27 Jan 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Hawkins - Album Review: Hawkins

21 Apr 2021 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Yep. I knew that voice immediately.

Hawkins debut album simply called Hawkins is a true love letter to the music that Victor Hawkins-Sulfa has grown up with and loves dearly. You can tell. Every song here is filled with incredible detail, both from a musical standpoint in regards to the instrumentation, but also to the nuance and production quality. To try and pigeon hole his style for the sake of genre would be an insult. For example, we get belting ballads at times, and then on the track Can't Leave It Alone, it's like a tribute to the style that Kimbra really owns on her song Can't Into My Head.

Overall, there is so much here to digest that it requires a few listens to really appreciate the sheer amount of love for songwriting. What Have You Done, while simple with its guitar backing allows for Victor to sing in so many ways, perfectly captured and reproduced in the recording. The dynamics really bring the music to life.  This is my favourite track on the album for so many reasons, but I don't want to tell you why. I want you to experience it.

And that is what I remember about Victor. I got to hear and see him perform at the University of Auckland.  And to be honest, it makes me want to get back to hearing and seeing his music live again. That is how I immediately knew that voice. It's so unique, full of passion and honesty. I can feel it all over this album.

I highly recommend this album.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Hawkins

Hawkins is no stranger to the stage. Having spent the best part of the last 15 years wowing audiences across Aotearoa with his unmistakable and incomparable voice, he is now embarking on a new and exciting journey with the release of his debut full-length album.

Hawkins, who is of Maori, Pasifika, European and African descent, went to school in Papatoetoe and spend his childhood between the south Auckland suburb and Taumarunui in the King Country.

Growing up in a musical family, Hawkins’ path in music was paved from an early age. “As a kid, music was my escapism. I fell in love with the concepts and stories conveyed through song,” he says.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Hawkins

Releases

Hawkins
Year: 2021
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Night Bus - Single Review: Fine Lines
29 Dec 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
The latest track Fine Lines from self-described electronic bedroom pop artist Night Bus is a chill affair. It is a song that builds upon a simple melodic idea and explores it while a consistent beat runs through the background.
Read More...
Justin Sane - Album Review: Rising w/ Huz
29 Dec 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Justin Sane has been DJing at clubs and events around the world since 1997, released countless remixes and bootlegs on numerous labels, hosted Party Hard Mix on The Edge for 5 years and had singles in the Top 20 New Zealand Singles Chart. In 2020, Justin Sane again teamed up with fellow singer/Songwriter Huz and began releasing music again, both tracks of which ended up in the #3 dance singles on iTunes and in the Top 30 overall NZ singles, one reaching the #10 spot.
Read More...
Stu J - Single Review: Destination Unknown
29 Dec 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
A Kiwi-born musician, producer and DJ, Stu J loves to create energetic, up-beat indie-dance songs which have an electronic feel, but still include the best parts of rock and pop. His current music feels similar to artists like MGMT and Empire of the Sun.
Read More...
SuperFly Killa - Single Review: Hold I Down
10 Dec 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
A vast array of interests, influences, and experiences have come together in an amalgamation of soul, reggae, Dub, and rock. SuperFly Killa are a fresh new sound who reside on the sunny shores of Gisborne, NZHold I Down is a fantastic, fantastic track!
Read More...
Rei - Album Review: Enjoy The Ride
29 Nov 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Enjoy The Ride showcases Rei’s diversity and prowess as a musician and producer with its mix of rap, pop, R&B and UK flavour, it’s a fusion of innovative styles. Written over the past 2 years, mixed and mastered by Kog Studio’s Chris Chetland and supported by NZ On Air, this project is a musical ride in itself.
Read More...
EP Review: Will McClean and The Zooks - Live At The Surgery
06 Nov 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Will McClean and The Zooks - Live At The Surgery EP is a hat tip to live hip-hop. The band is super tight with wonderful guitar licks working wonderfully over top of the rhythm section.
Read More...
Cking - Single/Video Review: No Snakes Feat. Dilz
21 Oct 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Cking is the Brisbane-based, New Zealand-bred rapper who’s eclectic catalogue of hits has seen him share the stage with everyone from T-Pain to Kerser, and now, he’s linked up with fellow NZ emcee Dilz for a hard-hitting banger, No Snakes. Cking and Dilz each come lyrically strapped with passionate and emotive verses, matching the energy of the rapid-fire, earth-rattling production alongside them.
Read More...
Dallas Harvey - Single Review: Patience
20 Oct 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Auckland City’s up and coming Hip-Hop artist Dallas Harvey is a breath of fresh air with his honest lyricism, piecing his life together through story-telling and music. Mentored by the likes of Church from Church & AP, Chris RL and Melodownz, Dallas has built a well-versed understanding of self throughout his development at Te Karanga Navigators songwriting and production sessions.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DOWN UNDER
    Luude feat. Colin Hay
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • MR REGGAE
    L.A.B.
  • ABCDEFU
    GAYLE
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • FINGERS CROSSED
    Lauren Spencer-Smith
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem