7 Feb 2023
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Oceanspace - Single Review: Silver City Rain

01 Sep 2021 // A review by Chris Chick
Now and again a song comes around that makes you stop and think "well that certainly surprised me". This is in no way a negative connotation, I would hate to think that my initial perspective was one of which, when I was given the task to review this song, I was already looking to the one-star rating. In the contrary, this was a pleasant huh! Moment where my expectations were well indulged.


The song starts off with a very nice beat between the bass line and the drummer, which enables the listener to sink deep into their lounging vessel and enjoy the moment. Like all good songs, the ability to take the listener on a journey is a key to its success. After the introduction of an even more serene female voice, it would seem that the song had peaked and would happily play through as it was, but apparently the band had other ideas.

Then, out of nowhere the song takes a sharp right turn, obviously someone forgot to fill up the car and this was the last service for the next 500km. We suddenly hit rock town, now with a male voice and my neck is starting to get sore due to repetitive nodding syndrome which can come across anyone who likes a good rock lick in their songs. This sudden change of direction and beat only uplifts the song to new greatness.

This is a song with a lot of flavour and spice, much like an old school bangers and mash meal, you think it is just going to be another ‘good’ meal, when your mum decides to spice it up with some cayenne pepper. I really like this song, especially for its creativity, it is always hard to just come up with a song premise in the first place, let alone a change of direction, so kudos to you. This gets a strong 7/10 for me and well worth the listen. Oceanspace I salute you and your work.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Oceanspace

Oceanspace is best known for their theatrical performances featuring a genre-bending fusion of electronic dance music with psychedelic surf rock. The seven-piece band's unique sound has underlying elements of specifically engineered sounds using Solfeggio Frequencies scientifically proven to facilitate health and well being. The group aims to break musical conformities and get people from all walks of life moving and grooving as a single collective.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Oceanspace

Releases

There are no releases to display for Oceanspace.

Other Reviews By Chris Chick

Corrella - Single Review: Skankin
09 Dec 2022 // by Chris Chick
Oh yes, the summer vibes are in town and Corrella is starting the skank off without delay. Is there any other type of music that reflects New Zealand during the summertime as the ska/reggae vibes that permeated from the West Indies.
Read More...
EP Review: Bird Machine
24 Nov 2022 // by Chris Chick
Bird Machine are releasing their self-titled EP, the twosome brings a vibe of a New Zealand and Australian alt rock and dream pop to your ears. All these songs are remarkably performed, recorded, and produced from their home-based studio in the wonderful city of Hamilton.
Read More...
The Black Seeds - Album Review: Love & Fire
15 Jul 2022 // by Chris Chick
What a privilege it is to review a legendary band that is The Black Seeds. The band has been entertaining and soothing the ears of many a listener now since 1998.
Read More...
The Hootz - Single Review: Stay Away
06 May 2022 // by Chris Chick
Hailing from the Garden City and just a short 15-minute drive from yours truly, the 4-piece band known as The Hootz are releasing their upcoming single Stay Away. This song has a very melancholy vibe to it, but not in the sense of it being a negative thing, if anything it has a very Summer vibe feel to it.
Read More...
Trip Change - Single Review: Never Seen A Boy Like Me
24 Jan 2022 // by Chris Chick
It is not hard to know that I am fan of all music, I think the ability to pick up a musical instrument and compose a song is impressive. The intricacies of bringing many parts together and making the final product sound so good is beyond my capabilities.
Read More...
Kokomo - Album Review: A Little Something From The Attic
01 Jan 2022 // by Chris Chick
16 Blues songs to review was my mission if I chose to accept it, well naturally I did, otherwise you would not be reading this, but let me just tell you something, was I excited? Oh you can bet your bottom dollar I was.
Read More...
Mini Simmons - Single Review: Railroad For Two
01 Nov 2021 // by Chris Chick
I had the privilege of listening to another cracking song by Mini Simmons. Their latest release Railroad For Two hit my ears and I am happy to say, my heart was warmed by such a melodic and poignant song that is perfect for any setting where peace and calm are the order of the day.
Read More...
Salt Rock - Single Review: Six Appeal
30 Jul 2021 // by Chris Chick
Any song that has a sultry baseline and some trumpets are always going to grab my listening ear and have me easily fall in love with, that is just how I roll. Salt Rock are a funk-dub group based in Christchurch made up of seven pals doing their thing to the wonderful New Zealand music scene.
Read More...
View All Articles By Chris Chick

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FLOWERS
    Miley Cyrus
  • KILL BILL
    SZA
  • ESCAPISM.
    RAYE feat. 070 Shake
  • SURE THING
    Miguel
  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • PLAYERS
    Coi Leray
  • PEOPLE
    Libianca
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • CREEPIN'
    Metro Boomin, The Weeknd And 21 Savage
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem