4 Mar 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Will McClean - Album Review: Can't Sleep I'm Dreaming

07 Aug 2020 // A review by Ben Ruegg

The new album from Will McClean takes a lot of well-produced beats and combines them with his flow and lyrics. It's a smooth ride most of the time as is demonstrated in the opening track Front Desk featuring JClean.

Hand picked beats from a range of producers and beat makers allows Will McClean to focus on his vocals and lyrics that tell his stories. At times though, some of these didn't make a lot of sense to me. And that's fine. I don't have to understand everything and I don't believe that it's my place to discredit anything he does artistically. To even things out, there are plenty of tracks here where he spills his heart out through rhyme and poetry. It is worth mentioning that his flow and delivery is solid. I hear a lot of influences, one being Home Brew's Tom Scott.

The authentic delivery, not over hyped or yelling deserves credit. And still, when it's required he's not afraid to go there. There are softer songs with guest artists to allow that side to show. The selection of his beats are fantastic and showcases an artist that is capable of hearing something and figuring out how to approach it. An example of this is the track Healing.

A solid release worthy of your attention. I like the diversity here and the thoughtfulness of his lyrics when they describe in detail his life and feelings. Dream/Cold Coffee is a perfect example of this. There is a lot to love here and I have a lot of respect for any artist who puts their heart out on their sleeve.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Will McClean

Born and raised with the perfect balance of city and coastal living, Will McClean has been grinding in a basement working out his place in this world with the help of a pen and some words.

With three EP’s released in 2019 on Soundcloud, and one in January 2020. Will has been busy working on his craft.

Taking inspiration from artists such as Mac Miller, J Cole and Tom Scott to name a few; his laid back style is intertwined with message to spread peace and love to other humans and to this earth.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Will McClean

Releases

Can't Sleep, I'm Dreaming
Year: 2020
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Jericho - EP Review: Rhythm
26 Feb 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Jericho are a 3-piece band made up of people who obviously love music. I say this because on their opening track Silence Won't Last, I kind of think it went through a lot of different styles and ideas that I actually didn't expect.
Read More...
Raw Collective - Album Review: The Good Things
18 Feb 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
The Good Things is the latest LP from the 10-piece live hip-hop band Raw Collective from Wellington. The album is quite something that showcases the versatility of the group's ability to swing from different styles of hip-hop, funk and soul.
Read More...
Fire For Glory - EP Review: Life Of The Party
16 Feb 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Yeah, bro. Get that punk-pop/rock vibe.
Read More...
Craig Payne - Album Review: I'm Not Giving The Game Away
10 Feb 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Ah. That's refreshing.
Read More...
Swerve City - Single Review: Sink Like Stones
05 Feb 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Right now, across New Zealand, there is a storm that keeps getting bigger and stronger. That storm is made up of an incredible group of artists and bands who are working to get more exposure to and notice from what I would call 'the mainstream'.
Read More...
Dilz - Single Review: Don't Trip
30 Jan 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Don't Trip is the latest track from Dilz, and slick production with a catchy chorus kicks this song off.  In what I would classify as pop-rap (this isn't a negative), it captivates the audience with a catchy hook.
Read More...
Will McClean - Single Review: One Way Road
30 Jan 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Will McClean's new track One Way Road is a stunner. The way the beat starts with backwards loops and trap style beats that have a hip-hip feel all work well.
Read More...
Mema Wilda - Single Review: How I Long
21 Jan 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Mema Wilda's newest track How I Long starts off with a simple acoustic guitar and vocal, but it's quick to showcase a track full of plenty of goodness. It's the type of song I would want to hear on modern pop radio; it's catchy and you can easily sing-a-long to it.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • WHY OH WHY
    L.A.B.
  • CALLING MY PHONE
    Lil Tjay feat. 6LACK
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • GOOD DAYS
    SZA
  • NOT MY NEIGHBOUR
    Niko Walters
  • CONTROLLER
    L.A.B.
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • WITHOUT YOU
    The Kid LAROI
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem