5 Mar 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Mecuzine - Single Review: Same Boat

30 Oct 2020 // A review by Darryl Baser

Same Boat is Mecuzine’s first release in two years, showcasing a new direction for brothers Joseph and Tony Johns.

Lyrically it reflects the global climate situation, "we’re all in the same boat and it’s sinking" from the chorus, spells it out pretty well.

Musically Same Boat opens up with synth strings, highlighting the musical direction for the pair, before guitar and programmed drums kick in.

The song was recorded, mixed and produced by Mecuzine in Tony’s living room with the gear they had available; an old laptop, even older amps, a couple of beat up dynamic microphones and a bunch of free software.

Tony Johns sings the first verse and chorus before handing over to Joseph for the remainder of the song.

The brothers have similar voices, Tony’s is slightly more baritone, and Joseph’s is more in the tenor range, and I can’t pick it but Joseph’s voice reminds me of a singer from late in the Britpop years, maybe that guy from Suede, yes Brett Anderson, that’s his name. As much as I loathe comparisons, there are some similarities in the way both singer flick up at the end of a line, almost a branching into a falsetto but not quite.

But I digress. Same Boat is a great song to launch Mecuzine’s new direction, I look forward to hearing more.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Mecuzine

Mecuzine – The Band

Mecuzine delivers a high-intensity performance, that keeps their audience engaged throughout each well-polished set. Combined, the two pieces bring with them years of experience from both a live performance perspective, as well as from in the studio.
Originally a 5-piece rock band, with their new minimized line-up, Joseph and Tony had to reinvent not just how they performed their music on stage but also how they conveyed their musical ideas. Going back to their beginnings, the duo first recalled the music throughout their lives that inspired them. Next, they looked at what defines popular music in the modern world. With that in mind, they have re-imagined their own music to bridge old and new and create their own sonic sound.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Mecuzine

Releases

Cutting Strings
Year: 2018
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Darryl Baser

Big Scout - Single Review: Mr. Slice
27 Feb 2021 // by Darryl Baser
Straight Outta Blenheim, noisy angular post-punk band Big Scout have released an addictive new song, Mr. Slice.
Read More...
Loud Ghost - Album Review: All In A Day
06 Feb 2021 // by Darryl Baser
Loud Ghost are a self-described "Rock n Roll trio from Auckland, New Zealand." It’s been 4 years since the first Loud Ghost record, and band members say they’re looking forward to getting All In A Day out and available to the public.
Read More...
James Hunter - EP Review: You
21 Jan 2021 // by Darryl Baser
There are tough days and good days in all aspects of life. In music reviewing there are recording which don’t grab you and professionalism is necessary.
Read More...
The Big Lawn - Album Review: Silverspoon
10 Dec 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Dunedin band The Big Lawn have just released their first album, Silverspoon. The album following on from the success of their debut EP Help Myself.
Read More...
Single Review: Viices: Double Denim 7”
01 Dec 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Viices, known to his mum as Jake McComb, has been making music for a number of years, releasing the Toxic EP in 2017. Double Denim is released on a grey marble 7", which was lovingly packed well in a box.
Read More...
Gig Review: French for Rabbits @ Bark, Dunedin - 27/11/2020
28 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Port Chalmers songwriter Lucy Hunter opened up the evening with Please Just Break My Heart and Let Me Go. Announcing to the rapidly filling Bark space at Dunedin’s Dog With Two Tails "this is my first [piano] gig standing up".
Read More...
Jolandi Ford - Single Review: You Ain’t In The Picture
28 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
I love me a good break up song, and You Ain’t In The Picture is such a song with a good dose of ‘don’t let the door hit you in the ass on the way out’. The joy in the subject of the song comes across in the lyrics; it's in the way you can hear the smile on her face as she delivers the lines, and also in the song’s composition, especially in the lift to the leading note of the chord, when Jolandi sings; "…will I cry a million tears?
Read More...
Gabriel Bond - Single Review: History
12 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
First thing; wow what a voice. Gabriel Bond has a stunning voice, I would frankly amazed if he hasn’t had a bunch of formal vocal training.
Read More...
View All Articles By Darryl Baser

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • WHY OH WHY
    L.A.B.
  • CALLING MY PHONE
    Lil Tjay feat. 6LACK
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • GOOD DAYS
    SZA
  • NOT MY NEIGHBOUR
    Niko Walters
  • CONTROLLER
    L.A.B.
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • WITHOUT YOU
    The Kid LAROI
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem