29 Nov 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Mini Simmons - Single Review: Railroad For Two

01 Nov 2021 // A review by Chris Chick
I had the privilege of listening to another cracking song by Mini Simmons. Their latest release Railroad For Two hit my ears and I am happy to say, my heart was warmed by such a melodic and poignant song that is perfect for any setting where peace and calm are the order of the day.


The song starts with a beautiful sounding piano piece that really sets the scene in terms of where your head space is about to be carted off to, and believe me when I tell you, it is good, it is really good. Like all good songs, conjuring up memories of years gone by is a must, the song really grips me when the line about English dew on the train platform takes me back to those wet, miserable days in London when growing up. Surprisingly though, my mood is not dampened one bit, on the contrast, the song uplifts me in a way that reminds me of my new home here in New Zealand. So on a personal note, thank you Mini Simmons for unlocking some personal gratitude.

I really love the simplicity of this song, it does not feel laboured or too long. At just over four minutes long, it has enough life in it to make it a good amount of time to squeeze every last iota of goodness from its belly. Mini Simmons continue to release really sold numbers in my humble opinion, I am willing to go toe to toe with anyone who thinks otherwise, though in a peaceful, nonviolent way, and preferably, whilst listening to this song.

Get yourself involved and have a listen, you will not be disappointed, this gets a very healthy 3 ½ out of 5 stars for me.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Mini Simmons

Mini Simmons is an Auckland based Rock n Roll band dreamed up on the Pacific Highways of Mexico in 2017.

Over the past two years, the band have established themselves firmly as one of the premier live acts in the NZ music scene, gracing the stages of Rhythm & Vines, Splore, Soundsplash and Nest Fest. They were a guest performer of Benee’s Soaked at the 2019 APRA Silver Scrolls, have been booked as the support act for The Darkness, and have headlined their own successful tours of Australia & New Zealand.

2019 saw Mini Simmons release their debut, self-titled Album to critical acclaim, with internationally renowned Classic Rock Magazine praising the "sunkissed bath of gorgeous harmonies" on their lead single A Way With Murder. The band's debut album was the first to be pressed to vinyl in NZ for over 30 years, selling out the first press of 150 copies in under a week.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Mini Simmons

Releases

Mini Simmons
Year: 2019
Type: Album
Whisky and The Witch
Year: 2017
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Chris Chick

EP Review: Bird Machine
24 Nov 2022 // by Chris Chick
Bird Machine are releasing their self-titled EP, the twosome brings a vibe of a New Zealand and Australian alt rock and dream pop to your ears. All these songs are remarkably performed, recorded, and produced from their home-based studio in the wonderful city of Hamilton.
Read More...
The Black Seeds - Album Review: Love & Fire
15 Jul 2022 // by Chris Chick
What a privilege it is to review a legendary band that is The Black Seeds. The band has been entertaining and soothing the ears of many a listener now since 1998.
Read More...
The Hootz - Single Review: Stay Away
06 May 2022 // by Chris Chick
Hailing from the Garden City and just a short 15-minute drive from yours truly, the 4-piece band known as The Hootz are releasing their upcoming single Stay Away. This song has a very melancholy vibe to it, but not in the sense of it being a negative thing, if anything it has a very Summer vibe feel to it.
Read More...
Trip Change - Single Review: Never Seen A Boy Like Me
24 Jan 2022 // by Chris Chick
It is not hard to know that I am fan of all music, I think the ability to pick up a musical instrument and compose a song is impressive. The intricacies of bringing many parts together and making the final product sound so good is beyond my capabilities.
Read More...
Kokomo - Album Review: A Little Something From The Attic
01 Jan 2022 // by Chris Chick
16 Blues songs to review was my mission if I chose to accept it, well naturally I did, otherwise you would not be reading this, but let me just tell you something, was I excited? Oh you can bet your bottom dollar I was.
Read More...
Oceanspace - Single Review: Silver City Rain
01 Sep 2021 // by Chris Chick
Now and again a song comes around that makes you stop and think "well that certainly surprised me". This is in no way a negative connotation, I would hate to think that my initial perspective was one of which, when I was given the task to review this song, I was already looking to the one-star rating.
Read More...
Salt Rock - Single Review: Six Appeal
30 Jul 2021 // by Chris Chick
Any song that has a sultry baseline and some trumpets are always going to grab my listening ear and have me easily fall in love with, that is just how I roll. Salt Rock are a funk-dub group based in Christchurch made up of seven pals doing their thing to the wonderful New Zealand music scene.
Read More...
False Heights - Single Review: Caught Up
21 Jul 2021 // by Chris Chick
The Taupo based pop duo False Heights have released their new single Caught Up and it is a corker. From the get go, the song takes me from the mid-winter blues (as I write this review) to the yearning of a wonderful sun filled summer on its way.
Read More...
View All Articles By Chris Chick

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • 685 (REMIX)
    Victor J Sefo, Lisi And Mwayz
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem