28 Feb 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Dark Water - Single Review: Seas of Fallen Concern

21 Jan 2021 // A review by Paul Goddard

I like to be transported.

Moved to a different place.

Attitude adjusted and tripping along a highway that leads to nowhere.

Music is my preferred mode of transport, and tonight I'm sitting here with a cup of tea and a spoonful of magic sugar as I listen to the swirling, slightly menacing new slice of prog from 'Naki based Dark Water.

As I lay back and sip on the heady brew, we pull off at pace with a driving guitar that vibes like Tool/Deftones slipping us up into a higher gear. The body is moving and mind is getting sucked into the swirling mix of vocals and guitar as we move into a more steady stream of pace.

The urgency is replaced by a melancholy that sucks me deeper in as we now cruise along to a melody underpinned with a growing sense of menace. Just as I get comfortable and start to drift, the guitars take a grip and are starting to soar again, the vocals becoming more aggressive, more urgent as we race forward and eventually fade away into whatever might come next.

Looking back on this journey as I finish my drink, I feel moved, chilled and a little more alive than before we set off.

Take a ride with Dark Water and see where it leads you.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Dark Water

DARK WATER are a three piece Taranaki, alternative Rock band formed in 2009.

DARK WATER started life as a four piece, after a lineup change, they are now a hard hitting three piece. Their first year together was spent developing their sound and style, which has developed into a gripping yet gritty sound with a heaviness that enfolds melody.

DARK WATER have already started making a name for themselves having played at G Taranaki and opening for Shihad, The Feelers, I Am Giant and The Checks in their home town of New Plymouth. .

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Dark Water

Releases

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Manzo - Single Review: Working Class Hero (John Lennon Cover)
05 Dec 2020 // by Paul Goddard
In 1946 John Lennon almost became a Kiwi. His estranged father took him to Blackpool with the intention of heading over with John to start a new life in NZ.
Read More...
The Avondale Spiders - Single Review: Black Magik Pills
05 Nov 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Do you miss anything at the moment?The world is in a crazy place and it is easy to not want to look forward when the future doesn’t look so bright.
Read More...
Coffin Club - Single Review: Gaslight
08 Oct 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Gaslight (or rather Gaslighting) has become a bit of a buzz word recently and sits perfectly as the title for this short sharp shock of fuzzed up punk from Auckland three piece Coffin Club.Unlike a real Gaslight, this song is no slow burner.
Read More...
The Response - Single Review: All Of My Flaws
24 Sep 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Smooth.A word that sounds just as good as it looks.
Read More...
EP Review: Dick Raine and Dick’s Guns
08 Sep 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Lockdowns are shit. A few months ago, we didn’t even know what a lockdown was nor social distancing and let’s face it the world is pretty fucked at the moment.
Read More...
Big Scout - Single Review: Nothing Ever Happens
25 Aug 2020 // by Paul Goddard
There are ear worms.Then there is this little snaky bastard of a tune from Big Scout.
Read More...
Churlington - EP Review: ...Or That The Hummingbird Is So Seldom Seen
13 Aug 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Why?Why is music so important?
Read More...
Transistor - Single Review: Nothing New
30 Jul 2020 // by Paul Goddard
New single Nothing New from Wellington-based Transistor is a tricky, trippy, psychedelic aural beast. A snarly bastard of a song.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • WHY OH WHY
    L.A.B.
  • CALLING MY PHONE
    Lil Tjay feat. 6LACK
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • GOOD DAYS
    SZA
  • NOT MY NEIGHBOUR
    Niko Walters
  • CONTROLLER
    L.A.B.
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • WITHOUT YOU
    The Kid LAROI
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem