19 Apr 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Settlers - Single Review: Love

06 Sep 2020 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Driven by a catchy guitar loop and backed up with a beat that ebbs and flows, the new track Love from The Settlers really puts its focus on its lyrics and delivery.

Keeping the vocal effects to the minimum here allows the verses to sound authentic and real. Speaking about love and being grateful for everything your significant other brings to a relationship, the delivery works well by keeping it easy flowing so each word and lyric can be heard over the two verses. Even the chorus keeps it tidy and simple which demonstrates an understanding of arranging music with an idea in mind. A tasty guitar solo at the very end of was an unexpected twist which felt completely right and needed.

Paired with clean mixing and solid production, this new track stands up against a lot of today's hip-hop and rap while keeping it real and bringing some well thought out lyrics.

An excellent track.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About The Settlers

The Settlers are a thriving hip-hop crew reigning from Lyttelton Harbour and crafted in the cradle of Canterbury. A soulful expression of rap and its qualities that expresses an uplifting approach to the hip-hop genre in a gritty smooth blend. Their dynamic wordplay and solid content bring a strong presence of awareness and empathy. They provoke thought and adorn their subjective while relating to the common man and woman with both integrity and levity.

The settlers consist of Anthony Horan, Elias Tyro and Laura Hunter and their synergy of vocals form an animated rise of frequency DJ’d by Michael Thorpe. With early success playing at Rhythm and Alps 2017 and recently played Northern Bass bringing in 2019. They have consistent packed out local shows with performances throughout New Zealand and recent support for the 2018 sold out Home Brew tour in Wellington and Christchurch. The Settlers raise questions hungry for relations, engaging the audience with witty tales of wisdom, battles of fear and games of desire, a truly conscious resonance of modern hip-hop. After the fresh release of their fourth EP Steps


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Settlers

Releases

Timeline
Year: 2021
Type: Album
Steps
Year: 2018
Type: EP
Due Date
Year: 2017
Type: Album
Train of Thought
Year: 2016
Type: EP
...
Year: 2016
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Tom Knowles - Album Review: Atarangi - Morning Sky
28 Jun 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
Tom Knowles latest release Atarangi - Morning Sky is a must listen. Like, close this page now, go listen to the album, and then come back and read this.
Read More...
SuperMild - Single Review: Self Respect
21 Jun 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
SuperMild is a 3-piece genre-spanning band based in Auckland. Once cited in a review as spanning Reggae, Dub, Roots, RnB, Funk, Psychedelic, Rock, and Jazz, SuperMild is driven by a desire to not get stuck in one sound, and to bring banter, energy, a good time, and a great sound to as many stages as possible.
Read More...
Mazbou Q - SURVIVR6 - EP Review: Metahuman
11 May 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
This latest EP release, Metahuman, immerses listeners in a captivating cinematic journey from its very first note. With an infusion of sounds and concepts reminiscent of high-budget modern action films, the EP exudes an undeniable sense of intensity and potency that is instantly evident on the opening track, BBDO.
Read More...
Dilz - Single Review: Mentality
03 May 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
Dilz' latest track, Mentality, is a focused and polished work that showcases his unwavering dedication to his craft. The song's beat slowly develops, creating a sense of determination that is further reinforced by the lyrics, "Wake up in morning with a hustler mentality," in the first chorus.
Read More...
Eliezer - Album Review: Kingdom Come
13 Apr 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
Eliezer is a rising artist in the hip-hop scene, and his latest album Kingdom Come showcases his undeniable talent and passion for music. Produced in collaboration with Ten.
Read More...
Frontier - Single Review: Star Walkin'
28 Feb 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
Frontier are a passionate and energetic Pop Punk and Easycore four piece band from Christchurch, New Zealand. Their new release, Star Walkin', is driven by a huge intro that quickly moves into what we would expect from Pop/Punk, this song rocks.
Read More...
Swizl Jager - Single/Video Review: Nanny Pia
06 Jan 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
The new track from Swizl Jager, Nanny Pia, is a fantastic new track that will have your head bobbing in a humble way. It's got a great vibe that will have you hitting that repeat button.
Read More...
Dilz - Single/Video Review: I've Been 2
05 Dec 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Dilz' new track I've Been 2 hits hard. With a huge bass sound that doesn't overwhelm as much as it just makes you aware of its power, paired with the chimes as a hook and a powerful trap beat, I would say that this Dilz track is a statement about where he has come from and where he is now.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • LIKE THAT
    Future And Metro Boomin feat. Kendrick Lamar
  • END OF BEGINNING
    Djo
  • I LIKE THE WAY YOU KISS ME
    Artemas
  • WE CAN'T BE FRIENDS (WAIT FOR YOUR LOVE)
    Ariana Grande
  • STICK SEASON
    Noah Kahan
  • TEXAS HOLD 'EM
    Beyonce
  • LEAVEMEALONE
    Fred Again.. And Baby Keem
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem