5 Mar 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Boy Virgo - Single Review: Psycho

15 Nov 2020 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Here is a track that takes what you think you know about genres of music and says, "Nope, you are wrong". On the new track Psycho from Boy Virgo, I think this is the one thing I really enjoyed.

It starts off with an 80's vibe because of the synth, yet it has a modern sound. And then within the first verse, I wasn't sure if this was an emo-trap thing. And when you get to the chorus.... it changes it up again! I love it.

Lyrically, Boy Virgo details what is happening in his head and what is driving him psycho. The effect on his voice really adds the right effect here to prop up the lyrics. "I'm breaking down, breaking down. I'm in my head and I feel like a clown. I'm going psycho." The vocal has a kind of vocoder effect which is so effective because we can still hear the lyrics perfectly. The mix is fantastic and when you hit that chorus it gets dark and heavy which I wasn't expecting. By the end of the track, the vocoder effect has completely come into full force, I read it as if he has gone psycho as described by all the issues he has during the song.

Overall, this is an effective and artistic track that is catchy and is produced well. Musically and sonically it sounds different to a lot of what I am hearing on the radio and in the mainstream while still being accessible.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Boy Virgo

Boy Virgo is a New Zealand born artist. He is a singer, songwriter and producer. He also plays the piano.

He works more in the pop realm of music but is able to be versatile and switch between multiple genres.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Boy Virgo

Releases

There are no releases to display for Boy Virgo.

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Jericho - EP Review: Rhythm
26 Feb 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Jericho are a 3-piece band made up of people who obviously love music. I say this because on their opening track Silence Won't Last, I kind of think it went through a lot of different styles and ideas that I actually didn't expect.
Read More...
Raw Collective - Album Review: The Good Things
18 Feb 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
The Good Things is the latest LP from the 10-piece live hip-hop band Raw Collective from Wellington. The album is quite something that showcases the versatility of the group's ability to swing from different styles of hip-hop, funk and soul.
Read More...
Fire For Glory - EP Review: Life Of The Party
16 Feb 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Yeah, bro. Get that punk-pop/rock vibe.
Read More...
Craig Payne - Album Review: I'm Not Giving The Game Away
10 Feb 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Ah. That's refreshing.
Read More...
Swerve City - Single Review: Sink Like Stones
05 Feb 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Right now, across New Zealand, there is a storm that keeps getting bigger and stronger. That storm is made up of an incredible group of artists and bands who are working to get more exposure to and notice from what I would call 'the mainstream'.
Read More...
Dilz - Single Review: Don't Trip
30 Jan 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Don't Trip is the latest track from Dilz, and slick production with a catchy chorus kicks this song off.  In what I would classify as pop-rap (this isn't a negative), it captivates the audience with a catchy hook.
Read More...
Will McClean - Single Review: One Way Road
30 Jan 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Will McClean's new track One Way Road is a stunner. The way the beat starts with backwards loops and trap style beats that have a hip-hip feel all work well.
Read More...
Mema Wilda - Single Review: How I Long
21 Jan 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Mema Wilda's newest track How I Long starts off with a simple acoustic guitar and vocal, but it's quick to showcase a track full of plenty of goodness. It's the type of song I would want to hear on modern pop radio; it's catchy and you can easily sing-a-long to it.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • WHY OH WHY
    L.A.B.
  • CALLING MY PHONE
    Lil Tjay feat. 6LACK
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • GOOD DAYS
    SZA
  • NOT MY NEIGHBOUR
    Niko Walters
  • CONTROLLER
    L.A.B.
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • WITHOUT YOU
    The Kid LAROI
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem