28 Oct 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Nadia Reid - Gig Review: Nadia Reid @ Grainstore Gallery, Oamaru - 24/07/2020

25 Jul 2020 // A review by Darryl Baser

Flora Knight is first up, beginning with saying "Hi, I'm not Nadia". Her solo set on fiddle and singing begins with an Appalachian mountain tune about Bow weevils destroying crops, it’s a classic piece of mountain music, and a great way to open her set.

Knight recently spent a period of time in the US, returning pre-Covid 19, on a boot making and musical trip around the states.

Her second tune Sally Goodin is another traditional piece, which she told the audience she tried to learn from a record, but then learned it face to face from the man whose record she heard in her youth.

She took the audience on a trip across America through the various styles of traditional fiddle styles.

Young Oamaruvian singer Mads Harrop is second on, and had a tough act to follow.

Accompanied by her 'gramps' Paul Harrop on piano, the pair played a two song set. Mads told the crowd the first song "is about neurodiversity". She’s an interesting songwriter, with some unique ways of composing, which I found a little challenging, but intriguing. Her songs sound like they’re written from a life of her experiences. To my ear she writes from her heart as a way of processing life. Another southern songwriter to watch.

I went to the late show, the second of two which Reid and the other performers did on the 24th of July at the Grainstore Gallery, and like the other acts on the bill there was no signs of tiredness, of having done all this before.

Nadia Reid took to the stage at 10pm, beginning with A Woman Apart, which warms the cockles of the audience.

Both the early show any this later one were sold out, and they were also live streamed out to Reid’s many fans worldwide.

She’s accompanied by Sam Taylor on guitar for the set, and early on thanks the crowd for coming out, acknowledging that for some it could be their first live show post Covid 19. "I am grateful you've chosen this show so come to, any for some of you it might be your first show after lockdown, so thanks for choosing this one to come to," Reid said.

Right On Time follows, and like many skilled live musicians, Nadia Reid gives this crowd favourite a slight reworking from the album version.

Her set is peppered with tracks from her brand new album Out of My Province, which was released in March this year just as Covid 19 began sweeping the world.

Next song I Don't Wanna Take Anything From You is from Out of My Province, and she changed guitars from her customary acoustic, to a stunning and very shiny acoustic electric arch top guitar in the style of a Gibson 345 - its tone is like liquid honey.

Reid was due to relocate to the US this month, but with Covid 19, well… so Reid shares a story about buying "Jonie the golden doodle", as a puppy in March, and then dedicates Heart To Ride, from the new record to Jonie.

Nadia Reid is really a songwriter's songwriter, she's one of those rare breeds who can pick you up and take you on a journey with each song.

She and Sam launch into Get The Devil Out, which is among the 20 finalists nominated for this year's APRA Silver Scroll Awards. It's a song well worth a vote, in my somewhat humble opinion.

Richard from 2016 album Preservation follows. Nadia seems to enjoy reworking older tunes, and I love the change to the rhythm in this particular track. Nadia seems to enjoy playing with the vocal melody and phrasing.

Flora joins on fiddle and Sam moves to piano for a Lucinda Williams tune, Fruits of Your Labour. It’s a really nice version, but totally cements one thing in that I’ve been thinking for a while; Nadia Reid is a world class songwriter, every bit as good as Lucinda Williams, and more.

They play Call The Days to close, it’s another crowd favourite from Reid’s catalogue of great tunes.

Nadia and Sam leave, the crowd remains seated, many clap, some stomp, a fair few yell encore.

They return, and Reid tells the audience at the late show, "we didn’t do an encore for the early show, I told them to get out," she jokes, before her and Sam launch into All of My Love.

Oh, and Nadia, your last secret about the end of the year is safe with me, I can't vouch for the other people there, or the live stream audience though.

What an incredibly good night.

 

About Nadia Reid

A richness of voice; a depth of emotion; wisdom beyond her years; with brand new record Listen To Formation, Look For The Signs, out now on Spunk! Records, Nadia Reid has claimed her place as one of New Zealand’s most evocative and profound young songwriters.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Nadia Reid

Releases

Out of My Province
Year: 2020
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Preservation
Year: 2016
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Darryl Baser

Jolandi Ford - Single Review: Torn Jeans
22 Oct 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Toe-tapping pop country at its best, with a good dose of sass. Jolandi Ford’s sound is unashamedly aimed at the commercial country music industry.
Read More...
Keeltys - Single review: Humans of Hanrahan
15 Oct 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Keeltys, a new five piece indie/garage rock band recently formed in Christchurch. The band members are all studying music in some way; front man Samuel Keelty is in his second year at ARA, Ben Townshend is also in his second year at ARA, Liam Makinson is in his second year studying jazz guitar, Ben Henderson is also in his second year studying bass, and Josh Derwahl is in his first year studying the noble art of jazz drumming.
Read More...
Jam Fish - Single Review: Jane’s The Name
01 Oct 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Jam Fish, AKA Sam Higham, takes a step back from his usual full band arrangements to bring you an emotional stripped back song titled Jane's the Name. Featuring just acoustic guitar and vocals, this song portrays 4 different aspects that could control one's life, represented by different names.
Read More...
Casey Evans - Single Review: Wild & Free
01 Oct 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Casey Evans is as contemporary pop country as they come - if that’s your jam, this is a track for you. Wild & Free was #1 on the NZ country Charts, and #7 on all genres on iTunes upon release, which is no mean trick for an independent artist from The Catlins coast, currently spending time in Dunedin.
Read More...
Gig Review: PRINS & Vikae @ Dive Bar, Dunedin - 26/09/2020
27 Sep 2020 // by Darryl Baser
With most of New Zealand at Covid alert level 1, dancing is allowed at bars and clubs, and a good number of those who came along to see Auckland-based musicians PRINS and Vikae with local support from Molly Devine and Bryn Massey. Bryn Massey is the first of four women with amazing voices for the evening.
Read More...
Andrew Masseurs - EP Review: She’s So Nasty
19 Sep 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Well, being either a PC softy or a bit of a feminist, I didn’t warm to the title track She’s So Nasty, but being a professional I opened my ears and had a listen to Andrew Masseurs’ new EP. And I’m glad I did.
Read More...
Bingo Fighter - Single Review: Kama Sutra
03 Sep 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Well, as bloody obvious things to write go, music is in the entertainment industry should be fun and entertaining. With that premise in mind, Bingo Fighter go to the top of the class with their new single Kama Sutra.
Read More...
Stars and the Underground - Single Review: Nosferatu Upon Tyne
22 Aug 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Being an OG (old goth or original goth) from the 1980's I love me a bit of goth. Stars and the Underground are a nice bit of goth who have just released a 7" single.
Read More...
View All Articles By Darryl Baser

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • DREAMS
    Fleetwood Mac
  • WHAT YOU KNOW BOUT LOVE
    Pop Smoke
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • PUT YOUR RECORDS ON
    Ritt Momney
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem