27 Feb 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Settlers - Single Review: Love

06 Sep 2020 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Driven by a catchy guitar loop and backed up with a beat that ebbs and flows, the new track Love from The Settlers really puts its focus on its lyrics and delivery.

Keeping the vocal effects to the minimum here allows the verses to sound authentic and real. Speaking about love and being grateful for everything your significant other brings to a relationship, the delivery works well by keeping it easy flowing so each word and lyric can be heard over the two verses. Even the chorus keeps it tidy and simple which demonstrates an understanding of arranging music with an idea in mind. A tasty guitar solo at the very end of was an unexpected twist which felt completely right and needed.

Paired with clean mixing and solid production, this new track stands up against a lot of today's hip-hop and rap while keeping it real and bringing some well thought out lyrics.

An excellent track.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About The Settlers

The Settlers are a thriving hip-hop crew reigning from Lyttelton Harbour and crafted in the cradle of Canterbury. A soulful expression of rap and its qualities that expresses an uplifting approach to the hip-hop genre in a gritty smooth blend. Their dynamic wordplay and solid content bring a strong presence of awareness and empathy. They provoke thought and adorn their subjective while relating to the common man and woman with both integrity and levity.

The settlers consist of Anthony Horan, Elias Tyro and Laura Hunter and their synergy of vocals form an animated rise of frequency DJ’d by Michael Thorpe. With early success playing at Rhythm and Alps 2017 and recently played Northern Bass bringing in 2019. They have consistent packed out local shows with performances throughout New Zealand and recent support for the 2018 sold out Home Brew tour in Wellington and Christchurch. The Settlers raise questions hungry for relations, engaging the audience with witty tales of wisdom, battles of fear and games of desire, a truly conscious resonance of modern hip-hop. After the fresh release of their fourth EP Steps


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Settlers

Releases

Steps
Year: 2018
Type: EP
Due Date
Year: 2017
Type: Album
Train of Thought
Year: 2016
Type: EP
...
Year: 2016
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Jericho - EP Review: Rhythm
26 Feb 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Jericho are a 3-piece band made up of people who obviously love music. I say this because on their opening track Silence Won't Last, I kind of think it went through a lot of different styles and ideas that I actually didn't expect.
Read More...
Raw Collective - Album Review: The Good Things
18 Feb 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
The Good Things is the latest LP from the 10-piece live hip-hop band Raw Collective from Wellington. The album is quite something that showcases the versatility of the group's ability to swing from different styles of hip-hop, funk and soul.
Read More...
Fire For Glory - EP Review: Life Of The Party
16 Feb 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Yeah, bro. Get that punk-pop/rock vibe.
Read More...
Craig Payne - Album Review: I'm Not Giving The Game Away
10 Feb 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Ah. That's refreshing.
Read More...
Swerve City - Single Review: Sink Like Stones
05 Feb 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Right now, across New Zealand, there is a storm that keeps getting bigger and stronger. That storm is made up of an incredible group of artists and bands who are working to get more exposure to and notice from what I would call 'the mainstream'.
Read More...
Dilz - Single Review: Don't Trip
30 Jan 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Don't Trip is the latest track from Dilz, and slick production with a catchy chorus kicks this song off.  In what I would classify as pop-rap (this isn't a negative), it captivates the audience with a catchy hook.
Read More...
Will McClean - Single Review: One Way Road
30 Jan 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Will McClean's new track One Way Road is a stunner. The way the beat starts with backwards loops and trap style beats that have a hip-hip feel all work well.
Read More...
Mema Wilda - Single Review: How I Long
21 Jan 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Mema Wilda's newest track How I Long starts off with a simple acoustic guitar and vocal, but it's quick to showcase a track full of plenty of goodness. It's the type of song I would want to hear on modern pop radio; it's catchy and you can easily sing-a-long to it.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • WHY OH WHY
    L.A.B.
  • CALLING MY PHONE
    Lil Tjay feat. 6LACK
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • GOOD DAYS
    SZA
  • NOT MY NEIGHBOUR
    Niko Walters
  • CONTROLLER
    L.A.B.
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • WITHOUT YOU
    The Kid LAROI
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem