29 Feb 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Mini Simmons - Single Review: Railroad For Two

01 Nov 2021 // A review by Chris Chick
I had the privilege of listening to another cracking song by Mini Simmons. Their latest release Railroad For Two hit my ears and I am happy to say, my heart was warmed by such a melodic and poignant song that is perfect for any setting where peace and calm are the order of the day.


The song starts with a beautiful sounding piano piece that really sets the scene in terms of where your head space is about to be carted off to, and believe me when I tell you, it is good, it is really good. Like all good songs, conjuring up memories of years gone by is a must, the song really grips me when the line about English dew on the train platform takes me back to those wet, miserable days in London when growing up. Surprisingly though, my mood is not dampened one bit, on the contrast, the song uplifts me in a way that reminds me of my new home here in New Zealand. So on a personal note, thank you Mini Simmons for unlocking some personal gratitude.

I really love the simplicity of this song, it does not feel laboured or too long. At just over four minutes long, it has enough life in it to make it a good amount of time to squeeze every last iota of goodness from its belly. Mini Simmons continue to release really sold numbers in my humble opinion, I am willing to go toe to toe with anyone who thinks otherwise, though in a peaceful, nonviolent way, and preferably, whilst listening to this song.

Get yourself involved and have a listen, you will not be disappointed, this gets a very healthy 3 ½ out of 5 stars for me.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Mini Simmons

Mini Simmons is an Auckland based Rock n Roll band dreamed up on the Pacific Highways of Mexico in 2017.

Over the past two years, the band have established themselves firmly as one of the premier live acts in the NZ music scene, gracing the stages of Rhythm & Vines, Splore, Soundsplash and Nest Fest. They were a guest performer of Benee’s Soaked at the 2019 APRA Silver Scrolls, have been booked as the support act for The Darkness, and have headlined their own successful tours of Australia & New Zealand.

2019 saw Mini Simmons release their debut, self-titled Album to critical acclaim, with internationally renowned Classic Rock Magazine praising the "sunkissed bath of gorgeous harmonies" on their lead single A Way With Murder. The band's debut album was the first to be pressed to vinyl in NZ for over 30 years, selling out the first press of 150 copies in under a week.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Mini Simmons

Releases

Make Up
Year: 2023
Type: Album
Mini Simmons
Year: 2019
Type: Album
Whisky and The Witch
Year: 2017
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Chris Chick

Ravenhall - Album Review: Brother
09 Feb 2024 // by Chris Chick
Listening to music should evoke an emotional response, to evoke a response that is both positive and uplifting is very difficult to do. I am sure those at the top of their game can argue that it is a talent that comes easy to them, but all the unseen variables that come into play through just living, making friends, going through the highs and lows of life.
Read More...
Furniss Brothers - Album Review: Drift Away
08 Dec 2023 // by Chris Chick
The Furniss Brothers comes to us with the 12-track album Drift Away, which is really apropos to how my mind felt whilst listening to this beauty. I am not going to lie, at one point I was so relaxed, I feared my heart had stopped.
Read More...
Lost Tribe Aotearoa - EP Review: Lost & Found
14 Jun 2023 // by Chris Chick
I am a true ‘noob’ when it comes to the Lost Tribe Aotearoa, so I can assure you and the band that this will be as unbiased as possible. After hearing the first song, I think it is going to be hard to stay that way all the way through this review.
Read More...
Late to Chelsea - EP Review: LTC
17 Feb 2023 // by Chris Chick
When it comes to the soundtrack of anyone’s life, I am pretty sure the counter cultural sounds and motives of the punk movement would have influenced you at some time. Every generation needs its punk bands even if it's just the opportunity to not take yourself too seriously and enjoy the madness that is life and music.
Read More...
Corrella - Single Review: Skankin
09 Dec 2022 // by Chris Chick
Oh yes, the summer vibes are in town and Corrella is starting the skank off without delay. Is there any other type of music that reflects New Zealand during the summertime as the ska/reggae vibes that permeated from the West Indies.
Read More...
EP Review: Bird Machine
24 Nov 2022 // by Chris Chick
Bird Machine are releasing their self-titled EP, the twosome brings a vibe of a New Zealand and Australian alt rock and dream pop to your ears. All these songs are remarkably performed, recorded, and produced from their home-based studio in the wonderful city of Hamilton.
Read More...
The Black Seeds - Album Review: Love & Fire
15 Jul 2022 // by Chris Chick
What a privilege it is to review a legendary band that is The Black Seeds. The band has been entertaining and soothing the ears of many a listener now since 1998.
Read More...
The Hootz - Single Review: Stay Away
06 May 2022 // by Chris Chick
Hailing from the Garden City and just a short 15-minute drive from yours truly, the 4-piece band known as The Hootz are releasing their upcoming single Stay Away. This song has a very melancholy vibe to it, but not in the sense of it being a negative thing, if anything it has a very Summer vibe feel to it.
Read More...
View All Articles By Chris Chick

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • TEXAS HOLD 'EM
    Beyonce
  • PRAISE JAH IN THE MOONLIGHT
    YG Marley
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • STICK SEASON
    Noah Kahan
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • LOVIN ON ME
    Jack Harlow
  • CRUEL SUMMER
    Taylor Swift
  • GREEDY
    Tate McRae
  • SNOOZE
    SZA
  • TRAINING SEASON
    Dua Lipa
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem