23 May 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Dark Water - Single Review: Seas of Fallen Concern

21 Jan 2021 // A review by Paul Goddard

I like to be transported.

Moved to a different place.

Attitude adjusted and tripping along a highway that leads to nowhere.

Music is my preferred mode of transport, and tonight I'm sitting here with a cup of tea and a spoonful of magic sugar as I listen to the swirling, slightly menacing new slice of prog from 'Naki based Dark Water.

As I lay back and sip on the heady brew, we pull off at pace with a driving guitar that vibes like Tool/Deftones slipping us up into a higher gear. The body is moving and mind is getting sucked into the swirling mix of vocals and guitar as we move into a more steady stream of pace.

The urgency is replaced by a melancholy that sucks me deeper in as we now cruise along to a melody underpinned with a growing sense of menace. Just as I get comfortable and start to drift, the guitars take a grip and are starting to soar again, the vocals becoming more aggressive, more urgent as we race forward and eventually fade away into whatever might come next.

Looking back on this journey as I finish my drink, I feel moved, chilled and a little more alive than before we set off.

Take a ride with Dark Water and see where it leads you.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Dark Water

DARK WATER are a three piece Taranaki, alternative Rock band formed in 2009.

DARK WATER started life as a four piece, after a lineup change, they are now a hard hitting three piece. Their first year together was spent developing their sound and style, which has developed into a gripping yet gritty sound with a heaviness that enfolds melody.

DARK WATER have already started making a name for themselves having played at G Taranaki and opening for Shihad, The Feelers, I Am Giant and The Checks in their home town of New Plymouth. .

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Dark Water

Releases

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Mojo Alice - Single Review: Sad Face
26 Apr 2022 // by Paul Goddard
If there is a phrase I can't stand right now it's "let's get ready for the new normal."Fuck that.
Read More...
Nuggiez - Single Review: The Creeps
08 Mar 2022 // by Paul Goddard
Zeitgeist.One of my favourite words.
Read More...
Saurian - Single Review: Ice Cream Man
18 Feb 2022 // by Paul Goddard
I am going to say it. This might be controversial but the best Ice Cream is a simple Vanilla Whip in a cone.
Read More...
Craig Payne - Album Review: A Long Time Coming
23 Dec 2021 // by Paul Goddard
Life's a journey.Different phases, ranging from feeling bulletproof to feeling paranoid to eventually feeling resigned to whatever happens.
Read More...
FRE3DOM - Single Review: On and On
20 Sep 2021 // by Paul Goddard
Who is pissed off right now? No?
Read More...
Captain Festus McBoyle's Travellin' Variety Show - Single/Video Review: Love Song 4 Lucy
06 Sep 2021 // by Paul Goddard
Sometimes we need a distraction, and a reminder of the basic core reasons as to why we exist.Sometimes, perhaps now more than ever, we need to be reminded of the simple joy that comes with being who we are and of the love that we share with other people.
Read More...
Album Review: Thunderground
18 Mar 2021 // by Paul Goddard
Headphones in, let's go.So the drummer keeps beat, guitars wail and scream, the singer....
Read More...
FRE3DOM - Single Review: Back To The Beginning
12 Mar 2021 // by Paul Goddard
Looking back to move forward. Musicians have done this from the beginning.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • N95
    Kendrick Lamar
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • DIE HARD
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Blxst And Amanda Reifer
  • UNITED IN GRIEF
    Kendrick Lamar
  • FATHER TIME
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Sampha
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem