18 Aug 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Hawkins - Album Review: Hawkins

21 Apr 2021 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Yep. I knew that voice immediately.

Hawkins debut album simply called Hawkins is a true love letter to the music that Victor Hawkins-Sulfa has grown up with and loves dearly. You can tell. Every song here is filled with incredible detail, both from a musical standpoint in regards to the instrumentation, but also to the nuance and production quality. To try and pigeon hole his style for the sake of genre would be an insult. For example, we get belting ballads at times, and then on the track Can't Leave It Alone, it's like a tribute to the style that Kimbra really owns on her song Can't Into My Head.

Overall, there is so much here to digest that it requires a few listens to really appreciate the sheer amount of love for songwriting. What Have You Done, while simple with its guitar backing allows for Victor to sing in so many ways, perfectly captured and reproduced in the recording. The dynamics really bring the music to life.  This is my favourite track on the album for so many reasons, but I don't want to tell you why. I want you to experience it.

And that is what I remember about Victor. I got to hear and see him perform at the University of Auckland.  And to be honest, it makes me want to get back to hearing and seeing his music live again. That is how I immediately knew that voice. It's so unique, full of passion and honesty. I can feel it all over this album.

I highly recommend this album.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Hawkins

Hawkins is no stranger to the stage. Having spent the best part of the last 15 years wowing audiences across Aotearoa with his unmistakable and incomparable voice, he is now embarking on a new and exciting journey with the release of his debut full-length album.

Hawkins, who is of Maori, Pasifika, European and African descent, went to school in Papatoetoe and spend his childhood between the south Auckland suburb and Taumarunui in the King Country.

Growing up in a musical family, Hawkins’ path in music was paved from an early age. “As a kid, music was my escapism. I fell in love with the concepts and stories conveyed through song,” he says.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Hawkins

Releases

Hawkins
Year: 2021
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Big Sima - Album Review: Stereotypes of a Polynesian Misunderstood
04 Jul 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Currently one of the most active NZ Hip-Hop artists on the live circuit, The Underground King AKA Big Sima is no stranger to the big stage. During his come-up, he has played support for everyone from Busta Rhymes to Bone Thugs 'n Harmony, Guru (Gangstarr), Mobb Deep and Cypress Hill.
Read More...
Y$O - Single Review: So Sexy
03 Jul 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Y$O returns with a new funky and R&B-infused track So Sexy.From the moment the track starts, I can feel that there is a lot of influence from N.
Read More...
Single/Video Review: Makaveli-C Feat. SNRXG - Brothers
04 Jun 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
The new video from Makaveli-C Feat. SNRXG takes Hip-Hop and puts some New Zealand flavour in it.
Read More...
Paul The Kid - Single Review: Close My Eyes
01 Jun 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Paul The Kid is an extremely diverse artist, combining an eclectic mix of contemporary genres with prominent themes of hip-hop, dance and reggae to create absolute bangers. Paul is most at home performing live and his shows generate an eccentric energy that invites the audience to get involved in the party.
Read More...
EP Review: Yung Ludd - Two Tone
13 May 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Born and raised in Lyttelton, Yung Ludd is the rap alias of musician Connor Strati. Having spent some time in Auckland in his twenties, he was exposed to a lot of the underground Hip-Hop scene there which proved to be very influential on his sound.
Read More...
Will McClean - Single Review: Ego Prison
28 Apr 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
I'm getting to hear more Will McClean... yes please!
Read More...
Hans. - EP Review: Kimyuntak
20 Apr 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Hailing from Auckland, New Zealand, Hans. is an exciting Korean artist that has been dubbed by VICE Magazine as "One of the rising stars of New Zealand Hip Hop.
Read More...
Eliezer - Album Review: Diary Entries Vol 1
20 Apr 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
This is a great album. Even at 30 mins long, the overall feel and vibe of it is fantastic.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • DOJA
    Central Cee
  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • I LIKE YOU (A HAPPIER SONG)
    Post Malone And Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem