27 Jan 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Goodlynx - Single/Video Review: Purple Blue

10 Aug 2021 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Starting Purple Blue off with a real honest vibe is the sound of a major 7th on a guitar. This interval sets a tone and mood that allows Goodlynx to be direct and honest with his audience. He is not yelling or screaming. He is just being real and honest. And this shows even with his music video, filmed in one take on a beach. It's a wonderful video of one man just being himself. As his biography states, he is your friendly neighbour.

Goodlynx (Timofei Khoptiuk) is a Russian-born rapper, singer, songwriter, who produces and engineers all of his music by himself in his small studio apartment in Auckland. Tim makes music that allows him to express himself and I feel this down-to-earth track really does it. Do not come into this track expecting a super huge chorus or anything, because, frankly, it doesn't need it.

With Jade Lewis providing vocal in the chorus, the track is a simple but honest song that showcases who Goodlynx is. "Take care of yourself, your mind, and your body, once you love yourself you can love somebody." Sit back, vibe. Even ride on public transport, look out the window with your headphones on cancelling out the world and just vibe.


Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Goodlynx

Goodlynx (Timofei Khoptiuk) is a Russian born rapper, singer, songwriter, who produces and engineers all of his music by himself in his small studio apartment in Auckland. At the age of 19, Tim realized that music was always the only outlet through which he can freely express himself and always wanted to. Goodlynx has been working hard for the past 4 years. Slowly building up his catalog, and experimenting with sound, blending Hip-Hop and Rap with Jazz, House, and alternative music. With his willingness to experiment and constantly grow, Goodlynx wants to place Auckland on a world map, and prove to everyone that great music transcends different languages and countries.

Your friendly neighbor, your favorite rapper.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Goodlynx

Releases

There are no releases to display for Goodlynx.

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Night Bus - Single Review: Fine Lines
29 Dec 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
The latest track Fine Lines from self-described electronic bedroom pop artist Night Bus is a chill affair. It is a song that builds upon a simple melodic idea and explores it while a consistent beat runs through the background.
Read More...
Justin Sane - Album Review: Rising w/ Huz
29 Dec 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Justin Sane has been DJing at clubs and events around the world since 1997, released countless remixes and bootlegs on numerous labels, hosted Party Hard Mix on The Edge for 5 years and had singles in the Top 20 New Zealand Singles Chart. In 2020, Justin Sane again teamed up with fellow singer/Songwriter Huz and began releasing music again, both tracks of which ended up in the #3 dance singles on iTunes and in the Top 30 overall NZ singles, one reaching the #10 spot.
Read More...
Stu J - Single Review: Destination Unknown
29 Dec 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
A Kiwi-born musician, producer and DJ, Stu J loves to create energetic, up-beat indie-dance songs which have an electronic feel, but still include the best parts of rock and pop. His current music feels similar to artists like MGMT and Empire of the Sun.
Read More...
SuperFly Killa - Single Review: Hold I Down
10 Dec 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
A vast array of interests, influences, and experiences have come together in an amalgamation of soul, reggae, Dub, and rock. SuperFly Killa are a fresh new sound who reside on the sunny shores of Gisborne, NZHold I Down is a fantastic, fantastic track!
Read More...
Rei - Album Review: Enjoy The Ride
29 Nov 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Enjoy The Ride showcases Rei’s diversity and prowess as a musician and producer with its mix of rap, pop, R&B and UK flavour, it’s a fusion of innovative styles. Written over the past 2 years, mixed and mastered by Kog Studio’s Chris Chetland and supported by NZ On Air, this project is a musical ride in itself.
Read More...
EP Review: Will McClean and The Zooks - Live At The Surgery
06 Nov 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Will McClean and The Zooks - Live At The Surgery EP is a hat tip to live hip-hop. The band is super tight with wonderful guitar licks working wonderfully over top of the rhythm section.
Read More...
Cking - Single/Video Review: No Snakes Feat. Dilz
21 Oct 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Cking is the Brisbane-based, New Zealand-bred rapper who’s eclectic catalogue of hits has seen him share the stage with everyone from T-Pain to Kerser, and now, he’s linked up with fellow NZ emcee Dilz for a hard-hitting banger, No Snakes. Cking and Dilz each come lyrically strapped with passionate and emotive verses, matching the energy of the rapid-fire, earth-rattling production alongside them.
Read More...
Dallas Harvey - Single Review: Patience
20 Oct 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Auckland City’s up and coming Hip-Hop artist Dallas Harvey is a breath of fresh air with his honest lyricism, piecing his life together through story-telling and music. Mentored by the likes of Church from Church & AP, Chris RL and Melodownz, Dallas has built a well-versed understanding of self throughout his development at Te Karanga Navigators songwriting and production sessions.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DOWN UNDER
    Luude feat. Colin Hay
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • MR REGGAE
    L.A.B.
  • ABCDEFU
    GAYLE
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • FINGERS CROSSED
    Lauren Spencer-Smith
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem