23 Sep 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Apokalyptein - Single Review: North Star

11 Jun 2020 // A review by Chris Chick
Whenever anyone makes the plunge into Reggae style music, you just know you are in for a treat, and there is no difference here with Whaea Stylz latest single North Star; an infused reggae beat that is guaranteed to get you moving even those muscles you never knew existed.

I was really drawn in by the range of instruments, especially the piano, I thought its use really added to the song. A good song also involves the ability to re-imagine life from a different angle, a song that has the ability to stop you dead in your tracks and become self-aware, is a ticket to goodness. This song certainly has the vibe and the lyrics to back it up, the picture of a rejuvenated person picking themselves up and following their inner sanctum, or North Star in this case, towards a soul infused justice filled world, (this is the vision I conjured up) that the reggae movement historically engaged.

I am very happy to see Reggae still getting the spotlight it deserves, much like blues music, its roots come from a powerful social voice within the collective conscience. Whaea Stylz should be proud of their accomplished number that brings together all the good things of the reggae genre. This is a definite buy for me, you can pick it up for $1 at Bandcamp, or go onto Spotify and check it out - your inner Bob Marley will thank you. Keep up the good work Whaea Stylz; I am very much looking forward to what you have to offer going forward.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Apokalyptein

Apokalyptein is a NZ Music Producer/Artist of Scandinavian, English, German & Maori (Ngati Tuwharetoa) descent. Composing in the realms of Trance, Reggae, Dub, Piano, Ambient, Indie & Electroacoustic. Commissioned work available for film, game soundscapes, dance and fashion.

Classically trained on piano and moved into music technology. Studied Music at Victoria & Massey Universities gaining an Honors degree in Electronica, Composition & Film.

Apokalyptein has toured and recorded with the bands Cornerstone Roots and Lost Tribe Aotearoa.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Apokalyptein

Releases

There are no releases to display for Apokalyptein.

Other Reviews By Chris Chick

Oceanspace - Single Review: Silver City Rain
01 Sep 2021 // by Chris Chick
Now and again a song comes around that makes you stop and think "well that certainly surprised me". This is in no way a negative connotation, I would hate to think that my initial perspective was one of which, when I was given the task to review this song, I was already looking to the one-star rating.
Read More...
Salt Rock - Single Review: Six Appeal
30 Jul 2021 // by Chris Chick
Any song that has a sultry baseline and some trumpets are always going to grab my listening ear and have me easily fall in love with, that is just how I roll. Salt Rock are a funk-dub group based in Christchurch made up of seven pals doing their thing to the wonderful New Zealand music scene.
Read More...
False Heights - Single Review: Caught Up
21 Jul 2021 // by Chris Chick
The Taupo based pop duo False Heights have released their new single Caught Up and it is a corker. From the get go, the song takes me from the mid-winter blues (as I write this review) to the yearning of a wonderful sun filled summer on its way.
Read More...
Album Review: Turkey The Bird
07 Jun 2021 // by Chris Chick
The self-professed ‘Simon & Garfunkel’ of Aotearoa bring their first album to the listening ears of all New Zealanders and let us not beat around the bush, this is a corker of epic proportions. From the steadfast sound of the banjo piercing your ears delightful receptacles, to some rather incredibly smooth harmonies backed up by some rasping bass lines.
Read More...
Banana Mundo - EP Review: Hola
29 Apr 2021 // by Chris Chick
You just know with a name like Banana Mundo that you are in for a good time, as my old man once said to me "Chris, I am short and so is life, we are here for a good time, not a long time". It's a shame he did not have this EP at hand to use it in his timely philosophical saying.
Read More...
MARY. - Single Review: Day To Day
12 Mar 2021 // by Chris Chick
MARY. is the ‘dreamy’ alter ego of the songs creator Stef T, a robust and staunch woman making her way in what can be perceived as a very male orientated world in many aspects.
Read More...
Revulva - Single Review: Sniffly Lady
25 Feb 2021 // by Chris Chick
I had the privilege and honour to review the debut single from Revulva, Sniffly Lady, a song all about the grand boogie on a Saturday night. No matter how old or young you are, the intense anticipation of getting out and amongst the people for a boogie, especially in this day and age, is the great equalizer to the capitalistic machine we all find ourselves under.
Read More...
Bad Llamas - EP Review: Wunderlane
31 Jan 2021 // by Chris Chick
The new 6 track EP Wunderlane by Bad Llamas is a breath of fresh air when it comes to NZ music. Situated down in the depths of Christchurch, this is the band's second EP release after their debut 2019 EP What Even is Bad Llamas.
Read More...
View All Articles By Chris Chick

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • PEPEHA
    Six60
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
  • FAIR TRADE
    Drake feat. Travis Scott
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem