30 Nov 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Settlers - Single Review: Love

06 Sep 2020 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Driven by a catchy guitar loop and backed up with a beat that ebbs and flows, the new track Love from The Settlers really puts its focus on its lyrics and delivery.

Keeping the vocal effects to the minimum here allows the verses to sound authentic and real. Speaking about love and being grateful for everything your significant other brings to a relationship, the delivery works well by keeping it easy flowing so each word and lyric can be heard over the two verses. Even the chorus keeps it tidy and simple which demonstrates an understanding of arranging music with an idea in mind. A tasty guitar solo at the very end of was an unexpected twist which felt completely right and needed.

Paired with clean mixing and solid production, this new track stands up against a lot of today's hip-hop and rap while keeping it real and bringing some well thought out lyrics.

An excellent track.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About The Settlers

The Settlers are a thriving hip-hop crew reigning from Lyttelton Harbour and crafted in the cradle of Canterbury. A soulful expression of rap and its qualities that expresses an uplifting approach to the hip-hop genre in a gritty smooth blend. Their dynamic wordplay and solid content bring a strong presence of awareness and empathy. They provoke thought and adorn their subjective while relating to the common man and woman with both integrity and levity.

The settlers consist of Anthony Horan, Elias Tyro and Laura Hunter and their synergy of vocals form an animated rise of frequency DJ’d by Michael Thorpe. With early success playing at Rhythm and Alps 2017 and recently played Northern Bass bringing in 2019. They have consistent packed out local shows with performances throughout New Zealand and recent support for the 2018 sold out Home Brew tour in Wellington and Christchurch. The Settlers raise questions hungry for relations, engaging the audience with witty tales of wisdom, battles of fear and games of desire, a truly conscious resonance of modern hip-hop. After the fresh release of their fourth EP Steps


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Settlers

Releases

Steps
Year: 2018
Type: EP
Due Date
Year: 2017
Type: Album
Train of Thought
Year: 2016
Type: EP
...
Year: 2016
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Gig Review: Th' Dudes @ Town Hall, Auckland - 19/11/2020
21 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Arriving at the Auckland Town Hall and subsequently finding parking was a lot easier than I had anticipated. The town seems very quiet at around 7:30 pm, although there is a large gathering of people around the Town Hall, an indication that something big is happening.
Read More...
Boy Virgo - Single Review: Psycho
15 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Here is a track that takes what you think you know about genres of music and says, "Nope, you are wrong". On the new track Psycho from Boy Virgo, I think this is the one thing I really enjoyed.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Jordan Luck Band @ Pukekohe Cosmopolitan Club, Pukekohe - 6/11/2020
08 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
It’s a Friday night in Pukekohe and as I walk into the Pukekohe Cosmopolitan Club just before 8 pm you can feel the anticipation in the air. Looking like a high school ball, there is a large dance floor in front of the stage while the rest of the venue is lined vertically with tables.
Read More...
Krispy & The Pooch - EP Review Drop The Needle
06 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Wow. Krispy & The Pooch have quite the EP here.
Read More...
And$um - EP Review: Late Nights
29 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
And$um has returned with a new EP. Made up of six tracks, this is yet another collection of songs that demonstrate the sound Sam brings to this project.
Read More...
Gig Review: BENEE @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 16/10/2020
17 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
As I got to Spark Arena for the first time since February this year, I couldn't help but notice how many families were there with smiling kids, and parents alike, all waiting for doors to open. BENEE has become quite a superstar over this past year which has been awesome to see.
Read More...
theajsound - Single Review: Sorrow
12 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Auckland based Indian born singer and songwriter theajsound (AKA AJ) has released a string of singles this year which have amassed hundreds of thousands stream on Spotify, and his latest, Sorrow is a catchy new tune that instantly catches your ear.The guitar sound is clean and an instant classic.
Read More...
Sam V - EP Review: Cruisin'
08 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The new EP from Sam V, bKidd and EDY is a blast. With a few skits interwoven into the EP, the whole package feels well thought out and it sounds great.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • POSITIONS
    Ariana Grande
  • THEREFORE I AM
    Billie Eilish
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • MONSTER
    Shawn Mendes And Justin Bieber
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem