1 Dec 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

False Heights - Single Review: Caught Up

21 Jul 2021 // A review by Chris Chick

The Taupo based pop duo False Heights have released their new single Caught Up and it is a corker. From the get go, the song takes me from the mid-winter blues (as I write this review) to the yearning of a wonderful sun filled summer on its way. Its happy beat reverberates through most of my body, except my toes as they are still thawing out from the previous mornings frost.

The song itself is about the dangers of getting caught up in a life of everything you need and feeling like you are going insane to break the mold. The video is well done and really compliments the vibe of the song from start to finish. The one thing about this song that really makes it special to me is the fact it goes on for nearly 4 minutes but yet keeps me entertained and involved from second one to the last.

This is a really lovely pop song with a catchy rhythm that you would expect with pop songs, it is produced wonderfully with a very tight sound, I would expect this song to be a summer 'banger' but that is just me. I would suggest having a listen to this song if you enjoy that summer feeling or just need a quick pick me up.

Without hiding my obvious bias towards this song, which comes from nowhere but just listening to it, I can already sense what you think I will give this bad boy out of 5 stars. Yes that is right, a warm and fuzzy 4 stars. It is not often I give 4 stars, but I really like this song and it just seems to get better on the ears as I continue to listen to it time and time again. Fantastic work False Heights, I look forward to your next pieces of art in the near future.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About False Heights

Taupo based duo False Heights have been writing infectious pop bops since they accidentally started jamming together in 2016. United by a mutual love for storytelling and their eclectic tastes in music, April Pirie (vocals/keys) and Ashley Pirie (drums/guitars/vocals) display an uncanny chemistry, co creating an adventurous sound and delivering high energy performances.

Deriving their name from a T-shirt slogan and the suburb they lived in at the time, False Heights, came about because of an old inside joke that they were the ‘typical’ local musicians living in a low rent house on a high rent street. Influenced by an array of artists, (Jimmy Eat World, The Cranberries, Taylor Swift, Bring Me The Horizon, Sigrid, Blink 182, Lorde, and the list goes on...), the duo's upcoming EP due for release in Spring 2021, boasts elements of punk, reggae, rock and a huge helping of pure unapologetic ‘mainstream’ pop.

The duo first gained attention in 2018 with their debut EP No? Who…? which shot to the top of the official NZ heatseekers chart the first week of it’s release. A hit with critics and fans alike, the six track EP served as a perfect introduction to this promising young duo. They spent the ensuing years performing around New Zealand while continuing to add new flourishes to their style.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for False Heights

Releases

No? Who...?
Year: 2018
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Chris Chick

EP Review: Bird Machine
24 Nov 2022 // by Chris Chick
Bird Machine are releasing their self-titled EP, the twosome brings a vibe of a New Zealand and Australian alt rock and dream pop to your ears. All these songs are remarkably performed, recorded, and produced from their home-based studio in the wonderful city of Hamilton.
Read More...
The Black Seeds - Album Review: Love & Fire
15 Jul 2022 // by Chris Chick
What a privilege it is to review a legendary band that is The Black Seeds. The band has been entertaining and soothing the ears of many a listener now since 1998.
Read More...
The Hootz - Single Review: Stay Away
06 May 2022 // by Chris Chick
Hailing from the Garden City and just a short 15-minute drive from yours truly, the 4-piece band known as The Hootz are releasing their upcoming single Stay Away. This song has a very melancholy vibe to it, but not in the sense of it being a negative thing, if anything it has a very Summer vibe feel to it.
Read More...
Trip Change - Single Review: Never Seen A Boy Like Me
24 Jan 2022 // by Chris Chick
It is not hard to know that I am fan of all music, I think the ability to pick up a musical instrument and compose a song is impressive. The intricacies of bringing many parts together and making the final product sound so good is beyond my capabilities.
Read More...
Kokomo - Album Review: A Little Something From The Attic
01 Jan 2022 // by Chris Chick
16 Blues songs to review was my mission if I chose to accept it, well naturally I did, otherwise you would not be reading this, but let me just tell you something, was I excited? Oh you can bet your bottom dollar I was.
Read More...
Mini Simmons - Single Review: Railroad For Two
01 Nov 2021 // by Chris Chick
I had the privilege of listening to another cracking song by Mini Simmons. Their latest release Railroad For Two hit my ears and I am happy to say, my heart was warmed by such a melodic and poignant song that is perfect for any setting where peace and calm are the order of the day.
Read More...
Oceanspace - Single Review: Silver City Rain
01 Sep 2021 // by Chris Chick
Now and again a song comes around that makes you stop and think "well that certainly surprised me". This is in no way a negative connotation, I would hate to think that my initial perspective was one of which, when I was given the task to review this song, I was already looking to the one-star rating.
Read More...
Salt Rock - Single Review: Six Appeal
30 Jul 2021 // by Chris Chick
Any song that has a sultry baseline and some trumpets are always going to grab my listening ear and have me easily fall in love with, that is just how I roll. Salt Rock are a funk-dub group based in Christchurch made up of seven pals doing their thing to the wonderful New Zealand music scene.
Read More...
View All Articles By Chris Chick

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • 685 (REMIX)
    Victor J Sefo, Lisi And Mwayz
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem