3 Dec 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Mini Simmons - Single Review: Railroad For Two

01 Nov 2021 // A review by Chris Chick
I had the privilege of listening to another cracking song by Mini Simmons. Their latest release Railroad For Two hit my ears and I am happy to say, my heart was warmed by such a melodic and poignant song that is perfect for any setting where peace and calm are the order of the day.


The song starts with a beautiful sounding piano piece that really sets the scene in terms of where your head space is about to be carted off to, and believe me when I tell you, it is good, it is really good. Like all good songs, conjuring up memories of years gone by is a must, the song really grips me when the line about English dew on the train platform takes me back to those wet, miserable days in London when growing up. Surprisingly though, my mood is not dampened one bit, on the contrast, the song uplifts me in a way that reminds me of my new home here in New Zealand. So on a personal note, thank you Mini Simmons for unlocking some personal gratitude.

I really love the simplicity of this song, it does not feel laboured or too long. At just over four minutes long, it has enough life in it to make it a good amount of time to squeeze every last iota of goodness from its belly. Mini Simmons continue to release really sold numbers in my humble opinion, I am willing to go toe to toe with anyone who thinks otherwise, though in a peaceful, nonviolent way, and preferably, whilst listening to this song.

Get yourself involved and have a listen, you will not be disappointed, this gets a very healthy 3 ½ out of 5 stars for me.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Mini Simmons

Mini Simmons is an Auckland based Rock n Roll band dreamed up on the Pacific Highways of Mexico in 2017.

Over the past two years, the band have established themselves firmly as one of the premier live acts in the NZ music scene, gracing the stages of Rhythm & Vines, Splore, Soundsplash and Nest Fest. They were a guest performer of Benee’s Soaked at the 2019 APRA Silver Scrolls, have been booked as the support act for The Darkness, and have headlined their own successful tours of Australia & New Zealand.

2019 saw Mini Simmons release their debut, self-titled Album to critical acclaim, with internationally renowned Classic Rock Magazine praising the "sunkissed bath of gorgeous harmonies" on their lead single A Way With Murder. The band's debut album was the first to be pressed to vinyl in NZ for over 30 years, selling out the first press of 150 copies in under a week.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Mini Simmons

Releases

There are no releases to display for Mini Simmons.

Other Reviews By Chris Chick

Oceanspace - Single Review: Silver City Rain
01 Sep 2021 // by Chris Chick
Now and again a song comes around that makes you stop and think "well that certainly surprised me". This is in no way a negative connotation, I would hate to think that my initial perspective was one of which, when I was given the task to review this song, I was already looking to the one-star rating.
Read More...
Salt Rock - Single Review: Six Appeal
30 Jul 2021 // by Chris Chick
Any song that has a sultry baseline and some trumpets are always going to grab my listening ear and have me easily fall in love with, that is just how I roll. Salt Rock are a funk-dub group based in Christchurch made up of seven pals doing their thing to the wonderful New Zealand music scene.
Read More...
False Heights - Single Review: Caught Up
21 Jul 2021 // by Chris Chick
The Taupo based pop duo False Heights have released their new single Caught Up and it is a corker. From the get go, the song takes me from the mid-winter blues (as I write this review) to the yearning of a wonderful sun filled summer on its way.
Read More...
Album Review: Turkey The Bird
07 Jun 2021 // by Chris Chick
The self-professed ‘Simon & Garfunkel’ of Aotearoa bring their first album to the listening ears of all New Zealanders and let us not beat around the bush, this is a corker of epic proportions. From the steadfast sound of the banjo piercing your ears delightful receptacles, to some rather incredibly smooth harmonies backed up by some rasping bass lines.
Read More...
Banana Mundo - EP Review: Hola
29 Apr 2021 // by Chris Chick
You just know with a name like Banana Mundo that you are in for a good time, as my old man once said to me "Chris, I am short and so is life, we are here for a good time, not a long time". It's a shame he did not have this EP at hand to use it in his timely philosophical saying.
Read More...
MARY. - Single Review: Day To Day
12 Mar 2021 // by Chris Chick
MARY. is the ‘dreamy’ alter ego of the songs creator Stef T, a robust and staunch woman making her way in what can be perceived as a very male orientated world in many aspects.
Read More...
Revulva - Single Review: Sniffly Lady
25 Feb 2021 // by Chris Chick
I had the privilege and honour to review the debut single from Revulva, Sniffly Lady, a song all about the grand boogie on a Saturday night. No matter how old or young you are, the intense anticipation of getting out and amongst the people for a boogie, especially in this day and age, is the great equalizer to the capitalistic machine we all find ourselves under.
Read More...
Bad Llamas - EP Review: Wunderlane
31 Jan 2021 // by Chris Chick
The new 6 track EP Wunderlane by Bad Llamas is a breath of fresh air when it comes to NZ music. Situated down in the depths of Christchurch, this is the band's second EP release after their debut 2019 EP What Even is Bad Llamas.
Read More...
View All Articles By Chris Chick

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • ALL TOO WELL (10 MINUTE VERSION) (TAYLOR'S VERSION)
    Taylor Swift
  • OH MY GOD
    Adele
  • SMOKIN' OUT THE WINDOW
    Silk Sonic
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • I DRINK WINE
    Adele
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • MY LITTLE LOVE
    Adele
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem