29 Jul 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Paul The Kid - Single Review: Palm Trees & Ciggies

08 Dec 2020 // A review by Chris Chick
If you were wondering what you Summer song was going to be for this year, the year of the 'what the hell just happened' Palm Trees and Ciggies could well be your winner to take you through to the next Winter. Any song that drops a humdinger of a ska/reggae beat is a sure fire way to get noticed by this reviewer, especially as the temperature starts to warm up and the stock of cold ones increases in the fridge.


This song can be described as happy summer banger that warms the inner sanctum of your ears. The inclusion of brass instruments is a chicken dinner (a winner) in my eyes, or should I say in my ears. My favourite part of the song is the ever building crescendo that comes to a flourishing finish near the end, it gives the song a slight edge in how it travels well for the whole 4 minutes and 30 seconds. A song that can do that way passed the obligatory 3 minutes gets a thumbs up in my books. The one aspect of this song that really left me smiling was its ability to get better every time I listened to it again, it is a rare thing to be able to pull that off in any industry.

This is certainly going to make waves this summer, excuse the pun, or you can call me Al, damn another pun. I highly recommend you all to go out and spend that small amount of money to get this in your music collection, not only because I is a good song, but also to help artist’s plug their trade in these difficult circumstances. This song gets a hearty 3 ½ stars out of 5 for me and I very much look forward to what Paul The Kid brings to us all in the near future.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Paul The Kid

Paul The Kid is an extremely diverse artist, combining an eclectic mix of contemporary genres. With prominent themes of hip hop, dance, and reggae to create absolute bangers. Drawing inspiration from Sticky Fingers, Mac Miller & Pendulum his shows generate a brilliant energy that always invite the audience to get stuck in.

Having been the founding member/lead singer of successful New Zealand Fun-Punk group Night Gaunts, Paul is very familiar to the stage. He has performed hundreds of gigs in New Zealand and London, organised and put on two successful full US tours, independently released two EPs, played Boomtown Fair festival 2018, Illusive festival 2019, local London festival Level Up! Fest and was recently broadcast on Australia's Triple J radio station.

After nearly 3 years in London, Paul is based back in Auckland, New Zealand. Fresh from gigging in Los Angeles and Berkeley Paul is gearing up to release brand new singles and videos, to perform festivals and gigs, and push his unique brand of the offbeat sound to dance floors and fields around the nation.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Paul The Kid

Releases

There are no releases to display for Paul The Kid.

Other Reviews By Chris Chick

False Heights - Single Review: Caught Up
21 Jul 2021 // by Chris Chick
The Taupo based pop duo False Heights have released their new single Caught Up and it is a corker. From the get go, the song takes me from the mid-winter blues (as I write this review) to the yearning of a wonderful sun filled summer on its way.
Read More...
Album Review: Turkey The Bird
07 Jun 2021 // by Chris Chick
The self-professed ‘Simon & Garfunkel’ of Aotearoa bring their first album to the listening ears of all New Zealanders and let us not beat around the bush, this is a corker of epic proportions. From the steadfast sound of the banjo piercing your ears delightful receptacles, to some rather incredibly smooth harmonies backed up by some rasping bass lines.
Read More...
Banana Mundo - EP Review: Hola
29 Apr 2021 // by Chris Chick
You just know with a name like Banana Mundo that you are in for a good time, as my old man once said to me "Chris, I am short and so is life, we are here for a good time, not a long time". It's a shame he did not have this EP at hand to use it in his timely philosophical saying.
Read More...
MARY. - Single Review: Day To Day
12 Mar 2021 // by Chris Chick
MARY. is the ‘dreamy’ alter ego of the songs creator Stef T, a robust and staunch woman making her way in what can be perceived as a very male orientated world in many aspects.
Read More...
Revulva - Single Review: Sniffly Lady
25 Feb 2021 // by Chris Chick
I had the privilege and honour to review the debut single from Revulva, Sniffly Lady, a song all about the grand boogie on a Saturday night. No matter how old or young you are, the intense anticipation of getting out and amongst the people for a boogie, especially in this day and age, is the great equalizer to the capitalistic machine we all find ourselves under.
Read More...
Bad Llamas - EP Review: Wunderlane
31 Jan 2021 // by Chris Chick
The new 6 track EP Wunderlane by Bad Llamas is a breath of fresh air when it comes to NZ music. Situated down in the depths of Christchurch, this is the band's second EP release after their debut 2019 EP What Even is Bad Llamas.
Read More...
Miles Calder - Single Review: Take Me Back To How It Was
19 Oct 2020 // by Chris Chick
I think I just found the band that I really want to jam with; Miles Calder's new song Take Me Back To How It Was is a sound that really does what it says on the tin, it takes you back to the way it was. This late 60's and 70's psychedelic number really softens the soul and enables one to really re-live by gone days that many of us did not even have the opportunity to experience.
Read More...
Imperial April - Single Review: Release Me
08 Oct 2020 // by Chris Chick
Imperial April are releasing their new single Release Me on 9 October 2020, and by golly it's an absolute corker, and I will not let anyone else say different. This song has so much going for it, from its production, to the wonderfully enchanting singing, to the 80's summer vibe that will just keep the summer of 2020 a positive time considering the rest of the garbage we have all had to deal with.
Read More...
View All Articles By Chris Chick

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • BEGGIN'
    Måneskin
  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • TRAITOR
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • AIN'T S**T
    Doja Cat
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem