19 Sep 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Settlers - Single Review: Love

06 Sep 2020 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Driven by a catchy guitar loop and backed up with a beat that ebbs and flows, the new track Love from The Settlers really puts its focus on its lyrics and delivery.

Keeping the vocal effects to the minimum here allows the verses to sound authentic and real. Speaking about love and being grateful for everything your significant other brings to a relationship, the delivery works well by keeping it easy flowing so each word and lyric can be heard over the two verses. Even the chorus keeps it tidy and simple which demonstrates an understanding of arranging music with an idea in mind. A tasty guitar solo at the very end of was an unexpected twist which felt completely right and needed.

Paired with clean mixing and solid production, this new track stands up against a lot of today's hip-hop and rap while keeping it real and bringing some well thought out lyrics.

An excellent track.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About The Settlers

The Settlers are a thriving hip-hop crew reigning from Lyttelton Harbour and crafted in the cradle of Canterbury. A soulful expression of rap and its qualities that expresses an uplifting approach to the hip-hop genre in a gritty smooth blend. Their dynamic wordplay and solid content bring a strong presence of awareness and empathy. They provoke thought and adorn their subjective while relating to the common man and woman with both integrity and levity.

The settlers consist of Anthony Horan, Elias Tyro and Laura Hunter and their synergy of vocals form an animated rise of frequency DJ’d by Michael Thorpe. With early success playing at Rhythm and Alps 2017 and recently played Northern Bass bringing in 2019. They have consistent packed out local shows with performances throughout New Zealand and recent support for the 2018 sold out Home Brew tour in Wellington and Christchurch. The Settlers raise questions hungry for relations, engaging the audience with witty tales of wisdom, battles of fear and games of desire, a truly conscious resonance of modern hip-hop. After the fresh release of their fourth EP Steps


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Settlers

Releases

Steps
Year: 2018
Type: EP
Due Date
Year: 2017
Type: Album
Train of Thought
Year: 2016
Type: EP
...
Year: 2016
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

The RVMES - Single Review: Big Bam Boom
14 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The RVMES newest track Big Bam Boom is a good time that deserves your attention.The rawness and realness of this track cannot be denied.
Read More...
Troy Kingi - Album Review: The Ghost of Freddie Cesar
10 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Genius. Honestly.
Read More...
Dub Boys - EP Review: Fortune Favours The Bold
10 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The newest EP from the Dub Boys is fantastic. As someone who appreciates all styles of music, Hip-Hop continues to be one I stay fascinated with due to the current climate and success of certain artists.
Read More...
Ekko Park - Album Review: Horizon
24 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The latest album from Ekko Park is an absolute blast of a time to listen to from beginning to end.All Eyes On Me sets the scene by just giving it everything.
Read More...
Investigator - Single Review: Bad Luck Shoebox
17 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Classic rock vibes crossed with modern rock sound drives this new track from Investigator. Driven by Adrian Drew, Investigator has a sound that is clear and defined and Bad Luck Shoebox adds another track to an ever-growing catalogue that showcases his ideas and sounds that make up Investigator.
Read More...
Will McClean - Album Review: Can't Sleep I'm Dreaming
07 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The new album from Will McClean takes a lot of well-produced beats and combines them with his flow and lyrics. It's a smooth ride most of the time as is demonstrated in the opening track Front Desk featuring JClean.
Read More...
TheOpHilus - Single Review: My Little Rugrat
02 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Authentic and real; that’s the best way to describe the new track My Little Rugrat from TheOpHilus. True Hip-Hop has always been, in my mind, sampling and talking about how things are where you are right now.
Read More...
InDuna - Single Review: Black Man Running
30 Jul 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Black Man Running is the new single from InDuna. It is a personal illustration of InDuna's racial experiences both here in New Zealand and South Africa.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • LAUGH NOW CRY LATER
    Drake feat. Lil Durk
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • MOOD SWINGS
    Pop Smoke feat. Lil Tjay
  • SWEET & SOUR
    Jawsh 685 feat. Lauv And Tyga
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem