20 Sep 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Hawkins - Album Review: Hawkins

21 Apr 2021 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Yep. I knew that voice immediately.

Hawkins debut album simply called Hawkins is a true love letter to the music that Victor Hawkins-Sulfa has grown up with and loves dearly. You can tell. Every song here is filled with incredible detail, both from a musical standpoint in regards to the instrumentation, but also to the nuance and production quality. To try and pigeon hole his style for the sake of genre would be an insult. For example, we get belting ballads at times, and then on the track Can't Leave It Alone, it's like a tribute to the style that Kimbra really owns on her song Can't Into My Head.

Overall, there is so much here to digest that it requires a few listens to really appreciate the sheer amount of love for songwriting. What Have You Done, while simple with its guitar backing allows for Victor to sing in so many ways, perfectly captured and reproduced in the recording. The dynamics really bring the music to life.  This is my favourite track on the album for so many reasons, but I don't want to tell you why. I want you to experience it.

And that is what I remember about Victor. I got to hear and see him perform at the University of Auckland.  And to be honest, it makes me want to get back to hearing and seeing his music live again. That is how I immediately knew that voice. It's so unique, full of passion and honesty. I can feel it all over this album.

I highly recommend this album.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Hawkins

Hawkins is no stranger to the stage. Having spent the best part of the last 15 years wowing audiences across Aotearoa with his unmistakable and incomparable voice, he is now embarking on a new and exciting journey with the release of his debut full-length album.

Hawkins, who is of Maori, Pasifika, European and African descent, went to school in Papatoetoe and spend his childhood between the south Auckland suburb and Taumarunui in the King Country.

Growing up in a musical family, Hawkins’ path in music was paved from an early age. “As a kid, music was my escapism. I fell in love with the concepts and stories conveyed through song,” he says.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Hawkins

Releases

Hawkins
Year: 2021
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

BrokeBoi Ace - Single Review: Watered Down Dreamz
15 Sep 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Oh man. I like this.
Read More...
Sam V - Single/Video Review: Wired
10 Sep 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Sam V's newest track Wired is another demonstration of how Sam keeps refining his sound. His vision has been getting more focused over time, based on his previous tracks like Cotton Candy which is actually a Y$O track, and Up Up Down.
Read More...
InDuna - Single Review: Strange Fruits
08 Sep 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
InDuna's approach to Hip-Hop/Rap is something that listeners should pay attention to. It fits into what kind of feels as almost progressive in regards to the styles it compasses.
Read More...
2Fly Ty - Single Review: That Track Feat. Dilz
03 Sep 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
2FLY TY's newest track entitled That Track is out now and features bars from Dilz. Both Ty and Dilz perform well here with TY’s flow being delivered on a rather flat way; not hyped and not like he’s not trying.
Read More...
Goodlynx - Single/Video Review: Purple Blue
10 Aug 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Starting Purple Blue off with a real honest vibe is the sound of a major 7th on a guitar. This interval sets a tone and mood that allows Goodlynx to be direct and honest with his audience.
Read More...
Dilz - Single Review: Resurrection Feat. He Ra
22 Jul 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Dilz is real. He is authentic.
Read More...
Souldrop - EP Review: Gypsy Lizard King
21 Jul 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Kiwi new-wave indie-soul 4-piece Souldrop have released their brand new and much-anticipated EP Gypsy Lizard King via label Meow. Featuring the stunningly smooth singles Cadet and Jive, and new single/ title track Gypsy Lizard King, this latest EP release furthers their reputation as a talented band on the rise.
Read More...
And$um - Single Review: Ride The Wave Feat. Valle
26 Jun 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
I’m a big fan of Hip-Hop - I teach it at school to my students. Hip-Hop is about being real and it has an honest vibe to it.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • PEPEHA
    Six60
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
  • FAIR TRADE
    Drake feat. Travis Scott
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem