27 Sep 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Nadia Reid - Gig Review: Nadia Reid @ Grainstore Gallery, Oamaru - 24/07/2020

25 Jul 2020 // A review by Darryl Baser

Flora Knight is first up, beginning with saying "Hi, I'm not Nadia". Her solo set on fiddle and singing begins with an Appalachian mountain tune about Bow weevils destroying crops, it’s a classic piece of mountain music, and a great way to open her set.

Knight recently spent a period of time in the US, returning pre-Covid 19, on a boot making and musical trip around the states.

Her second tune Sally Goodin is another traditional piece, which she told the audience she tried to learn from a record, but then learned it face to face from the man whose record she heard in her youth.

She took the audience on a trip across America through the various styles of traditional fiddle styles.

Young Oamaruvian singer Mads Harrop is second on, and had a tough act to follow.

Accompanied by her 'gramps' Paul Harrop on piano, the pair played a two song set. Mads told the crowd the first song "is about neurodiversity". She’s an interesting songwriter, with some unique ways of composing, which I found a little challenging, but intriguing. Her songs sound like they’re written from a life of her experiences. To my ear she writes from her heart as a way of processing life. Another southern songwriter to watch.

I went to the late show, the second of two which Reid and the other performers did on the 24th of July at the Grainstore Gallery, and like the other acts on the bill there was no signs of tiredness, of having done all this before.

Nadia Reid took to the stage at 10pm, beginning with A Woman Apart, which warms the cockles of the audience.

Both the early show any this later one were sold out, and they were also live streamed out to Reid’s many fans worldwide.

She’s accompanied by Sam Taylor on guitar for the set, and early on thanks the crowd for coming out, acknowledging that for some it could be their first live show post Covid 19. "I am grateful you've chosen this show so come to, any for some of you it might be your first show after lockdown, so thanks for choosing this one to come to," Reid said.

Right On Time follows, and like many skilled live musicians, Nadia Reid gives this crowd favourite a slight reworking from the album version.

Her set is peppered with tracks from her brand new album Out of My Province, which was released in March this year just as Covid 19 began sweeping the world.

Next song I Don't Wanna Take Anything From You is from Out of My Province, and she changed guitars from her customary acoustic, to a stunning and very shiny acoustic electric arch top guitar in the style of a Gibson 345 - its tone is like liquid honey.

Reid was due to relocate to the US this month, but with Covid 19, well… so Reid shares a story about buying "Jonie the golden doodle", as a puppy in March, and then dedicates Heart To Ride, from the new record to Jonie.

Nadia Reid is really a songwriter's songwriter, she's one of those rare breeds who can pick you up and take you on a journey with each song.

She and Sam launch into Get The Devil Out, which is among the 20 finalists nominated for this year's APRA Silver Scroll Awards. It's a song well worth a vote, in my somewhat humble opinion.

Richard from 2016 album Preservation follows. Nadia seems to enjoy reworking older tunes, and I love the change to the rhythm in this particular track. Nadia seems to enjoy playing with the vocal melody and phrasing.

Flora joins on fiddle and Sam moves to piano for a Lucinda Williams tune, Fruits of Your Labour. It’s a really nice version, but totally cements one thing in that I’ve been thinking for a while; Nadia Reid is a world class songwriter, every bit as good as Lucinda Williams, and more.

They play Call The Days to close, it’s another crowd favourite from Reid’s catalogue of great tunes.

Nadia and Sam leave, the crowd remains seated, many clap, some stomp, a fair few yell encore.

They return, and Reid tells the audience at the late show, "we didn’t do an encore for the early show, I told them to get out," she jokes, before her and Sam launch into All of My Love.

Oh, and Nadia, your last secret about the end of the year is safe with me, I can't vouch for the other people there, or the live stream audience though.

What an incredibly good night.

 

About Nadia Reid

A richness of voice; a depth of emotion; wisdom beyond her years; with brand new record Listen To Formation, Look For The Signs, out now on Spunk! Records, Nadia Reid has claimed her place as one of New Zealand’s most evocative and profound young songwriters.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Nadia Reid

Releases

Out of My Province
Year: 2020
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Preservation
Year: 2016
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Darryl Baser

Montgomery - Single Review: Lonely, Only
17 Sep 2021 // by Darryl Baser
George Manning AKA Montgomery releases Lonely, Only today, and, oh my gosh, it’s a hauntingly beautiful song. In a world where for many artists their next single release has to be even more of a banger than their last, Montgomery’s Lonely, Only is packed full of heart and gentle charm.
Read More...
Gig Review: PRINS @ Dog With Two Tails, Dunedin - 31/07/2021
01 Aug 2021 // by Darryl Baser
Solo guy Alex Dykes opens up the evening using a kick drum trigger for a regular thump, an acoustic guitar, and a voice which is well-worn beyond his years. As he begins playing those who were hanging out in the cafe come through.
Read More...
Miss Leading - Album Review: Minor Thing
23 Jul 2021 // by Darryl Baser
When reviewing albums by artists you’ve never heard of can be a lottery, sometimes you don’t quite ‘get’ the album, and sometimes you’re like ‘wow’. Minor Thing by Miss Leading is totally in the ‘wow’ category.
Read More...
Gig Review: Drax Project @ Dunedin Town Hall, Dunedin - 02/06/2021
04 Jul 2021 // by Darryl Baser
Auckland based singer AACACIA was onstage and singing with her band as many people walked in at 7:25pm ahead of the advertised start time. In 2019 AACACIA posted a clip asking to play support to Drax Project, and last night she did.
Read More...
Reuben Hudson - Single Review: Baby Bedside
23 May 2021 // by Darryl Baser
There are many things which can derail a musician’s career, although Reuben Hudson’s reasoning may be a little less common than most. He had kidney transplant surgery in 2020.
Read More...
Vann Dizon - Single/Video Review: Let You Go
08 May 2021 // by Darryl Baser
Wow. Beautifully written, lyrics with heart, the composition is top form, and the production sets this song as a potential chart topper.
Read More...
Jiahu Symbols - Single Review: Northern Exposure
17 Apr 2021 // by Darryl Baser
An interesting song, Jiahu Symbols' Northern Exposure opens with a guitar swathed in chorus, maybe a little tremolo, with a couple of bars before the song crashes into life. The verse structure is played a couple of times, before Andrew Murray-Brown begins singing.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Veils @ Dive, Dunedin - 08/04/2021
10 Apr 2021 // by Darryl Baser
Purple Pilgrims take to the stage. There's a round of polite applause after their first song, and half way through their second, I start to hear a very 4AD sound; think Cocteau Twins, circa the Iceblink Luck period.
Read More...
View All Articles By Darryl Baser

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • PEPEHA
    Six60
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • THAT'S WHAT I WANT
    Lil Nas X
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem