19 Sep 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Investigator - Single Review: Bad Luck Shoebox

17 Aug 2020 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Classic rock vibes crossed with modern rock sound drives this new track from Investigator. Driven by Adrian Drew, Investigator has a sound that is clear and defined and Bad Luck Shoebox adds another track to an ever-growing catalogue that showcases his ideas and sounds that make up Investigator.

The driving nature of the guitar and rhythm section propels this song forward. The chorus changes up the feel with the drums doubling time which adds another level to this track. The bridge also changes things up even more with a fast-paced vocal delivery becoming the centre of attention.

The track is a true classic with catchy melodies that develop and build up to its chorus. Surrounded by wonderfully recorded and mixed guitars, drums and bass, everything works in creating and pushing forward that sound that is Investigator.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Investigator

Investigator is the brainchild of singer/songwriter & producer, Adrian Drew.

Now with a full band made up of experienced rockers, Investigator has been picked up by a dozen radio stations, here in N.Z. & throughout the US, Canada, South Africa, UK & Australia. Recently Livin’ in a Magazine was #1 for a record breaking seven weeks on Spiderweb Radio’s Top 15 & made KB Radio’s Song of the Year chart!

It's all about the melodies and soaring choruses, with catchy riffs & driving guitar. These are bright shiny songs with dark undertones, a juxtaposition reflecting life. The love, loss and societal stabs feature heavy... but within the dark brooding space there is always a hint of optimism.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Investigator

Releases

Investigator
Year: 2018
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

The RVMES - Single Review: Big Bam Boom
14 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The RVMES newest track Big Bam Boom is a good time that deserves your attention.The rawness and realness of this track cannot be denied.
Read More...
Troy Kingi - Album Review: The Ghost of Freddie Cesar
10 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Genius. Honestly.
Read More...
Dub Boys - EP Review: Fortune Favours The Bold
10 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The newest EP from the Dub Boys is fantastic. As someone who appreciates all styles of music, Hip-Hop continues to be one I stay fascinated with due to the current climate and success of certain artists.
Read More...
The Settlers - Single Review: Love
06 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Driven by a catchy guitar loop and backed up with a beat that ebbs and flows, the new track Love from The Settlers really puts its focus on its lyrics and delivery.Keeping the vocal effects to the minimum here allows the verses to sound authentic and real.
Read More...
Ekko Park - Album Review: Horizon
24 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The latest album from Ekko Park is an absolute blast of a time to listen to from beginning to end.All Eyes On Me sets the scene by just giving it everything.
Read More...
Will McClean - Album Review: Can't Sleep I'm Dreaming
07 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The new album from Will McClean takes a lot of well-produced beats and combines them with his flow and lyrics. It's a smooth ride most of the time as is demonstrated in the opening track Front Desk featuring JClean.
Read More...
TheOpHilus - Single Review: My Little Rugrat
02 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Authentic and real; that’s the best way to describe the new track My Little Rugrat from TheOpHilus. True Hip-Hop has always been, in my mind, sampling and talking about how things are where you are right now.
Read More...
InDuna - Single Review: Black Man Running
30 Jul 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Black Man Running is the new single from InDuna. It is a personal illustration of InDuna's racial experiences both here in New Zealand and South Africa.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • LAUGH NOW CRY LATER
    Drake feat. Lil Durk
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • MOOD SWINGS
    Pop Smoke feat. Lil Tjay
  • SWEET & SOUR
    Jawsh 685 feat. Lauv And Tyga
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem