21 Sep 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Mini Simmons - Single Review: Travelling Show

12 Jul 2020 // A review by Chris Chick

With a skip in my step, bounding my way through Trafalgar Square making my way to the center of the world as I knew it, London Town, this brand new single by Mini Simmons is, as they say in London, ruddy bloody good.

I love songs that take me back to bygone days of freedom and an ignorance that only a young 20 year old called entangle into his swagger. The world was on a spin, but my feet were firmly planted and ready to dance, flirt, and rock London to its foundations. This song is so good, I have written down a brief glimpse of my life without any added encouragement. This song makes you sit upright from the opening guitar rift and its 1960’s Small Faces, happy go lucky, feel good vibe. The lyrics talk of an existence within the world of the last few hours of the night, which we can all argue, are very diverse in nature. It conjures up memories of those days when you would be flatting with many other people, normally with one bathroom, and a long line waiting, as the opening line demonstrates.

The song itself is so simple, but so effective, with the right amount of bass and rhythm working in tandem with each other that sets the song’s tone straight away with no warning. I personally do not want any warning of great music; I just want my ears to prick up unannounced and get straight into the swagger.

Travelling Show ticks all the necessary boxes when it comes to what a good song should do. It has an effect on the psyche that causes a positive reaction, and its lyrical content is appropriate to many different walks of life that can easily resonate, especially the younger generation. All in all, a very classy number, I do not see any reason why you should not be checking this out. What is the worst that could happen? You lose 3 minutes of your life that may have been used to procrastinate.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Mini Simmons

Mini Simmons is an Auckland based Rock n Roll band dreamed up on the Pacific Highways of Mexico in 2017.

Over the past two years, the band have established themselves firmly as one of the premier live acts in the NZ music scene, gracing the stages of Rhythm & Vines, Splore, Soundsplash and Nest Fest. They were a guest performer of Benee’s Soaked at the 2019 APRA Silver Scrolls, have been booked as the support act for The Darkness, and have headlined their own successful tours of Australia & New Zealand.

2019 saw Mini Simmons release their debut, self-titled Album to critical acclaim, with internationally renowned Classic Rock Magazine praising the "sunkissed bath of gorgeous harmonies" on their lead single A Way With Murder. The band's debut album was the first to be pressed to vinyl in NZ for over 30 years, selling out the first press of 150 copies in under a week.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Mini Simmons

Releases

There are no releases to display for Mini Simmons.

Other Reviews By Chris Chick

Oceanspace - Single Review: Silver City Rain
01 Sep 2021 // by Chris Chick
Now and again a song comes around that makes you stop and think "well that certainly surprised me". This is in no way a negative connotation, I would hate to think that my initial perspective was one of which, when I was given the task to review this song, I was already looking to the one-star rating.
Read More...
Salt Rock - Single Review: Six Appeal
30 Jul 2021 // by Chris Chick
Any song that has a sultry baseline and some trumpets are always going to grab my listening ear and have me easily fall in love with, that is just how I roll. Salt Rock are a funk-dub group based in Christchurch made up of seven pals doing their thing to the wonderful New Zealand music scene.
Read More...
False Heights - Single Review: Caught Up
21 Jul 2021 // by Chris Chick
The Taupo based pop duo False Heights have released their new single Caught Up and it is a corker. From the get go, the song takes me from the mid-winter blues (as I write this review) to the yearning of a wonderful sun filled summer on its way.
Read More...
Album Review: Turkey The Bird
07 Jun 2021 // by Chris Chick
The self-professed ‘Simon & Garfunkel’ of Aotearoa bring their first album to the listening ears of all New Zealanders and let us not beat around the bush, this is a corker of epic proportions. From the steadfast sound of the banjo piercing your ears delightful receptacles, to some rather incredibly smooth harmonies backed up by some rasping bass lines.
Read More...
Banana Mundo - EP Review: Hola
29 Apr 2021 // by Chris Chick
You just know with a name like Banana Mundo that you are in for a good time, as my old man once said to me "Chris, I am short and so is life, we are here for a good time, not a long time". It's a shame he did not have this EP at hand to use it in his timely philosophical saying.
Read More...
MARY. - Single Review: Day To Day
12 Mar 2021 // by Chris Chick
MARY. is the ‘dreamy’ alter ego of the songs creator Stef T, a robust and staunch woman making her way in what can be perceived as a very male orientated world in many aspects.
Read More...
Revulva - Single Review: Sniffly Lady
25 Feb 2021 // by Chris Chick
I had the privilege and honour to review the debut single from Revulva, Sniffly Lady, a song all about the grand boogie on a Saturday night. No matter how old or young you are, the intense anticipation of getting out and amongst the people for a boogie, especially in this day and age, is the great equalizer to the capitalistic machine we all find ourselves under.
Read More...
Bad Llamas - EP Review: Wunderlane
31 Jan 2021 // by Chris Chick
The new 6 track EP Wunderlane by Bad Llamas is a breath of fresh air when it comes to NZ music. Situated down in the depths of Christchurch, this is the band's second EP release after their debut 2019 EP What Even is Bad Llamas.
Read More...
View All Articles By Chris Chick

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • PEPEHA
    Six60
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
  • FAIR TRADE
    Drake feat. Travis Scott
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem