6 May 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Repairs - Single Review: Cut To The Chase

23 Jun 2020 // A review by Paul Goddard

You know that feeling you get when you discover something you weren’t expecting? Not in a bad way, fuck that - we have all discovered too much badness lately. I am talking about those shiny moments you never forget.

I am having one of those moments right now.

Sat in a park in a gloriously hot Stratford-upon-Avon in the UK I am listening to a bombastic earworm that is beating its way into my soul. The source of this said delight is Auckland based three piece Repairs via their new single Cut To The Chase.

It is literally drilling its way in as a swirling blast of pent up intensity never really exploding just relentless in its effort to get to my heart.

The effect is like meditation for the misaligned, the disenfranchised and the disconnected (isn’t that all of us right now?) A constant mantra of Cut To The Chase pushed forward with a rhythm and conviction that demands attention.

Life is full of moments to be captured. If you are into music those moments are often bookmarked by sounds that wake you up, make you feel. Those moments are captured and etched into your memory.

Today is one of those moments for me. I will never forget sitting in the park, discovering something shiny, new and unexpected. It has given me hope and made me want to discover more.

Get Cut To The Chase into your ears, and let it burrow down and repair your soul.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

Releases

Repeat, Repeat
Year: 2020
Type: Album
Repairs / FADOHT
Year: 2019
Type: EP
Repairs! The Band!
Year: 2018
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Album Review: Thunderground
18 Mar 2021 // by Paul Goddard
Headphones in, let's go.So the drummer keeps beat, guitars wail and scream, the singer....
Read More...
FRE3DOM - Single Review: Back To The Beginning
12 Mar 2021 // by Paul Goddard
Looking back to move forward. Musicians have done this from the beginning.
Read More...
Dark Water - Single Review: Seas of Fallen Concern
21 Jan 2021 // by Paul Goddard
I like to be transported. Moved to a different place.
Read More...
Manzo - Single Review: Working Class Hero (John Lennon Cover)
05 Dec 2020 // by Paul Goddard
In 1946 John Lennon almost became a Kiwi. His estranged father took him to Blackpool with the intention of heading over with John to start a new life in NZ.
Read More...
The Avondale Spiders - Single Review: Black Magik Pills
05 Nov 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Do you miss anything at the moment?The world is in a crazy place and it is easy to not want to look forward when the future doesn’t look so bright.
Read More...
Coffin Club - Single Review: Gaslight
08 Oct 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Gaslight (or rather Gaslighting) has become a bit of a buzz word recently and sits perfectly as the title for this short sharp shock of fuzzed up punk from Auckland three piece Coffin Club.Unlike a real Gaslight, this song is no slow burner.
Read More...
The Response - Single Review: All Of My Flaws
24 Sep 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Smooth.A word that sounds just as good as it looks.
Read More...
EP Review: Dick Raine and Dick’s Guns
08 Sep 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Lockdowns are shit. A few months ago, we didn’t even know what a lockdown was nor social distancing and let’s face it the world is pretty fucked at the moment.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
  • HEARTBREAK ANNIVERSARY
    Giveon
  • LEAVE THE DOOR OPEN
    Silk Sonic
  • RAPSTAR
    Polo G
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • ALL SHE WROTE
    Six60
  • ASTRONAUT IN THE OCEAN
    Masked Wolf
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem