25 Sep 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Repairs - Single Review: Cut To The Chase

23 Jun 2020 // A review by Paul Goddard

You know that feeling you get when you discover something you weren’t expecting? Not in a bad way, fuck that - we have all discovered too much badness lately. I am talking about those shiny moments you never forget.

I am having one of those moments right now.

Sat in a park in a gloriously hot Stratford-upon-Avon in the UK I am listening to a bombastic earworm that is beating its way into my soul. The source of this said delight is Auckland based three piece Repairs via their new single Cut To The Chase.

It is literally drilling its way in as a swirling blast of pent up intensity never really exploding just relentless in its effort to get to my heart.

The effect is like meditation for the misaligned, the disenfranchised and the disconnected (isn’t that all of us right now?) A constant mantra of Cut To The Chase pushed forward with a rhythm and conviction that demands attention.

Life is full of moments to be captured. If you are into music those moments are often bookmarked by sounds that wake you up, make you feel. Those moments are captured and etched into your memory.

Today is one of those moments for me. I will never forget sitting in the park, discovering something shiny, new and unexpected. It has given me hope and made me want to discover more.

Get Cut To The Chase into your ears, and let it burrow down and repair your soul.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

Releases

Repairs / FADOHT
Year: 2019
Type: EP
Repairs! The Band!
Year: 2018
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

The Response - Single Review: All Of My Flaws
24 Sep 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Smooth.A word that sounds just as good as it looks.
Read More...
EP Review: Dick Raine and Dick’s Guns
08 Sep 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Lockdowns are shit. A few months ago, we didn’t even know what a lockdown was nor social distancing and let’s face it the world is pretty fucked at the moment.
Read More...
Big Scout - Single Review: Nothing Ever Happens
25 Aug 2020 // by Paul Goddard
There are ear worms.Then there is this little snaky bastard of a tune from Big Scout.
Read More...
Churlington - EP Review: ...Or That The Hummingbird Is So Seldom Seen
13 Aug 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Why?Why is music so important?
Read More...
Transistor - Single Review: Nothing New
30 Jul 2020 // by Paul Goddard
New single Nothing New from Wellington-based Transistor is a tricky, trippy, psychedelic aural beast. A snarly bastard of a song.
Read More...
Sit Down In Front - Album Review: Confessions of a Pie Thief
26 Jun 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Punk music means different things to different people. Over the years like most genres it has morphed, been watered down, kicked about and spat out.
Read More...
For The Wolves - Single Review: The Devil You Know
17 Jun 2020 // by Paul Goddard
This was just what I needed today. Pandemic lockdown here in the UK has me climbing the walls and wanting to quite frankly rip someone's head off.
Read More...
EP Review: Serious Happiness
22 Feb 2020 // by Paul Goddard
The ocean is amazing. Just about everyone in New Zealand has a connection with it.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • LAUGH NOW CRY LATER
    Drake feat. Lil Durk
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • MOOD SWINGS
    Pop Smoke feat. Lil Tjay
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem