21 Feb 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Troy Kingi - Album Review: The Ghost of Freddie Cesar

10 Sep 2020 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Genius. Honestly.

10 albums over 10 years in 10 different genres.

Album number four brings us into the funk world and honestly, it is almost as if Troy and his crew found a time machine. Everything here sounds fantastic. The arrangements, songwriting, delivery, sonic qualities... I could go on and on but I mustn't.

Consistently throughout the album, right from the opening track, there is funk everywhere. Just listen to those guitars, horns and vocals. Shake That Skinny Ass is a solid way to start the album.

And while it is a funk album, there are also different genres of funk. Take for example the tracks Chronophobic Disco and King Of The Powder just to name a few. There are so many influences can be identified but they are all treated completely with respect and only make these tracks even stronger. Songs like Nam Must Stay with its heavier feel never feels out of place.

One of the staples of funk is the killer horn arrangements coupled with a super-strong rhythm section made up of bass, drums, percussion and vamping guitar. Each song approaches and brings to life these elements in unique ways. On top of that, the vocal delivery and lyrics take this to a new level. It truly sounds authentic and given a lot of time and patience. Caught In The Rain is a perfect example of this. But then again so is Through My Venetions with its incredible bass line.

The accompanying video for the single All Your Ships Have Sailed is fantastic suits the video and package of the whole album.

Troy Kingi has brought together a hell of a team that has allowed for his vision to be fleshed out and given the attention to detail it needs. The musicianship is top-notch, as is Troy's vocals and songwriting.

This is easily one of the most unique and best albums I have heard in 2020.

Right, need to bring out my turntable and play this one on that.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Troy Kingi

Troy Kingi (Te Arawa, Ngapuhi, Te Whanau-a-Apanui) is an actor and multi-award-winning, multi-genre musician from Aotearoa, New Zealand.

Described by the New Zealand Herald as “One of our finest Songwriters ”, Kingi rose to fame after the release of his first two multi-award-winning albums Guitar Party at Uncles Bach and Shake That Skinny Ass All the Way to Zygertron, along with memorable major roles in Kiwi films including ‘Hunt For The Wilderpeople’, ‘The Pa Boys’, ‘Mt Zion’ and ‘The Breaker Upperers’.

Since then he has gone on to roles in multiple New Zealand Films, TV Series, and television commercials.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Troy Kingi

Releases

Pu Whenua Hautapu, Eka Mumura
Year: 2022
Type: Album
Black Sea Golden Ladder
Year: 2021
Type: Album
The Ghost of Freddie Cesar
Year: 2020
Type: Album
Holy Colony Burning Acres
Year: 2019
Type: Album
Guitar Party at Uncle's Bach
Year: 2016
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Tom Knowles - Album Review: Atarangi - Morning Sky
28 Jun 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
Tom Knowles latest release Atarangi - Morning Sky is a must listen. Like, close this page now, go listen to the album, and then come back and read this.
Read More...
SuperMild - Single Review: Self Respect
21 Jun 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
SuperMild is a 3-piece genre-spanning band based in Auckland. Once cited in a review as spanning Reggae, Dub, Roots, RnB, Funk, Psychedelic, Rock, and Jazz, SuperMild is driven by a desire to not get stuck in one sound, and to bring banter, energy, a good time, and a great sound to as many stages as possible.
Read More...
Mazbou Q - SURVIVR6 - EP Review: Metahuman
11 May 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
This latest EP release, Metahuman, immerses listeners in a captivating cinematic journey from its very first note. With an infusion of sounds and concepts reminiscent of high-budget modern action films, the EP exudes an undeniable sense of intensity and potency that is instantly evident on the opening track, BBDO.
Read More...
Dilz - Single Review: Mentality
03 May 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
Dilz' latest track, Mentality, is a focused and polished work that showcases his unwavering dedication to his craft. The song's beat slowly develops, creating a sense of determination that is further reinforced by the lyrics, "Wake up in morning with a hustler mentality," in the first chorus.
Read More...
Eliezer - Album Review: Kingdom Come
13 Apr 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
Eliezer is a rising artist in the hip-hop scene, and his latest album Kingdom Come showcases his undeniable talent and passion for music. Produced in collaboration with Ten.
Read More...
Frontier - Single Review: Star Walkin'
28 Feb 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
Frontier are a passionate and energetic Pop Punk and Easycore four piece band from Christchurch, New Zealand. Their new release, Star Walkin', is driven by a huge intro that quickly moves into what we would expect from Pop/Punk, this song rocks.
Read More...
Swizl Jager - Single/Video Review: Nanny Pia
06 Jan 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
The new track from Swizl Jager, Nanny Pia, is a fantastic new track that will have your head bobbing in a humble way. It's got a great vibe that will have you hitting that repeat button.
Read More...
Dilz - Single/Video Review: I've Been 2
05 Dec 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Dilz' new track I've Been 2 hits hard. With a huge bass sound that doesn't overwhelm as much as it just makes you aware of its power, paired with the chimes as a hook and a powerful trap beat, I would say that this Dilz track is a statement about where he has come from and where he is now.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • PRAISE JAH IN THE MOONLIGHT
    YG Marley
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • STICK SEASON
    Noah Kahan
  • LOVIN ON ME
    Jack Harlow
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • SNOOZE
    SZA
  • GREEDY
    Tate McRae
  • CRUEL SUMMER
    Taylor Swift
  • CARNIVAL
    Kanye West And Ty Dolla $ign
  • MURDER ON THE DANCEFLOOR
    Sophie Ellis-Bextor
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem