10 Jul 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Found Family - Single Review: Alive

27 May 2020 // A review by Chris Chick

Again, New Zealand music goes and surprises me, and in a good way. It reminds me of my trip to a well-known hot pool resort in the South Island; I arrived there with my little buddy that I mentor and saw the price of entrance. I asked for a child ticket, and before I could ask for an adult one, I realised I am more of a child than my buddy, and changed it to two children. In a twist of good fortune, I was charged for two children, happy days.

Found Family, an alternative rock duo originally from Christchurch who now reside in Toronto, Canada, bring us their debut single Alive, and it is a corker from start to finish with rasping guitar melodies, to very poignant lyrics for all of us. Probably the saddest part of this review is finding out that these guys relocated from Christchurch to Canada to pursue their musical career - I am not sure how to deal with that, is it a good thing or a bad thing? I think from their perspective it was a good thing, but from the quality of this single, it is a bad thing for us. I can only imagine that they would be a treat to see.

The song itself has a nice mix of uplifting melancholy sounds, which may be an oxymoron, but in this case the emotions the song releases in my soul are a mixture of sadness and jubilation depending on what part of the song you are currently engaging in. The lyrics offer a mixture of the same emotions. The lyrics "at least I am alive to see the sun come up another day" after an internal battle of waiting for something to come along, is the kind of optimism that I can grab a hold of, even in the darkest hours of one's existence.

Once again New Zealand music comes up with another brilliant song. Found Family tick all the boxes with a good sounding Rock/Emo song and poignant lyrics, both of which take you on an emotional journey for better or worse. I am very excited to see what these guys do in the future; they are very much ones to look out for.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Found Family

Found Family are a Toronto-based alternative rock duo from Christchurch, New Zealand. Matt and Troy collaborate on musings of mental health, loss, and seeking silver linings. They moved to Toronto in May of 2019, leaving behind friends, careers and loved ones, chasing a shared dream in music. It starts with their single Alive, released 20th May 2020.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Found Family

Releases

There are no releases to display for Found Family.

Other Reviews By Chris Chick

Hummucide - Single Review: Reacher
25 Jun 2020 // by Chris Chick
Picture a wonderfully blissful day, slow wanderings around the park as it blooms fully into the start of a new creation, beckoning good will and tidings to all that seek it. With that picture in mind, now listen to the new single from Hummucide Reacher and transcend the only way possible from the vibe that jazz music can only touch.
Read More...
Whaea Stylz - Single Review: North Star
11 Jun 2020 // by Chris Chick
Whenever anyone makes the plunge into Reggae style music, you just know you are in for a treat, and there is no difference here with Whaea Stylz latest single North Star; an infused reggae beat that is guaranteed to get you moving even those muscles you never knew existed. I was really drawn in by the range of instruments, especially the piano, I thought its use really added to the song.
Read More...
Phil Stoodley - Single Review: Undercover
13 May 2020 // by Chris Chick
I was pleasantly surprised when I was reminded that I also reviewed Phil Stoodley's work 7 years ago. This was like a coming of age moment and having recently returned to the duties of music reviewing, I thoroughly enjoyed the nostalgia of that memory.
Read More...
Terrence & The Optimistics - EP Review: Groovy Baby
07 May 2020 // by Chris Chick
As an eternal optimist, the chance to review a band with that term implanted into their vibe was an easy decision. Some would say that this is a recipe for bias reviewing, I would rather see it as a an extra brownie point before I had even cracked open the computer salivating in anticipation for some retro nostalgic soul grooves of the 60’s and 70;s, not that I was there in person, only in spirit.
Read More...
Papercity - Single Review: Feel
14 Apr 2020 // by Chris Chick
Feel is the second single from Papercity since their debut track Plastic and this one is a rasper. I came into this review on a very neutral playing field and as soon as the song started I was hooked.
Read More...
Shady Brain Farm - EP Review: Orange to Red
13 Mar 2020 // by Chris Chick
Shady Brain Farm have played together as a group off and on for the last 20 years, with all the members living in the Northwest Auckland area of Kumeu, Waimauku and Muriwai Beach. The music they make reflects this West Coast beach vibe.
Read More...
Beacon Bloom - Single Review: Little Kingdom
15 Jan 2020 // by Chris Chick
The one aspect of music reviewing I love the most, is finding out about new musicians, the depth of talent that New Zealand has is astounding and very exciting. Beacon Bloom, I applaud you and your efforts, and that is not just because you are based in Christchurch, even though that gets extra brownie points.
Read More...
Ghetto Sunrise Album Review
15 Jun 2014 // by Chris Chick
I was embellished into their music after their first release One Drop Love EP. The mix of reggae, dub, and ska was a delight to the ear.
Read More...
View All Articles By Chris Chick

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • STUCK WITH U
    Ariana Grande And Justin Bieber
  • WHAT'S POPPIN'
    Jack Harlow
  • ROVER
    S1mba feat. DTG
  • BREAKING ME
    Topic feat. A7S
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem