22 Jun 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Boy Virgo - Single Review: Psycho

15 Nov 2020 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Here is a track that takes what you think you know about genres of music and says, "Nope, you are wrong". On the new track Psycho from Boy Virgo, I think this is the one thing I really enjoyed.

It starts off with an 80's vibe because of the synth, yet it has a modern sound. And then within the first verse, I wasn't sure if this was an emo-trap thing. And when you get to the chorus.... it changes it up again! I love it.

Lyrically, Boy Virgo details what is happening in his head and what is driving him psycho. The effect on his voice really adds the right effect here to prop up the lyrics. "I'm breaking down, breaking down. I'm in my head and I feel like a clown. I'm going psycho." The vocal has a kind of vocoder effect which is so effective because we can still hear the lyrics perfectly. The mix is fantastic and when you hit that chorus it gets dark and heavy which I wasn't expecting. By the end of the track, the vocoder effect has completely come into full force, I read it as if he has gone psycho as described by all the issues he has during the song.

Overall, this is an effective and artistic track that is catchy and is produced well. Musically and sonically it sounds different to a lot of what I am hearing on the radio and in the mainstream while still being accessible.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Boy Virgo

Boy Virgo is a New Zealand born artist. He is a singer, songwriter and producer. He also plays the piano.

He works more in the pop realm of music but is able to be versatile and switch between multiple genres.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Boy Virgo

Releases

There are no releases to display for Boy Virgo.

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Y$O - Single Review: Cotton Candy
16 Jun 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Tracks like this deserve a good amount of attention. It's funky, groovy and makes you feel good.
Read More...
Y$O - Single Review: M.I.A
23 May 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Combining the forces of artists Sam V, Aidan Fine, JARNA, Brokeboi Ace and producers EDY, CreationKit & M4, Young & $lept On (Y$O) is New Zealand's newest supergroup. This stable of talent is set to disrupt airwaves and social media with their eclectic sense of style, talent and vision - demonstrated by the group's first release M.
Read More...
Ryan Farrell - Single Review: Teenage Dreamer
22 May 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
I love it when these sorts of things happen. At just 18, the new track Teenage Dreamer from Ryan Farrell is another example of a young artist who had a vision for their sound and delivers on it.
Read More...
D.Matthews - Single Review: Melanin Skin
29 Apr 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Melanin Skin is a new single from Auckland-based Nigerian singer-songwriter, D.Matthews (aka David Matthews) who has curated his own brand of energetic calm Afrobeat/Afropop.
Read More...
Silas Futura - EP Review: Pluto
21 Apr 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
The new EP Pluto from Silas Futura feels like a tip of the hat to Hip-Hop, with its roots coming from Jazz and all the breaks that bought together that style.On the opening track Care, the time signature plays games with you but that is fine because you won't really notice.
Read More...
Album Review: Hawkins
21 Apr 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Yep. I knew that voice immediately.
Read More...
Alders - Single Review: Hounds
23 Mar 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
The new track from Alders, Hounds, is quite a fun time alright! With a feel that seems inspired by the likes of Smash Mouth's Astro Lounge, The Dandy Warhols and 60's psychedelic pop-rock.
Read More...
Aidan Fine - Single Review: CLV
21 Mar 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Quick fire rapid lyrics. That’s what I like here.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • SOLAR POWER
    Lorde
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • TRAITOR
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • BODY (REMIX)
    Russ Millions x Tion Wayne
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • FAVORITE CRIME
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem