24 Nov 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Will McClean - Album Review: Can't Sleep I'm Dreaming

07 Aug 2020 // A review by Ben Ruegg

The new album from Will McClean takes a lot of well-produced beats and combines them with his flow and lyrics. It's a smooth ride most of the time as is demonstrated in the opening track Front Desk featuring JClean.

Hand picked beats from a range of producers and beat makers allows Will McClean to focus on his vocals and lyrics that tell his stories. At times though, some of these didn't make a lot of sense to me. And that's fine. I don't have to understand everything and I don't believe that it's my place to discredit anything he does artistically. To even things out, there are plenty of tracks here where he spills his heart out through rhyme and poetry. It is worth mentioning that his flow and delivery is solid. I hear a lot of influences, one being Home Brew's Tom Scott.

The authentic delivery, not over hyped or yelling deserves credit. And still, when it's required he's not afraid to go there. There are softer songs with guest artists to allow that side to show. The selection of his beats are fantastic and showcases an artist that is capable of hearing something and figuring out how to approach it. An example of this is the track Healing.

A solid release worthy of your attention. I like the diversity here and the thoughtfulness of his lyrics when they describe in detail his life and feelings. Dream/Cold Coffee is a perfect example of this. There is a lot to love here and I have a lot of respect for any artist who puts their heart out on their sleeve.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Will McClean

Born and raised with the perfect balance of city and coastal living, Will McClean has been grinding in a basement working out his place in this world with the help of a pen and some words.

With three EP’s released in 2019 on Soundcloud, and one in January 2020. Will has been busy working on his craft.

Taking inspiration from artists such as Mac Miller, J Cole and Tom Scott to name a few; his laid back style is intertwined with message to spread peace and love to other humans and to this earth.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Will McClean

Releases

There are no releases to display for Will McClean.

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Gig Review: Th' Dudes @ Town Hall, Auckland - 19/11/2020
21 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Arriving at the Auckland Town Hall and subsequently finding parking was a lot easier than I had anticipated. The town seems very quiet at around 7:30 pm, although there is a large gathering of people around the Town Hall, an indication that something big is happening.
Read More...
Boy Virgo - Single Review: Psycho
15 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Here is a track that takes what you think you know about genres of music and says, "Nope, you are wrong". On the new track Psycho from Boy Virgo, I think this is the one thing I really enjoyed.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Jordan Luck Band @ Pukekohe Cosmopolitan Club, Pukekohe - 6/11/2020
08 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
It’s a Friday night in Pukekohe and as I walk into the Pukekohe Cosmopolitan Club just before 8 pm you can feel the anticipation in the air. Looking like a high school ball, there is a large dance floor in front of the stage while the rest of the venue is lined vertically with tables.
Read More...
Krispy & The Pooch - EP Review Drop The Needle
06 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Wow. Krispy & The Pooch have quite the EP here.
Read More...
And$um - EP Review: Late Nights
29 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
And$um has returned with a new EP. Made up of six tracks, this is yet another collection of songs that demonstrate the sound Sam brings to this project.
Read More...
Gig Review: BENEE @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 16/10/2020
17 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
As I got to Spark Arena for the first time since February this year, I couldn't help but notice how many families were there with smiling kids, and parents alike, all waiting for doors to open. BENEE has become quite a superstar over this past year which has been awesome to see.
Read More...
theajsound - Single Review: Sorrow
12 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Auckland based Indian born singer and songwriter theajsound (AKA AJ) has released a string of singles this year which have amassed hundreds of thousands stream on Spotify, and his latest, Sorrow is a catchy new tune that instantly catches your ear.The guitar sound is clean and an instant classic.
Read More...
Sam V - EP Review: Cruisin'
08 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The new EP from Sam V, bKidd and EDY is a blast. With a few skits interwoven into the EP, the whole package feels well thought out and it sounds great.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THEREFORE I AM
    Billie Eilish
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • POSITIONS
    Ariana Grande
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • FADE AWAY
    Six60
  • WHAT YOU KNOW BOUT LOVE
    Pop Smoke
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem