18 Aug 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Goodlynx - Single/Video Review: Purple Blue

10 Aug 2021 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Starting Purple Blue off with a real honest vibe is the sound of a major 7th on a guitar. This interval sets a tone and mood that allows Goodlynx to be direct and honest with his audience. He is not yelling or screaming. He is just being real and honest. And this shows even with his music video, filmed in one take on a beach. It's a wonderful video of one man just being himself. As his biography states, he is your friendly neighbour.

Goodlynx (Timofei Khoptiuk) is a Russian-born rapper, singer, songwriter, who produces and engineers all of his music by himself in his small studio apartment in Auckland. Tim makes music that allows him to express himself and I feel this down-to-earth track really does it. Do not come into this track expecting a super huge chorus or anything, because, frankly, it doesn't need it.

With Jade Lewis providing vocal in the chorus, the track is a simple but honest song that showcases who Goodlynx is. "Take care of yourself, your mind, and your body, once you love yourself you can love somebody." Sit back, vibe. Even ride on public transport, look out the window with your headphones on cancelling out the world and just vibe.


Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Goodlynx

Goodlynx (Timofei Khoptiuk) is a Russian born rapper, singer, songwriter, who produces and engineers all of his music by himself in his small studio apartment in Auckland. At the age of 19, Tim realized that music was always the only outlet through which he can freely express himself and always wanted to. Goodlynx has been working hard for the past 4 years. Slowly building up his catalog, and experimenting with sound, blending Hip-Hop and Rap with Jazz, House, and alternative music. With his willingness to experiment and constantly grow, Goodlynx wants to place Auckland on a world map, and prove to everyone that great music transcends different languages and countries.

Your friendly neighbor, your favorite rapper.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Goodlynx

Releases

There are no releases to display for Goodlynx.

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Big Sima - Album Review: Stereotypes of a Polynesian Misunderstood
04 Jul 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Currently one of the most active NZ Hip-Hop artists on the live circuit, The Underground King AKA Big Sima is no stranger to the big stage. During his come-up, he has played support for everyone from Busta Rhymes to Bone Thugs 'n Harmony, Guru (Gangstarr), Mobb Deep and Cypress Hill.
Read More...
Y$O - Single Review: So Sexy
03 Jul 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Y$O returns with a new funky and R&B-infused track So Sexy.From the moment the track starts, I can feel that there is a lot of influence from N.
Read More...
Single/Video Review: Makaveli-C Feat. SNRXG - Brothers
04 Jun 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
The new video from Makaveli-C Feat. SNRXG takes Hip-Hop and puts some New Zealand flavour in it.
Read More...
Paul The Kid - Single Review: Close My Eyes
01 Jun 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Paul The Kid is an extremely diverse artist, combining an eclectic mix of contemporary genres with prominent themes of hip-hop, dance and reggae to create absolute bangers. Paul is most at home performing live and his shows generate an eccentric energy that invites the audience to get involved in the party.
Read More...
EP Review: Yung Ludd - Two Tone
13 May 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Born and raised in Lyttelton, Yung Ludd is the rap alias of musician Connor Strati. Having spent some time in Auckland in his twenties, he was exposed to a lot of the underground Hip-Hop scene there which proved to be very influential on his sound.
Read More...
Will McClean - Single Review: Ego Prison
28 Apr 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
I'm getting to hear more Will McClean... yes please!
Read More...
Hans. - EP Review: Kimyuntak
20 Apr 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Hailing from Auckland, New Zealand, Hans. is an exciting Korean artist that has been dubbed by VICE Magazine as "One of the rising stars of New Zealand Hip Hop.
Read More...
Eliezer - Album Review: Diary Entries Vol 1
20 Apr 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
This is a great album. Even at 30 mins long, the overall feel and vibe of it is fantastic.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • DOJA
    Central Cee
  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • I LIKE YOU (A HAPPIER SONG)
    Post Malone And Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem