22 May 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Y$O - EP Review: Young And Slept On

05 Oct 2021 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Y$O. Note that down. Remember it.

On the final release from one of New Zealand's most exciting collective, the sheer vision and passion put towards every second of this release should not be dismissed. Music is something that can be consumed as just background music or as something you give your attention to. Since attention is the most important thing we have as human beings (I won't start that conversation here), there is a real benefit in putting it all to certain things. So grab some headphones, good ones, find somewhere to chillax and listen to this EP.

Firstly, I want to give a special mention to the mix here. It is out of this world fantastic. I would even go as far as saying that it felt spatial. I wasn't using spatial audio technology, but it felt like the sound was coming everywhere, especially from the interlude Theft. And even then, all the tracks have an aura about them.

A few of these tracks have been released previously (Candy, MIA) but even then, they still sound great and work so well.

Another important mention is the delivery from everyone here. Y$O do not mess around. They are confident and know how to also never take themselves too seriously. It makes for an enjoyable listening experience.

Overall, this is one of the finest hip-hop releases I heard this year and continues to show how talented this group is, and collectively, how incredible NZ Hip-Hop is. Every track here is a stand out track, even the little interludes.

Fantastic stuff from a group that you need to note down and remember.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Y$O

Sam V, JARNA, Aidan Fine and BrokeBoi Ace work in tandem with producers EDY, M4 & CreationKit to form the most exciting young stable of talent in New Zealand. An eclectic blend of R&B and Hip Hop, the Y$O hounds look set to disrupt the airwaves of NZ with their string of upcoming releases. The first being a collaboration between Sam V and Aidan Fine (MIA).

Catch them before it's too late.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Y$O

Releases

Young And $lept On
Year: 2021
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

EP Review: Yung Ludd - Two Tone
13 May 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Born and raised in Lyttelton, Yung Ludd is the rap alias of musician Connor Strati. Having spent some time in Auckland in his twenties, he was exposed to a lot of the underground Hip-Hop scene there which proved to be very influential on his sound.
Read More...
Will McClean - Single Review: Ego Prison
28 Apr 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
I'm getting to hear more Will McClean... yes please!
Read More...
Hans. - EP Review: Kimyuntak
20 Apr 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Hailing from Auckland, New Zealand, Hans. is an exciting Korean artist that has been dubbed by VICE Magazine as "One of the rising stars of New Zealand Hip Hop.
Read More...
Eliezer - Album Review: Diary Entries Vol 1
20 Apr 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
This is a great album. Even at 30 mins long, the overall feel and vibe of it is fantastic.
Read More...
Jeivenchy - Album Review: Fatal Attraction
31 Mar 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Jeivenchy, not to be confused with “Givenchy”, is a singer/songwriter based in Wellington, New Zealand. His debut album Seenzoned introduced his melodramatic lyrics, 80's inspired vocals and catchy choruses.
Read More...
Partyboi Pan - Single Review: Mystical Barz
16 Mar 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Partyboi Pan is the founder of The Mason, a vision to upgrade the very idea of what parties are with the sole purpose of showcasing local passions and talents.His latest track Mystical Barz opens with a dialogue that really sets the mood for the track.
Read More...
Phil Stoodley - Single/Video Review: Shame Shame
08 Mar 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
The new single from Phil Stoodley, Shame Shame, is a fantastic track that is not only catchy but has such a vibe to it that you will be hitting repeat over and over. With a solid bass line propping up the main guitar riff, the drums hold it all together and allow for Phil's vocals to sit neatly in place, which by the way sound real and authentic.
Read More...
Old Salts - Single Review: Take a Breather
27 Jan 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Old Salts are an alternative rock band that are set to leave listeners buzzed with the release of their debut single Take a Breather.Citing influences as Primus and Them Crooked Vultures, you can definitely hear this in the way the song, not only sounds but how it is written and arranged.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • WAIT FOR U
    Future feat. Drake And Tems
  • STARLIGHT
    Dave
  • FRIDAY NIGHT
    King George
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem