11 Aug 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Geoff Ong - Gig Review: Geoff Ong @ Cassette Nine, Auckland - 24/07/2020

31 Jul 2020 // A review by Gaby Ivanov-Giraldo

I said my bygones to the week behind me. The global climate is still heavy in the background of what we all miss doing and seeing. At least one thing we all know is universal and always growing; music! This gig set the weekend on fire with its energy. Our local Auckland artists and friends got together a fantastic line-up of talented musos for a stellar Friday night at Cassette Nine. The crew rocked us off our seats onto the dance floor; it was a night you didn’t want to miss! Celebrating the new single release of Into Into You (download here) by pop artist, songwriter and producer Geoff Ong. Geoff Ong and his band headlined, with Manuela and Max Earnshaw opening prior.

The show kicked-off at 9.10pm; the crowd welcomed Manuela; an Auckland-based pop artist and singer. Manuela is a Colombian-Kiwi songwriter with gorgeous vocals and a beckoning stage presence. She shared with us a few of her originals, showcasing her open and honest lyrics. Manuela has also collaborated with a few other artists on stage. On bass for Manuela was the legendary Mazbou Q, also known as Hugh Ozumba; NZ’s own Nigerian-Kiwi rapper, producer and all-round musician. He swooped in for a distinguishable rap verse, and then electrified the harmonies. Manuela stunned us all with her enchanting voice. Featured that night we also had Spanish covers, rap-duos, and a real selection of dance numbers. She played a collaborated song called Esta Noche that stuck out - that of hers and rapper/producer Kevin Posey, also featuring Mazbou Q.

Manuela rapped a verse of Posey’s which was an empowering and cool surprise! She nailed it! Her band is tight and performed well with Josh Johnston on drums and Luan on guitar. Another talent was singer Nia, who also featured in a few songs. Manuela performed a duet with artist George After James. This track was really special, the two harmonised brilliantly together. Particularly iconic was the song Te Vas, based on Latino drama, which Manuela played with might.

Max Earnshaw came on after Manuela. Max and his band sounded dynamic and upbeat. His songs are reminiscent of pop rock/indie rock bands like Arctic Monkeys, The Strokes, The Kooks or Harry Styles. The lads studied music together at The University of Auckland. They had a jazzy blues vibe at stages, and really drew in the crowd. I loved the indie boy band feel; it really brought me back to raw live music.

Lucky last came Geoff Ong at 11pm - at least 130 of a head count. His songs are all very catchy, have great hooks, genuine lyricism and a fun-loving aura. Ong writes, performs, mixes, and produces his own songs. He is a honed guitarist and makes clean, crafty beats. However, live, Geoff Ong’s band is another type of experience! Geoff himself is very impressionable, and he sings about genuine, personable and relatable topics; he knows how to draw in and capture an audience. The band consists of Geoff Ong on vocals, Joel Griffith on bass, Robert Picot on guitar, and Dean Rodriguez on drums.

The gig celebrated the release of Geoff’s new hit Into Into You which was played mid set. It’s a song about the thrills of a new relationship, the love and the high feelings. That night we also had well-known numbers including Fingerprints, Save Me The Weekend and All The Hours. The crowd popped-off and continued to dance as they played covers to Bruno Mars, Daft Punk, Backstreet Boys and Katy Perry. Epic drum solos and guitar solos were had, and the band had excellent delivery. What a great bunch of talented musicians!

 

About Geoff Ong

Geoff Ong wants to be a pop star for dorks. “I love all the sounds and melodies of pop music, but I never really felt like I was cool enough to relate to the people performing it,” he says. “I figure there must be other people out there who feel the same way – my music is for them.”

Geoff’s 2018 single, Fingerprints, a shimmering slice of soulful indie pop, was recorded in his bedroom in Kingsland, with production, mixing and mastering by Phil Levine of the illustrious Igloo Music Studios in Los Angeles, who won two Grammy Awards for their work on 2016’s box office hit, La La Land.

Fingerprints made an immediate impact, peaking at #3 on the Hot NZ Singles Chart and #25 on the overall Hot Singles Top 40 Chart. It was also featured on ZM, The Edge, The Edge TV, and Radio New Zealand.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Geoff Ong

Releases

The Boston EP
Year: 2015
Type: EP
Streetlights
Year: 2014
Type: EP
The Snorlax Mixtape
Year: 2014
Type: EP
Pictures
Year: 2011
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Gaby Ivanov-Giraldo

Festival Review: Good Vibes @ Logan Campbell Centre, Auckland - 7/08/2020
09 Aug 2020 // by Gaby Ivanov-Giraldo
On Friday the 7th of August, Good Vibes, Pato Entertainment and Mai FM presented to us the best line-up our Auckland Winter has seen to date! The Good Vibes Winter Festival is here; brought to us on a chilly Winter's night with no delay in action.
Read More...
Konarucchi - EP Review: Stuck In Daydreams
31 Jul 2020 // by Gaby Ivanov-Giraldo
Konarucchi is a multi-genre solo artist and composer from Wainuiomata. He is talented at mixing and recording, and has many versatile skills he brings to the table.
Read More...
Oakley Grenell - Single Review: Chimbambaira (OG Remix)
14 Jul 2020 // by Gaby Ivanov-Giraldo
Melbourne-based Cantabrian producer Oakley Grenell has ignited the Shottaz’ (Zimbabwe born artists Max and Hlats) new release Chimbambaira, which also features Nutty O. From the 2019 EP afro dancehall project Chimbambaira Reloaded sees the dynamic Shottaz team pair-up with various artists, DJs and producers to make way for some glorious remixes and riddims, including this steaming track with Oakley Grenell.
Read More...
Sola Rosa - Single Review: Searching For Love Feat. Kiko Bun
23 Jun 2020 // by Gaby Ivanov-Giraldo
If you love music, Sola Rosa is a Kiwi band that you really should know about. The founder of this powerhouse is Andrew Spraggon; the man behind the band’s "near 20-year labour of love".
Read More...
Kevin Posey - Album Review: Breathe
19 Jun 2020 // by Gaby Ivanov-Giraldo
US-born producer, rapper, and singer-songwriter Kevin Posey has just released his latest album Breathe. Posey is an international artist who has recently been thriving in the Aotearoa music scene.
Read More...
Kevin Posey - Single Review: Your Shine Feat. Mazbou Q & Kirsten
11 Jun 2020 // by Gaby Ivanov-Giraldo
Kevin Posey is an international artist and native from Oklahoma, USA. Posey is a music producer, publisher and songwriter that has also graduated from an associates degree in Music Production from the Academy of Contemporary Music at the University of Central Oklahoma.
Read More...
Valere - Single Review: Like That
05 Jun 2020 // by Gaby Ivanov-Giraldo
Singer songwriter Shana Llorando, AKA Valere, has just released her latest single Like That. She brings blossom to our generation of music with her diversity and versatility of sound.
Read More...
Theia - EP Review: 99% Angel
03 Jun 2020 // by Gaby Ivanov-Giraldo
Theia is a vibrant songwriter, independent NZ musician and artist who has been releasing music since 2015, when her RnB-fused track Silver Second, produced by Alex Hope, first set foot on the scene. Her stellar debut, self-titled EP was released in 2017 with fervour, sweeping support by number.
Read More...
View All Articles By Gaby Ivanov-Giraldo

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • MY FUTURE
    Billie Eilish
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • CARDIGAN
    Taylor Swift
  • BREAKING ME
    Topic feat. A7S
  • WHAT'S POPPIN'
    Jack Harlow
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem