28 Nov 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Paul The Kid - Single Review: Palm Trees & Ciggies

08 Dec 2020 // A review by Chris Chick
If you were wondering what you Summer song was going to be for this year, the year of the 'what the hell just happened' Palm Trees and Ciggies could well be your winner to take you through to the next Winter. Any song that drops a humdinger of a ska/reggae beat is a sure fire way to get noticed by this reviewer, especially as the temperature starts to warm up and the stock of cold ones increases in the fridge.


This song can be described as happy summer banger that warms the inner sanctum of your ears. The inclusion of brass instruments is a chicken dinner (a winner) in my eyes, or should I say in my ears. My favourite part of the song is the ever building crescendo that comes to a flourishing finish near the end, it gives the song a slight edge in how it travels well for the whole 4 minutes and 30 seconds. A song that can do that way passed the obligatory 3 minutes gets a thumbs up in my books. The one aspect of this song that really left me smiling was its ability to get better every time I listened to it again, it is a rare thing to be able to pull that off in any industry.

This is certainly going to make waves this summer, excuse the pun, or you can call me Al, damn another pun. I highly recommend you all to go out and spend that small amount of money to get this in your music collection, not only because I is a good song, but also to help artist’s plug their trade in these difficult circumstances. This song gets a hearty 3 ½ stars out of 5 for me and I very much look forward to what Paul The Kid brings to us all in the near future.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Paul The Kid

Paul The Kid is an extremely diverse artist, combining an eclectic mix of contemporary genres. With prominent themes of hip hop, dance, and reggae to create absolute bangers. Drawing inspiration from Sticky Fingers, Mac Miller & Pendulum his shows generate a brilliant energy that always invite the audience to get stuck in.

Having been the founding member/lead singer of successful New Zealand Fun-Punk group Night Gaunts, Paul is very familiar to the stage. He has performed hundreds of gigs in New Zealand and London, organised and put on two successful full US tours, independently released two EPs, played Boomtown Fair festival 2018, Illusive festival 2019, local London festival Level Up! Fest and was recently broadcast on Australia's Triple J radio station.

After nearly 3 years in London, Paul is based back in Auckland, New Zealand. Fresh from gigging in Los Angeles and Berkeley Paul is gearing up to release brand new singles and videos, to perform festivals and gigs, and push his unique brand of the offbeat sound to dance floors and fields around the nation.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Paul The Kid

Releases

Two Tone Death Wave
Year: 2017
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Chris Chick

EP Review: Bird Machine
24 Nov 2022 // by Chris Chick
Bird Machine are releasing their self-titled EP, the twosome brings a vibe of a New Zealand and Australian alt rock and dream pop to your ears. All these songs are remarkably performed, recorded, and produced from their home-based studio in the wonderful city of Hamilton.
Read More...
The Black Seeds - Album Review: Love & Fire
15 Jul 2022 // by Chris Chick
What a privilege it is to review a legendary band that is The Black Seeds. The band has been entertaining and soothing the ears of many a listener now since 1998.
Read More...
The Hootz - Single Review: Stay Away
06 May 2022 // by Chris Chick
Hailing from the Garden City and just a short 15-minute drive from yours truly, the 4-piece band known as The Hootz are releasing their upcoming single Stay Away. This song has a very melancholy vibe to it, but not in the sense of it being a negative thing, if anything it has a very Summer vibe feel to it.
Read More...
Trip Change - Single Review: Never Seen A Boy Like Me
24 Jan 2022 // by Chris Chick
It is not hard to know that I am fan of all music, I think the ability to pick up a musical instrument and compose a song is impressive. The intricacies of bringing many parts together and making the final product sound so good is beyond my capabilities.
Read More...
Kokomo - Album Review: A Little Something From The Attic
01 Jan 2022 // by Chris Chick
16 Blues songs to review was my mission if I chose to accept it, well naturally I did, otherwise you would not be reading this, but let me just tell you something, was I excited? Oh you can bet your bottom dollar I was.
Read More...
Mini Simmons - Single Review: Railroad For Two
01 Nov 2021 // by Chris Chick
I had the privilege of listening to another cracking song by Mini Simmons. Their latest release Railroad For Two hit my ears and I am happy to say, my heart was warmed by such a melodic and poignant song that is perfect for any setting where peace and calm are the order of the day.
Read More...
Oceanspace - Single Review: Silver City Rain
01 Sep 2021 // by Chris Chick
Now and again a song comes around that makes you stop and think "well that certainly surprised me". This is in no way a negative connotation, I would hate to think that my initial perspective was one of which, when I was given the task to review this song, I was already looking to the one-star rating.
Read More...
Salt Rock - Single Review: Six Appeal
30 Jul 2021 // by Chris Chick
Any song that has a sultry baseline and some trumpets are always going to grab my listening ear and have me easily fall in love with, that is just how I roll. Salt Rock are a funk-dub group based in Christchurch made up of seven pals doing their thing to the wonderful New Zealand music scene.
Read More...
View All Articles By Chris Chick

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • 685 (REMIX)
    Victor J Sefo, Lisi And Mwayz
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem