14 Jul 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Repairs - Single Review: Cut To The Chase

23 Jun 2020 // A review by Paul Goddard

You know that feeling you get when you discover something you weren’t expecting? Not in a bad way, fuck that - we have all discovered too much badness lately. I am talking about those shiny moments you never forget.

I am having one of those moments right now.

Sat in a park in a gloriously hot Stratford-upon-Avon in the UK I am listening to a bombastic earworm that is beating its way into my soul. The source of this said delight is Auckland based three piece Repairs via their new single Cut To The Chase.

It is literally drilling its way in as a swirling blast of pent up intensity never really exploding just relentless in its effort to get to my heart.

The effect is like meditation for the misaligned, the disenfranchised and the disconnected (isn’t that all of us right now?) A constant mantra of Cut To The Chase pushed forward with a rhythm and conviction that demands attention.

Life is full of moments to be captured. If you are into music those moments are often bookmarked by sounds that wake you up, make you feel. Those moments are captured and etched into your memory.

Today is one of those moments for me. I will never forget sitting in the park, discovering something shiny, new and unexpected. It has given me hope and made me want to discover more.

Get Cut To The Chase into your ears, and let it burrow down and repair your soul.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

Releases

Repairs / FADOHT
Year: 2019
Type: EP
Repairs! The Band!
Year: 2018
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Sit Down In Front - Album Review: Confessions of a Pie Thief
26 Jun 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Punk music means different things to different people. Over the years like most genres it has morphed, been watered down, kicked about and spat out.
Read More...
For The Wolves - Single Review: The Devil You Know
17 Jun 2020 // by Paul Goddard
This was just what I needed today. Pandemic lockdown here in the UK has me climbing the walls and wanting to quite frankly rip someone's head off.
Read More...
EP Review: Serious Happiness
22 Feb 2020 // by Paul Goddard
The ocean is amazing. Just about everyone in New Zealand has a connection with it.
Read More...
2 a.m. Orchestra - Album Review: Trading Graves
20 Feb 2020 // by Paul Goddard
I am sitting in a bar in rainy Manchester, UK.Storm Dennis is about to hit.
Read More...
Arrays - Single Review: Dead Sea
20 Jan 2020 // by Paul Goddard
It’s not easy being in a band. The “it’s Ike being married to three or four other people” often rings true.
Read More...
Holloway Holiday - Single Review: Hot Pink Paralysis
19 Dec 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Pop and punk don’t mix. Just put Simon Cowell in the same room as John Lydon (if you follow pop punk you might not know who that is, but your view of punk will be much better if you do) and ask them to discuss music and see what happens.
Read More...
Gig Review: Shihad @ Thekla Bristol, UK - 30/11/2019
04 Dec 2019 // by Paul Goddard
It’s a cold one tonight here in Bristol as we head over to one of the UK’s most iconic and unique venues. Thekla is a ship permanently moored in Bristol’s harbour.
Read More...
Bleeders - Single Review: Darkness Falls
21 Oct 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Back in 2003 I was helping out at the now defunct Brewers Bar in Mount Maunganui. Fresh to NZ I was keen to see what music was on offer.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • BREAKING ME
    Topic feat. A7S
  • STUCK WITH U
    Ariana Grande And Justin Bieber
  • ROVER
    S1mba feat. DTG
  • WHAT'S POPPIN'
    Jack Harlow
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem