19 Sep 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Oceanspace - Single Review: Silver City Rain

01 Sep 2021 // A review by Chris Chick
Now and again a song comes around that makes you stop and think "well that certainly surprised me". This is in no way a negative connotation, I would hate to think that my initial perspective was one of which, when I was given the task to review this song, I was already looking to the one-star rating. In the contrary, this was a pleasant huh! Moment where my expectations were well indulged.


The song starts off with a very nice beat between the bass line and the drummer, which enables the listener to sink deep into their lounging vessel and enjoy the moment. Like all good songs, the ability to take the listener on a journey is a key to its success. After the introduction of an even more serene female voice, it would seem that the song had peaked and would happily play through as it was, but apparently the band had other ideas.

Then, out of nowhere the song takes a sharp right turn, obviously someone forgot to fill up the car and this was the last service for the next 500km. We suddenly hit rock town, now with a male voice and my neck is starting to get sore due to repetitive nodding syndrome which can come across anyone who likes a good rock lick in their songs. This sudden change of direction and beat only uplifts the song to new greatness.

This is a song with a lot of flavour and spice, much like an old school bangers and mash meal, you think it is just going to be another ‘good’ meal, when your mum decides to spice it up with some cayenne pepper. I really like this song, especially for its creativity, it is always hard to just come up with a song premise in the first place, let alone a change of direction, so kudos to you. This gets a strong 7/10 for me and well worth the listen. Oceanspace I salute you and your work.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Oceanspace

Oceanspace is best known for their theatrical performances featuring a genre-bending fusion of electronic dance music with psychedelic surf rock. The seven-piece band's unique sound has underlying elements of specifically engineered sounds using Solfeggio Frequencies scientifically proven to facilitate health and well being. The group aims to break musical conformities and get people from all walks of life moving and grooving as a single collective.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Oceanspace

Releases

There are no releases to display for Oceanspace.

Other Reviews By Chris Chick

Salt Rock - Single Review: Six Appeal
30 Jul 2021 // by Chris Chick
Any song that has a sultry baseline and some trumpets are always going to grab my listening ear and have me easily fall in love with, that is just how I roll. Salt Rock are a funk-dub group based in Christchurch made up of seven pals doing their thing to the wonderful New Zealand music scene.
Read More...
False Heights - Single Review: Caught Up
21 Jul 2021 // by Chris Chick
The Taupo based pop duo False Heights have released their new single Caught Up and it is a corker. From the get go, the song takes me from the mid-winter blues (as I write this review) to the yearning of a wonderful sun filled summer on its way.
Read More...
Album Review: Turkey The Bird
07 Jun 2021 // by Chris Chick
The self-professed ‘Simon & Garfunkel’ of Aotearoa bring their first album to the listening ears of all New Zealanders and let us not beat around the bush, this is a corker of epic proportions. From the steadfast sound of the banjo piercing your ears delightful receptacles, to some rather incredibly smooth harmonies backed up by some rasping bass lines.
Read More...
Banana Mundo - EP Review: Hola
29 Apr 2021 // by Chris Chick
You just know with a name like Banana Mundo that you are in for a good time, as my old man once said to me "Chris, I am short and so is life, we are here for a good time, not a long time". It's a shame he did not have this EP at hand to use it in his timely philosophical saying.
Read More...
MARY. - Single Review: Day To Day
12 Mar 2021 // by Chris Chick
MARY. is the ‘dreamy’ alter ego of the songs creator Stef T, a robust and staunch woman making her way in what can be perceived as a very male orientated world in many aspects.
Read More...
Revulva - Single Review: Sniffly Lady
25 Feb 2021 // by Chris Chick
I had the privilege and honour to review the debut single from Revulva, Sniffly Lady, a song all about the grand boogie on a Saturday night. No matter how old or young you are, the intense anticipation of getting out and amongst the people for a boogie, especially in this day and age, is the great equalizer to the capitalistic machine we all find ourselves under.
Read More...
Bad Llamas - EP Review: Wunderlane
31 Jan 2021 // by Chris Chick
The new 6 track EP Wunderlane by Bad Llamas is a breath of fresh air when it comes to NZ music. Situated down in the depths of Christchurch, this is the band's second EP release after their debut 2019 EP What Even is Bad Llamas.
Read More...
Paul The Kid - Single Review: Palm Trees & Ciggies
08 Dec 2020 // by Chris Chick
If you were wondering what you Summer song was going to be for this year, the year of the 'what the hell just happened' Palm Trees and Ciggies could well be your winner to take you through to the next Winter. Any song that drops a humdinger of a ska/reggae beat is a sure fire way to get noticed by this reviewer, especially as the temperature starts to warm up and the stock of cold ones increases in the fridge.
Read More...
View All Articles By Chris Chick

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • PEPEHA
    Six60
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
  • FAIR TRADE
    Drake feat. Travis Scott
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem