16 Jan 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Nadia Reid - Gig Review: Nadia Reid @ Grainstore Gallery, Oamaru - 24/07/2020

25 Jul 2020 // A review by Darryl Baser

Flora Knight is first up, beginning with saying "Hi, I'm not Nadia". Her solo set on fiddle and singing begins with an Appalachian mountain tune about Bow weevils destroying crops, it’s a classic piece of mountain music, and a great way to open her set.

Knight recently spent a period of time in the US, returning pre-Covid 19, on a boot making and musical trip around the states.

Her second tune Sally Goodin is another traditional piece, which she told the audience she tried to learn from a record, but then learned it face to face from the man whose record she heard in her youth.

She took the audience on a trip across America through the various styles of traditional fiddle styles.

Young Oamaruvian singer Mads Harrop is second on, and had a tough act to follow.

Accompanied by her 'gramps' Paul Harrop on piano, the pair played a two song set. Mads told the crowd the first song "is about neurodiversity". She’s an interesting songwriter, with some unique ways of composing, which I found a little challenging, but intriguing. Her songs sound like they’re written from a life of her experiences. To my ear she writes from her heart as a way of processing life. Another southern songwriter to watch.

I went to the late show, the second of two which Reid and the other performers did on the 24th of July at the Grainstore Gallery, and like the other acts on the bill there was no signs of tiredness, of having done all this before.

Nadia Reid took to the stage at 10pm, beginning with A Woman Apart, which warms the cockles of the audience.

Both the early show any this later one were sold out, and they were also live streamed out to Reid’s many fans worldwide.

She’s accompanied by Sam Taylor on guitar for the set, and early on thanks the crowd for coming out, acknowledging that for some it could be their first live show post Covid 19. "I am grateful you've chosen this show so come to, any for some of you it might be your first show after lockdown, so thanks for choosing this one to come to," Reid said.

Right On Time follows, and like many skilled live musicians, Nadia Reid gives this crowd favourite a slight reworking from the album version.

Her set is peppered with tracks from her brand new album Out of My Province, which was released in March this year just as Covid 19 began sweeping the world.

Next song I Don't Wanna Take Anything From You is from Out of My Province, and she changed guitars from her customary acoustic, to a stunning and very shiny acoustic electric arch top guitar in the style of a Gibson 345 - its tone is like liquid honey.

Reid was due to relocate to the US this month, but with Covid 19, well… so Reid shares a story about buying "Jonie the golden doodle", as a puppy in March, and then dedicates Heart To Ride, from the new record to Jonie.

Nadia Reid is really a songwriter's songwriter, she's one of those rare breeds who can pick you up and take you on a journey with each song.

She and Sam launch into Get The Devil Out, which is among the 20 finalists nominated for this year's APRA Silver Scroll Awards. It's a song well worth a vote, in my somewhat humble opinion.

Richard from 2016 album Preservation follows. Nadia seems to enjoy reworking older tunes, and I love the change to the rhythm in this particular track. Nadia seems to enjoy playing with the vocal melody and phrasing.

Flora joins on fiddle and Sam moves to piano for a Lucinda Williams tune, Fruits of Your Labour. It’s a really nice version, but totally cements one thing in that I’ve been thinking for a while; Nadia Reid is a world class songwriter, every bit as good as Lucinda Williams, and more.

They play Call The Days to close, it’s another crowd favourite from Reid’s catalogue of great tunes.

Nadia and Sam leave, the crowd remains seated, many clap, some stomp, a fair few yell encore.

They return, and Reid tells the audience at the late show, "we didn’t do an encore for the early show, I told them to get out," she jokes, before her and Sam launch into All of My Love.

Oh, and Nadia, your last secret about the end of the year is safe with me, I can't vouch for the other people there, or the live stream audience though.

What an incredibly good night.

 

About Nadia Reid

A richness of voice; a depth of emotion; wisdom beyond her years; with brand new record Listen To Formation, Look For The Signs, out now on Spunk! Records, Nadia Reid has claimed her place as one of New Zealand’s most evocative and profound young songwriters.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Nadia Reid

Releases

Out of My Province
Year: 2020
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Preservation
Year: 2016
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Darryl Baser

The Big Lawn - Album Review: Silverspoon
10 Dec 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Dunedin band The Big Lawn have just released their first album, Silverspoon. The album following on from the success of their debut EP Help Myself.
Read More...
Single Review: Viices: Double Denim 7”
01 Dec 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Viices, known to his mum as Jake McComb, has been making music for a number of years, releasing the Toxic EP in 2017. Double Denim is released on a grey marble 7", which was lovingly packed well in a box.
Read More...
Gig Review: French for Rabbits @ Bark, Dunedin - 27/11/2020
28 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Port Chalmers songwriter Lucy Hunter opened up the evening with Please Just Break My Heart and Let Me Go. Announcing to the rapidly filling Bark space at Dunedin’s Dog With Two Tails "this is my first [piano] gig standing up".
Read More...
Jolandi Ford - Single Review: You Ain’t In The Picture
28 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
I love me a good break up song, and You Ain’t In The Picture is such a song with a good dose of ‘don’t let the door hit you in the ass on the way out’. The joy in the subject of the song comes across in the lyrics; it's in the way you can hear the smile on her face as she delivers the lines, and also in the song’s composition, especially in the lift to the leading note of the chord, when Jolandi sings; "…will I cry a million tears?
Read More...
Gabriel Bond - Single Review: History
12 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
First thing; wow what a voice. Gabriel Bond has a stunning voice, I would frankly amazed if he hasn’t had a bunch of formal vocal training.
Read More...
Single Review: Redwoods
11 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
In their brief blurb, Redwoods describe themselves as "a Kiwi band formed on the Jurassic lake of Tarawera, featuring members of Fire at Will and Dead Favours". The band comprising of members Josh Dillner, Will Kearney and Hannah Kearney have recently released their debut single, which is self-titled.
Read More...
Gig Review: Die! Die! Die! @ Pioneer Hall, Port Chalmers - 06/11/2020
07 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Bliss Point are a Dunedin based high school band with musical lineage including drummer Tane Cotton, son of audio engineer Dale Cotton, and nephew of Shayne P Carter. Bliss Point take to the end of the room which is used as a stage to a quarter full room of their parents, school pals and unfashionably early concert goers, your humble scribe included.
Read More...
Gig Review: Delaney Davidson @ ADJO, Dunedin - 3/11/2020
04 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Cantabrian entertainer Delaney Davidson is on a smaller venues tour which saw him play in Ophir this week, along with shows at Dunedin’s boutique venue ADJO and at The Galley in Port Chalmers. A mostly seated crowd of around 30 people waited, looking at the stage set up in the corner of ADJO, before Delaney Davidson swaggered his way through the crowd from the back area.
Read More...
View All Articles By Darryl Baser

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • WHY OH WHY
    L.A.B.
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • CONTROLLER
    L.A.B.
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. iann dior
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • SUNDOWN
    Six60
  • NOT MY NEIGHBOUR
    Niko Walters
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • DREAMS
    Fleetwood Mac
  • FADE AWAY
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem