27 Nov 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Churlington - EP Review: ...Or That The Hummingbird Is So Seldom Seen

13 Aug 2020 // A review by Paul Goddard

Why?

Why is music so important? Something that is so disposable but equally so integral to being human can literally change the way you feel, the way you think.

This is why I love music.

That moment where you put the headphones on, no expectations, no pre-conceptions, the remnants of a shit day still spinning through a mind in need of escape. A need to be transported somewhere else. Music is many things but primarily it is an attitude adjuster.

A short sharp shock can wake you from a sleepy haze, the thrill and energy encapsulated in 3 minutes of sonic meltdown can literally change your world.

We are always searching for something. We search more than ever now and are surrounded by media that tries to grab our attention when our attention has a span of nanoseconds. In this flood of imagery and noise many people try to follow. Follow the trends, follow the influencers, follow a path that has been laid threadbare by millions of artists all trying to be the next big thing.

Churlington are walking their own path. Always challenging, pushing boundaries, insular while looking outward and forward they are masters in a world of puppets.

Their latest EP is testament to a band that is and will always remain timeless, nationless, globally influenced and influencing. To compare their creativity to the likes of Tool, Helmet, Deftones isn’t a step too far.

Each song has a life of its own. Throwing the listener a curveball, a new experience, a feeling to devour. To describe each song, break it down into a clever prose would be like taking a picture of the NZ sunset with your phone. It wouldn’t do it justice.

All I can say is if you haven’t heard Churlington and you love music then you need to buy this EP. They are the most exciting band to come out of New Zealand right now and will influence everyone who listens.

Put your headphones on and be transported to somewhere very very special.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Churlington

We are Churlington.

https://horsepants.bandcamp.com/


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Churlington

Releases

Untitled
Year: 2018
Type: EP
Churlington Suck Live
Year: 2017
Type: Album
The Andy Anderson EP
Year: 2017
Type: EP
Ray Brower
Year: 2016
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

The Avondale Spiders - Single Review: Black Magik Pills
05 Nov 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Do you miss anything at the moment?The world is in a crazy place and it is easy to not want to look forward when the future doesn’t look so bright.
Read More...
Coffin Club - Single Review: Gaslight
08 Oct 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Gaslight (or rather Gaslighting) has become a bit of a buzz word recently and sits perfectly as the title for this short sharp shock of fuzzed up punk from Auckland three piece Coffin Club.Unlike a real Gaslight, this song is no slow burner.
Read More...
The Response - Single Review: All Of My Flaws
24 Sep 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Smooth.A word that sounds just as good as it looks.
Read More...
EP Review: Dick Raine and Dick’s Guns
08 Sep 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Lockdowns are shit. A few months ago, we didn’t even know what a lockdown was nor social distancing and let’s face it the world is pretty fucked at the moment.
Read More...
Big Scout - Single Review: Nothing Ever Happens
25 Aug 2020 // by Paul Goddard
There are ear worms.Then there is this little snaky bastard of a tune from Big Scout.
Read More...
Transistor - Single Review: Nothing New
30 Jul 2020 // by Paul Goddard
New single Nothing New from Wellington-based Transistor is a tricky, trippy, psychedelic aural beast. A snarly bastard of a song.
Read More...
Sit Down In Front - Album Review: Confessions of a Pie Thief
26 Jun 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Punk music means different things to different people. Over the years like most genres it has morphed, been watered down, kicked about and spat out.
Read More...
Repairs - Single Review: Cut To The Chase
23 Jun 2020 // by Paul Goddard
You know that feeling you get when you discover something you weren’t expecting? Not in a bad way, fuck that - we have all discovered too much badness lately.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THEREFORE I AM
    Billie Eilish
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • POSITIONS
    Ariana Grande
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • FADE AWAY
    Six60
  • WHAT YOU KNOW BOUT LOVE
    Pop Smoke
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem