4 Dec 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Mecuzine - Single Review: Same Boat

30 Oct 2020 // A review by Darryl Baser

Same Boat is Mecuzine’s first release in two years, showcasing a new direction for brothers Joseph and Tony Johns.

Lyrically it reflects the global climate situation, "we’re all in the same boat and it’s sinking" from the chorus, spells it out pretty well.

Musically Same Boat opens up with synth strings, highlighting the musical direction for the pair, before guitar and programmed drums kick in.

The song was recorded, mixed and produced by Mecuzine in Tony’s living room with the gear they had available; an old laptop, even older amps, a couple of beat up dynamic microphones and a bunch of free software.

Tony Johns sings the first verse and chorus before handing over to Joseph for the remainder of the song.

The brothers have similar voices, Tony’s is slightly more baritone, and Joseph’s is more in the tenor range, and I can’t pick it but Joseph’s voice reminds me of a singer from late in the Britpop years, maybe that guy from Suede, yes Brett Anderson, that’s his name. As much as I loathe comparisons, there are some similarities in the way both singer flick up at the end of a line, almost a branching into a falsetto but not quite.

But I digress. Same Boat is a great song to launch Mecuzine’s new direction, I look forward to hearing more.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Mecuzine

Mecuzine – The Band

Mecuzine delivers a high-intensity performance, that keeps their audience engaged throughout each well-polished set. Combined, the two pieces bring with them years of experience from both a live performance perspective, as well as from in the studio.
Originally a 5-piece rock band, with their new minimized line-up, Joseph and Tony had to reinvent not just how they performed their music on stage but also how they conveyed their musical ideas. Going back to their beginnings, the duo first recalled the music throughout their lives that inspired them. Next, they looked at what defines popular music in the modern world. With that in mind, they have re-imagined their own music to bridge old and new and create their own sonic sound.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Mecuzine

Releases

Cutting Strings
Year: 2018
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Darryl Baser

Single Review: Viices: Double Denim 7”
01 Dec 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Viices, known to his mum as Jake McComb, has been making music for a number of years, releasing the Toxic EP in 2017. Double Denim is released on a grey marble 7", which was lovingly packed well in a box.
Read More...
Gig Review: French for Rabbits @ Bark, Dunedin - 27/11/2020
28 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Port Chalmers songwriter Lucy Hunter opened up the evening with Please Just Break My Heart and Let Me Go. Announcing to the rapidly filling Bark space at Dunedin’s Dog With Two Tails "this is my first [piano] gig standing up".
Read More...
Jolandi Ford - Single Review: You Ain’t In The Picture
28 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
I love me a good break up song, and You Ain’t In The Picture is such a song with a good dose of ‘don’t let the door hit you in the ass on the way out’. The joy in the subject of the song comes across in the lyrics; it's in the way you can hear the smile on her face as she delivers the lines, and also in the song’s composition, especially in the lift to the leading note of the chord, when Jolandi sings; "…will I cry a million tears?
Read More...
Gabriel Bond - Single Review: History
12 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
First thing; wow what a voice. Gabriel Bond has a stunning voice, I would frankly amazed if he hasn’t had a bunch of formal vocal training.
Read More...
Single Review: Redwoods
11 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
In their brief blurb, Redwoods describe themselves as "a Kiwi band formed on the Jurassic lake of Tarawera, featuring members of Fire at Will and Dead Favours". The band comprising of members Josh Dillner, Will Kearney and Hannah Kearney have recently released their debut single, which is self-titled.
Read More...
Gig Review: Die! Die! Die! @ Pioneer Hall, Port Chalmers - 06/11/2020
07 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Bliss Point are a Dunedin based high school band with musical lineage including drummer Tane Cotton, son of audio engineer Dale Cotton, and nephew of Shayne P Carter. Bliss Point take to the end of the room which is used as a stage to a quarter full room of their parents, school pals and unfashionably early concert goers, your humble scribe included.
Read More...
Gig Review: Delaney Davidson @ ADJO, Dunedin - 3/11/2020
04 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Cantabrian entertainer Delaney Davidson is on a smaller venues tour which saw him play in Ophir this week, along with shows at Dunedin’s boutique venue ADJO and at The Galley in Port Chalmers. A mostly seated crowd of around 30 people waited, looking at the stage set up in the corner of ADJO, before Delaney Davidson swaggered his way through the crowd from the back area.
Read More...
Jolandi Ford - Single Review: Torn Jeans
22 Oct 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Toe-tapping pop country at its best, with a good dose of sass. Jolandi Ford’s sound is unashamedly aimed at the commercial country music industry.
Read More...
View All Articles By Darryl Baser

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • POSITIONS
    Ariana Grande
  • THEREFORE I AM
    Billie Eilish
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • MONSTER
    Shawn Mendes And Justin Bieber
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem