21 Sep 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Mojo Crow - EP Review: The Badlands

15 Jun 2020 // A review by Darryl Baser

Auckland’s Mojo Crow have been around since 2012 in one form or another, and have just released their brand new EP, The Badlands.

Right from the start of the opening track, High Plains Drifter, Mojo Crew’s up tempo country sound is to the fore. Lyrically the song could be from a classic western, there’s a showdown on a dusty street, a drifter of the high plains variety enters, and there’s a kerfuffle. Nick Jones’ violin is acerbic, cutting through the mix like a hot knife.

The second tune Revelations brings the tempo down a little. It has almost a biblical feel to it, mentioning being "in the flames". This track doesn’t quite have the immediate impact of the opener, still a good tune though.

The third tune Lizard In The Sun is a ballad, and the title seems to be a metaphor in a relationship gone wrong scenario. The middle 8 in this tune is cavernous, before… "well, I thought by now I knew you, but you taught me that is a lie.." Then there’s a reference to someone "shedding skin like a Lizard in the sun"… It's a good tune.

Track four, Love Is A Cage, is a blues based tune which begins slowly before snapping into a country blues 2/4. Here’s an idea of the song’s theme; "you’re my heroin, I’m your cocaine"… "'cause love ain’t free, love is a cage" are among the lyrics in the chorus. Wait for the last note sung on the track, vocalist Chris Jones just nails it so well.

The EP ends on Gold Fever which begins with horns and then slides into another up tempo 2/4. It has some beautiful horn parts, and listen for the banjo which fades up in the mix later on. As with the other songs on this EP, Gold Fever is really well crafted, played, and recorded. I imagine Mojo Crow are amazing live. I love the way this one ends too - think Ennio Morricone, spaghetti western.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Mojo Crow

Mojo Crow (Auckland) hatched in late 2012 with singer-songwriter Chris Jones and multi-talented brother Nick Jones on electric violin & keys.

When Mojo Crow decided it was time to record their debut EP in 2013, they already had a diverse range of material to choose from. With the addition of a third crow Ryan Ouston on drums, they prepared and recorded at Roundhead studios in Auckland. Their self-released debut EP Fly by Night highlights their rock, blues, and alt-country influences with catchy melodies, strong vocal harmonies, and captivating lyrics.

But it wasn't until 2014, and after drummer Ryan ventured overseas the band realised it's ultimate form with the introduction of Shawn Means on drums, Braeden Foster on bass, and Tim Roper on lead guitar. Not content to limit themselves to one genre, Mojo Crow's original songs are an eclectic mix of alt-country, blues, alt-rock, and reggae.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Mojo Crow

Releases

The Badlands
Year: 2020
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Darryl Baser

Andrew Masseurs - EP Review: She’s So Nasty
19 Sep 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Well, being either a PC softy or a bit of a feminist, I didn’t warm to the title track She’s So Nasty, but being a professional I opened my ears and had a listen to Andrew Masseurs’ new EP. And I’m glad I did.
Read More...
Bingo Fighter - Single Review: Kama Sutra
03 Sep 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Well, as bloody obvious things to write go, music is in the entertainment industry should be fun and entertaining. With that premise in mind, Bingo Fighter go to the top of the class with their new single Kama Sutra.
Read More...
Stars and the Underground - Single Review: Nosferatu Upon Tyne
22 Aug 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Being an OG (old goth or original goth) from the 1980's I love me a bit of goth. Stars and the Underground are a nice bit of goth who have just released a 7" single.
Read More...
Marlin's Dreaming - Album Review: Quotidian
21 Aug 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Having been a reviewer of life and recorded music since the late 1980's, it is a rare and wonderful feeling to discover a band from my hometown who I haven’t heard of, until they drop a recording that takes my head clean off. Dunedin band Marlin’s Dreaming have released Quotidian, and are about to (Covid willing) head off on a NZ tour in late September and early October.
Read More...
Grant Duncan - Album Review: Contemplate
07 Aug 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Grant Duncan is a well-seasoned singer-songwriter based in Auckland, New Zealand, who’s just released his new 12 song album, Contemplate. The album is available on Duncan’s Bandcamp page as is the modern way of doing things.
Read More...
A Straw Assembly - Album Review: A Little More Life
28 Jul 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Right the get go this isn’t an album for the musically faint-hearted. The opening song A Saint Is Divided builds gently and beautifully into a maelstrom.
Read More...
Gig Review: Nadia Reid @ Grainstore Gallery, Oamaru - 24/07/2020
25 Jul 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Flora Knight is first up, beginning with saying "Hi, I'm not Nadia". Her solo set on fiddle and singing begins with an Appalachian mountain tune about Bow weevils destroying crops, it’s a classic piece of mountain music, and a great way to open her set.
Read More...
Phil and Lana Doublet - Album Review: Play Nice
12 Jul 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Multi award winning Christchurch based musicians Phil and Lana Doublet have teamed up to write, record, and release the stunning album Play Nice. The pair wrote all but one of the songs on the album.
Read More...
View All Articles By Darryl Baser

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • LAUGH NOW CRY LATER
    Drake feat. Lil Durk
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • MOOD SWINGS
    Pop Smoke feat. Lil Tjay
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem