18 Oct 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

False Heights - Single Review: Caught Up

21 Jul 2021 // A review by Chris Chick

The Taupo based pop duo False Heights have released their new single Caught Up and it is a corker. From the get go, the song takes me from the mid-winter blues (as I write this review) to the yearning of a wonderful sun filled summer on its way. Its happy beat reverberates through most of my body, except my toes as they are still thawing out from the previous mornings frost.

The song itself is about the dangers of getting caught up in a life of everything you need and feeling like you are going insane to break the mold. The video is well done and really compliments the vibe of the song from start to finish. The one thing about this song that really makes it special to me is the fact it goes on for nearly 4 minutes but yet keeps me entertained and involved from second one to the last.

This is a really lovely pop song with a catchy rhythm that you would expect with pop songs, it is produced wonderfully with a very tight sound, I would expect this song to be a summer 'banger' but that is just me. I would suggest having a listen to this song if you enjoy that summer feeling or just need a quick pick me up.

Without hiding my obvious bias towards this song, which comes from nowhere but just listening to it, I can already sense what you think I will give this bad boy out of 5 stars. Yes that is right, a warm and fuzzy 4 stars. It is not often I give 4 stars, but I really like this song and it just seems to get better on the ears as I continue to listen to it time and time again. Fantastic work False Heights, I look forward to your next pieces of art in the near future.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About False Heights

Taupo based duo False Heights have been writing infectious pop bops since they accidentally started jamming together in 2016. United by a mutual love for storytelling and their eclectic tastes in music, April Pirie (vocals/keys) and Ashley Pirie (drums/guitars/vocals) display an uncanny chemistry, co creating an adventurous sound and delivering high energy performances.

Deriving their name from a T-shirt slogan and the suburb they lived in at the time, False Heights, came about because of an old inside joke that they were the ‘typical’ local musicians living in a low rent house on a high rent street. Influenced by an array of artists, (Jimmy Eat World, The Cranberries, Taylor Swift, Bring Me The Horizon, Sigrid, Blink 182, Lorde, and the list goes on...), the duo's upcoming EP due for release in Spring 2021, boasts elements of punk, reggae, rock and a huge helping of pure unapologetic ‘mainstream’ pop.

The duo first gained attention in 2018 with their debut EP No? Who…? which shot to the top of the official NZ heatseekers chart the first week of it’s release. A hit with critics and fans alike, the six track EP served as a perfect introduction to this promising young duo. They spent the ensuing years performing around New Zealand while continuing to add new flourishes to their style.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for False Heights

Releases

No? Who...?
Year: 2018
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Chris Chick

Oceanspace - Single Review: Silver City Rain
01 Sep 2021 // by Chris Chick
Now and again a song comes around that makes you stop and think "well that certainly surprised me". This is in no way a negative connotation, I would hate to think that my initial perspective was one of which, when I was given the task to review this song, I was already looking to the one-star rating.
Read More...
Salt Rock - Single Review: Six Appeal
30 Jul 2021 // by Chris Chick
Any song that has a sultry baseline and some trumpets are always going to grab my listening ear and have me easily fall in love with, that is just how I roll. Salt Rock are a funk-dub group based in Christchurch made up of seven pals doing their thing to the wonderful New Zealand music scene.
Read More...
Album Review: Turkey The Bird
07 Jun 2021 // by Chris Chick
The self-professed ‘Simon & Garfunkel’ of Aotearoa bring their first album to the listening ears of all New Zealanders and let us not beat around the bush, this is a corker of epic proportions. From the steadfast sound of the banjo piercing your ears delightful receptacles, to some rather incredibly smooth harmonies backed up by some rasping bass lines.
Read More...
Banana Mundo - EP Review: Hola
29 Apr 2021 // by Chris Chick
You just know with a name like Banana Mundo that you are in for a good time, as my old man once said to me "Chris, I am short and so is life, we are here for a good time, not a long time". It's a shame he did not have this EP at hand to use it in his timely philosophical saying.
Read More...
MARY. - Single Review: Day To Day
12 Mar 2021 // by Chris Chick
MARY. is the ‘dreamy’ alter ego of the songs creator Stef T, a robust and staunch woman making her way in what can be perceived as a very male orientated world in many aspects.
Read More...
Revulva - Single Review: Sniffly Lady
25 Feb 2021 // by Chris Chick
I had the privilege and honour to review the debut single from Revulva, Sniffly Lady, a song all about the grand boogie on a Saturday night. No matter how old or young you are, the intense anticipation of getting out and amongst the people for a boogie, especially in this day and age, is the great equalizer to the capitalistic machine we all find ourselves under.
Read More...
Bad Llamas - EP Review: Wunderlane
31 Jan 2021 // by Chris Chick
The new 6 track EP Wunderlane by Bad Llamas is a breath of fresh air when it comes to NZ music. Situated down in the depths of Christchurch, this is the band's second EP release after their debut 2019 EP What Even is Bad Llamas.
Read More...
Paul The Kid - Single Review: Palm Trees & Ciggies
08 Dec 2020 // by Chris Chick
If you were wondering what you Summer song was going to be for this year, the year of the 'what the hell just happened' Palm Trees and Ciggies could well be your winner to take you through to the next Winter. Any song that drops a humdinger of a ska/reggae beat is a sure fire way to get noticed by this reviewer, especially as the temperature starts to warm up and the stock of cold ones increases in the fridge.
Read More...
View All Articles By Chris Chick

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • LOVE NWANTITI (AH AH AH)
    CKay
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • MEET ME AT OUR SPOT
    THE ANXIETY, WILLOW And Tyler Cole
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem