23 Apr 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Nadia Reid - Gig Review: Nadia Reid @ Grainstore Gallery, Oamaru - 24/07/2020

25 Jul 2020 // A review by Darryl Baser

Flora Knight is first up, beginning with saying "Hi, I'm not Nadia". Her solo set on fiddle and singing begins with an Appalachian mountain tune about Bow weevils destroying crops, it’s a classic piece of mountain music, and a great way to open her set.

Knight recently spent a period of time in the US, returning pre-Covid 19, on a boot making and musical trip around the states.

Her second tune Sally Goodin is another traditional piece, which she told the audience she tried to learn from a record, but then learned it face to face from the man whose record she heard in her youth.

She took the audience on a trip across America through the various styles of traditional fiddle styles.

Young Oamaruvian singer Mads Harrop is second on, and had a tough act to follow.

Accompanied by her 'gramps' Paul Harrop on piano, the pair played a two song set. Mads told the crowd the first song "is about neurodiversity". She’s an interesting songwriter, with some unique ways of composing, which I found a little challenging, but intriguing. Her songs sound like they’re written from a life of her experiences. To my ear she writes from her heart as a way of processing life. Another southern songwriter to watch.

I went to the late show, the second of two which Reid and the other performers did on the 24th of July at the Grainstore Gallery, and like the other acts on the bill there was no signs of tiredness, of having done all this before.

Nadia Reid took to the stage at 10pm, beginning with A Woman Apart, which warms the cockles of the audience.

Both the early show any this later one were sold out, and they were also live streamed out to Reid’s many fans worldwide.

She’s accompanied by Sam Taylor on guitar for the set, and early on thanks the crowd for coming out, acknowledging that for some it could be their first live show post Covid 19. "I am grateful you've chosen this show so come to, any for some of you it might be your first show after lockdown, so thanks for choosing this one to come to," Reid said.

Right On Time follows, and like many skilled live musicians, Nadia Reid gives this crowd favourite a slight reworking from the album version.

Her set is peppered with tracks from her brand new album Out of My Province, which was released in March this year just as Covid 19 began sweeping the world.

Next song I Don't Wanna Take Anything From You is from Out of My Province, and she changed guitars from her customary acoustic, to a stunning and very shiny acoustic electric arch top guitar in the style of a Gibson 345 - its tone is like liquid honey.

Reid was due to relocate to the US this month, but with Covid 19, well… so Reid shares a story about buying "Jonie the golden doodle", as a puppy in March, and then dedicates Heart To Ride, from the new record to Jonie.

Nadia Reid is really a songwriter's songwriter, she's one of those rare breeds who can pick you up and take you on a journey with each song.

She and Sam launch into Get The Devil Out, which is among the 20 finalists nominated for this year's APRA Silver Scroll Awards. It's a song well worth a vote, in my somewhat humble opinion.

Richard from 2016 album Preservation follows. Nadia seems to enjoy reworking older tunes, and I love the change to the rhythm in this particular track. Nadia seems to enjoy playing with the vocal melody and phrasing.

Flora joins on fiddle and Sam moves to piano for a Lucinda Williams tune, Fruits of Your Labour. It’s a really nice version, but totally cements one thing in that I’ve been thinking for a while; Nadia Reid is a world class songwriter, every bit as good as Lucinda Williams, and more.

They play Call The Days to close, it’s another crowd favourite from Reid’s catalogue of great tunes.

Nadia and Sam leave, the crowd remains seated, many clap, some stomp, a fair few yell encore.

They return, and Reid tells the audience at the late show, "we didn’t do an encore for the early show, I told them to get out," she jokes, before her and Sam launch into All of My Love.

Oh, and Nadia, your last secret about the end of the year is safe with me, I can't vouch for the other people there, or the live stream audience though.

What an incredibly good night.

 

About Nadia Reid

A richness of voice; a depth of emotion; wisdom beyond her years; with brand new record Listen To Formation, Look For The Signs, out now on Spunk! Records, Nadia Reid has claimed her place as one of New Zealand’s most evocative and profound young songwriters.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Nadia Reid

Releases

Out of My Province
Year: 2020
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Preservation
Year: 2016
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Darryl Baser

Jiahu Symbols - Single Review: Northern Exposure
17 Apr 2021 // by Darryl Baser
An interesting song, Jiahu Symbols' Northern Exposure opens with a guitar swathed in chorus, maybe a little tremolo, with a couple of bars before the song crashes into life. The verse structure is played a couple of times, before Andrew Murray-Brown begins singing.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Veils @ Dive, Dunedin - 08/04/2021
10 Apr 2021 // by Darryl Baser
Purple Pilgrims take to the stage. There's a round of polite applause after their first song, and half way through their second, I start to hear a very 4AD sound; think Cocteau Twins, circa the Iceblink Luck period.
Read More...
Gig Review: Elemeno P @ Mornington Tap House, Dunedin - 25/03/2021
27 Mar 2021 // by Darryl Baser
The opening act Marlin's Dreaming slide into a well-chosen opening number. Opening with gently strummed chords, and a drum machine, which the drummer synced with well when he came in.
Read More...
The Infinity Chamber - Single Review: No Honey (Anymore)
22 Mar 2021 // by Darryl Baser
For those of you who aren’t amongst the 1340 subscribers to his YouTube, or the nearly 47,000 who follow his Facebook page, The Infinity Chamber is Dylan Paul Ware. PC, or Pre-Covid, he travelled in the true style of a troubadour, spending time in many countries across Europe, which is kind of documented in one of the lyrics in the song; "…it’s just my old guitar and me..
Read More...
Gig Review: Crowded House & Reb Fountain @ Dunedin Town Hall, Dunedin - 11/03/2021
12 Mar 2021 // by Darryl Baser
The exquisite Reb Fountain opens up with Hawks and Doves, and it's game on right from the get go. Sliding into the second tune, Fountain's dramatic songwriting style really suits opening this sell-out show at Dunedin's Town Hall.
Read More...
Big Scout - Single Review: Mr. Slice
27 Feb 2021 // by Darryl Baser
Straight Outta Blenheim, noisy angular post-punk band Big Scout have released an addictive new song, Mr. Slice.
Read More...
Loud Ghost - Album Review: All In A Day
06 Feb 2021 // by Darryl Baser
Loud Ghost are a self-described "Rock n Roll trio from Auckland, New Zealand." It’s been 4 years since the first Loud Ghost record, and band members say they’re looking forward to getting All In A Day out and available to the public.
Read More...
James Hunter - EP Review: You
21 Jan 2021 // by Darryl Baser
There are tough days and good days in all aspects of life. In music reviewing there are recording which don’t grab you and professionalism is necessary.
Read More...
View All Articles By Darryl Baser

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • RAPSTAR
    Polo G
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
  • HEARTBREAK ANNIVERSARY
    Giveon
  • LEAVE THE DOOR OPEN
    Silk Sonic
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • ASTRONAUT IN THE OCEAN
    Masked Wolf
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • ALL SHE WROTE
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem