOLLAR BABY
    Tommy Richman
  • PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • BIRDS OF A FEATHER
    Billie Eilish
  • ESPRESSO
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • A BAR SONG (TIPSY)
    Shaboozey
  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • I HAD SOME HELP
    Post Malone feat. Morgan Wallen
  • NOT LIKE US
    Kendrick Lamar
  • LUNCH
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem