27 Nov 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Troy Kingi - Album Review: The Ghost of Freddie Cesar

10 Sep 2020 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Genius. Honestly.

10 albums over 10 years in 10 different genres.

Album number four brings us into the funk world and honestly, it is almost as if Troy and his crew found a time machine. Everything here sounds fantastic. The arrangements, songwriting, delivery, sonic qualities... I could go on and on but I mustn't.

Consistently throughout the album, right from the opening track, there is funk everywhere. Just listen to those guitars, horns and vocals. Shake That Skinny Ass is a solid way to start the album.

And while it is a funk album, there are also different genres of funk. Take for example the tracks Chronophobic Disco and King Of The Powder just to name a few. There are so many influences can be identified but they are all treated completely with respect and only make these tracks even stronger. Songs like Nam Must Stay with its heavier feel never feels out of place.

One of the staples of funk is the killer horn arrangements coupled with a super-strong rhythm section made up of bass, drums, percussion and vamping guitar. Each song approaches and brings to life these elements in unique ways. On top of that, the vocal delivery and lyrics take this to a new level. It truly sounds authentic and given a lot of time and patience. Caught In The Rain is a perfect example of this. But then again so is Through My Venetions with its incredible bass line.

The accompanying video for the single All Your Ships Have Sailed is fantastic suits the video and package of the whole album.

Troy Kingi has brought together a hell of a team that has allowed for his vision to be fleshed out and given the attention to detail it needs. The musicianship is top-notch, as is Troy's vocals and songwriting.

This is easily one of the most unique and best albums I have heard in 2020.

Right, need to bring out my turntable and play this one on that.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Troy Kingi

Bay of Islands-based musician/actor Troy Kingi has embarked on an eventful few years with major acting roles in Hunt For The Wilderpeople, Pa Boys, Mt Zion and The Kick, while also enjoying a successful music career. Troy Kingi was nominated for an APRA Silver Scroll last year and earned Vodafone Music Awards for Best NZ Soul Artist and Best Maori Artist in 2018. His side project, collaborative soul band L(())VE & HOPE also received rave reviews but Troy's most recent offering is his politically charged roots/reggae record, Holy Colony Burning Acres.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Troy Kingi

Releases

The Ghost of Freddie Cesar
Year: 2020
Type: Album
Holy Colony Burning Acres
Year: 2019
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Gig Review: Th' Dudes @ Town Hall, Auckland - 19/11/2020
21 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Arriving at the Auckland Town Hall and subsequently finding parking was a lot easier than I had anticipated. The town seems very quiet at around 7:30 pm, although there is a large gathering of people around the Town Hall, an indication that something big is happening.
Read More...
Boy Virgo - Single Review: Psycho
15 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Here is a track that takes what you think you know about genres of music and says, "Nope, you are wrong". On the new track Psycho from Boy Virgo, I think this is the one thing I really enjoyed.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Jordan Luck Band @ Pukekohe Cosmopolitan Club, Pukekohe - 6/11/2020
08 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
It’s a Friday night in Pukekohe and as I walk into the Pukekohe Cosmopolitan Club just before 8 pm you can feel the anticipation in the air. Looking like a high school ball, there is a large dance floor in front of the stage while the rest of the venue is lined vertically with tables.
Read More...
Krispy & The Pooch - EP Review Drop The Needle
06 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Wow. Krispy & The Pooch have quite the EP here.
Read More...
And$um - EP Review: Late Nights
29 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
And$um has returned with a new EP. Made up of six tracks, this is yet another collection of songs that demonstrate the sound Sam brings to this project.
Read More...
Gig Review: BENEE @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 16/10/2020
17 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
As I got to Spark Arena for the first time since February this year, I couldn't help but notice how many families were there with smiling kids, and parents alike, all waiting for doors to open. BENEE has become quite a superstar over this past year which has been awesome to see.
Read More...
theajsound - Single Review: Sorrow
12 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Auckland based Indian born singer and songwriter theajsound (AKA AJ) has released a string of singles this year which have amassed hundreds of thousands stream on Spotify, and his latest, Sorrow is a catchy new tune that instantly catches your ear.The guitar sound is clean and an instant classic.
Read More...
Sam V - EP Review: Cruisin'
08 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The new EP from Sam V, bKidd and EDY is a blast. With a few skits interwoven into the EP, the whole package feels well thought out and it sounds great.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THEREFORE I AM
    Billie Eilish
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • POSITIONS
    Ariana Grande
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • FADE AWAY
    Six60
  • WHAT YOU KNOW BOUT LOVE
    Pop Smoke
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem