31 Oct 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Mini Simmons - Single Review: Travelling Show

12 Jul 2020 // A review by Chris Chick

With a skip in my step, bounding my way through Trafalgar Square making my way to the center of the world as I knew it, London Town, this brand new single by Mini Simmons is, as they say in London, ruddy bloody good.

I love songs that take me back to bygone days of freedom and an ignorance that only a young 20 year old called entangle into his swagger. The world was on a spin, but my feet were firmly planted and ready to dance, flirt, and rock London to its foundations. This song is so good, I have written down a brief glimpse of my life without any added encouragement. This song makes you sit upright from the opening guitar rift and its 1960’s Small Faces, happy go lucky, feel good vibe. The lyrics talk of an existence within the world of the last few hours of the night, which we can all argue, are very diverse in nature. It conjures up memories of those days when you would be flatting with many other people, normally with one bathroom, and a long line waiting, as the opening line demonstrates.

The song itself is so simple, but so effective, with the right amount of bass and rhythm working in tandem with each other that sets the song’s tone straight away with no warning. I personally do not want any warning of great music; I just want my ears to prick up unannounced and get straight into the swagger.

Travelling Show ticks all the necessary boxes when it comes to what a good song should do. It has an effect on the psyche that causes a positive reaction, and its lyrical content is appropriate to many different walks of life that can easily resonate, especially the younger generation. All in all, a very classy number, I do not see any reason why you should not be checking this out. What is the worst that could happen? You lose 3 minutes of your life that may have been used to procrastinate.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Mini Simmons

Mini Simmons is an Auckland based Rock n Roll band dreamed up on the Pacific Highways of Mexico in 2017.

Over the past two years, the band have established themselves firmly as one of the premier live acts in the NZ music scene, gracing the stages of Rhythm & Vines, Splore, Soundsplash and Nest Fest. They were a guest performer of Benee’s Soaked at the 2019 APRA Silver Scrolls, have been booked as the support act for The Darkness, and have headlined their own successful tours of Australia & New Zealand.

2019 saw Mini Simmons release their debut, self-titled Album to critical acclaim, with internationally renowned Classic Rock Magazine praising the "sunkissed bath of gorgeous harmonies" on their lead single A Way With Murder. The band's debut album was the first to be pressed to vinyl in NZ for over 30 years, selling out the first press of 150 copies in under a week.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Mini Simmons

Releases

There are no releases to display for Mini Simmons.

Other Reviews By Chris Chick

Miles Calder - Single Review: Take Me Back To How It Was
19 Oct 2020 // by Chris Chick
I think I just found the band that I really want to jam with; Miles Calder's new song Take Me Back To How It Was is a sound that really does what it says on the tin, it takes you back to the way it was. This late 60's and 70's psychedelic number really softens the soul and enables one to really re-live by gone days that many of us did not even have the opportunity to experience.
Read More...
Imperial April - Single Review: Release Me
08 Oct 2020 // by Chris Chick
Imperial April are releasing their new single Release Me on 9 October 2020, and by golly it's an absolute corker, and I will not let anyone else say different. This song has so much going for it, from its production, to the wonderfully enchanting singing, to the 80's summer vibe that will just keep the summer of 2020 a positive time considering the rest of the garbage we have all had to deal with.
Read More...
Turkey The Bird - Single Review: Everybody Needs A Little Sunshine
01 Oct 2020 // by Chris Chick
I was promised a happy little number when handed this assignment, and I was not let down, I think happy might be an understatement, elated, ecstatic, maybe even nirvanic, which I believe is a word I just made up. This is a timely release what with summer banging on the door, a great reminder to us all to put a smile on our faces, and be thankful for the simple things in life, like a little sunshine, especially if you are on the West Coast of the South Island, according to the rumours.
Read More...
Jam Fish - Single Review: The Hermits Red Balloon
24 Aug 2020 // by Chris Chick
Jam Fish’s new single The Hermit’s Red Balloon was released on the 14th August 2020. This song can only be described through golfing metaphors, the experience of listening to this song was like playing a shot beyond the horizon and hoping you make the green.
Read More...
Fornax Chemica - Album Review: Audio Vision
06 Aug 2020 // by Chris Chick
Let’s get one thing straight right off the bat, creating, producing, and performing an album is a massive undertaking in itself. I am always impressed by any musician who is able to accomplish this, no matter the genre or the instruments they play (the more the better I say) this is why longevity within the music industry is not to be ignored when embracing all aspects of artists you love, and those you find hard to love.
Read More...
Iveta & Simone - Single Review: I'm Only Focused On You
15 Jul 2020 // by Chris Chick
Intense and full of bravado, as soon as the first piano chord hammered over my speakers, I jumped to attention like a well drilled private awaiting his first taste of action. Without any hesitation this private felt the need to start running towards the battle with no second thought for my own safety, willed on by the heavy baseline that accompanies the just as strong willed lyrical content.
Read More...
Hummucide - Single Review: Reacher
25 Jun 2020 // by Chris Chick
Picture a wonderfully blissful day, slow wanderings around the park as it blooms fully into the start of a new creation, beckoning good will and tidings to all that seek it. With that picture in mind, now listen to the new single from Hummucide Reacher and transcend the only way possible from the vibe that jazz music can only touch.
Read More...
Whaea Stylz - Single Review: North Star
11 Jun 2020 // by Chris Chick
Whenever anyone makes the plunge into Reggae style music, you just know you are in for a treat, and there is no difference here with Whaea Stylz latest single North Star; an infused reggae beat that is guaranteed to get you moving even those muscles you never knew existed. I was really drawn in by the range of instruments, especially the piano, I thought its use really added to the song.
Read More...
View All Articles By Chris Chick

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • DREAMS
    Fleetwood Mac
  • WHAT YOU KNOW BOUT LOVE
    Pop Smoke
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • PUT YOUR RECORDS ON
    Ritt Momney
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem