21 Sep 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Found Family - Single Review: Alive

27 May 2020 // A review by Chris Chick

Again, New Zealand music goes and surprises me, and in a good way. It reminds me of my trip to a well-known hot pool resort in the South Island; I arrived there with my little buddy that I mentor and saw the price of entrance. I asked for a child ticket, and before I could ask for an adult one, I realised I am more of a child than my buddy, and changed it to two children. In a twist of good fortune, I was charged for two children, happy days.

Found Family, an alternative rock duo originally from Christchurch who now reside in Toronto, Canada, bring us their debut single Alive, and it is a corker from start to finish with rasping guitar melodies, to very poignant lyrics for all of us. Probably the saddest part of this review is finding out that these guys relocated from Christchurch to Canada to pursue their musical career - I am not sure how to deal with that, is it a good thing or a bad thing? I think from their perspective it was a good thing, but from the quality of this single, it is a bad thing for us. I can only imagine that they would be a treat to see.

The song itself has a nice mix of uplifting melancholy sounds, which may be an oxymoron, but in this case the emotions the song releases in my soul are a mixture of sadness and jubilation depending on what part of the song you are currently engaging in. The lyrics offer a mixture of the same emotions. The lyrics "at least I am alive to see the sun come up another day" after an internal battle of waiting for something to come along, is the kind of optimism that I can grab a hold of, even in the darkest hours of one's existence.

Once again New Zealand music comes up with another brilliant song. Found Family tick all the boxes with a good sounding Rock/Emo song and poignant lyrics, both of which take you on an emotional journey for better or worse. I am very excited to see what these guys do in the future; they are very much ones to look out for.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Found Family

Found Family are a Toronto-based alternative rock duo from Christchurch, New Zealand. Matt and Troy collaborate on musings of mental health, loss, and seeking silver linings. They moved to Toronto in May of 2019, leaving behind friends, careers and loved ones, chasing a shared dream in music. It starts with their single Alive, released 20th May 2020.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Found Family

Releases

There are no releases to display for Found Family.

Other Reviews By Chris Chick

Jam Fish - Single Review: The Hermits Red Balloon
24 Aug 2020 // by Chris Chick
Jam Fish’s new single The Hermit’s Red Balloon was released on the 14th August 2020. This song can only be described through golfing metaphors, the experience of listening to this song was like playing a shot beyond the horizon and hoping you make the green.
Read More...
Fornax Chemica - Album Review: Audio Vision
06 Aug 2020 // by Chris Chick
Let’s get one thing straight right off the bat, creating, producing, and performing an album is a massive undertaking in itself. I am always impressed by any musician who is able to accomplish this, no matter the genre or the instruments they play (the more the better I say) this is why longevity within the music industry is not to be ignored when embracing all aspects of artists you love, and those you find hard to love.
Read More...
Iveta & Simone - Single Review: I'm Only Focused On You
15 Jul 2020 // by Chris Chick
Intense and full of bravado, as soon as the first piano chord hammered over my speakers, I jumped to attention like a well drilled private awaiting his first taste of action. Without any hesitation this private felt the need to start running towards the battle with no second thought for my own safety, willed on by the heavy baseline that accompanies the just as strong willed lyrical content.
Read More...
Mini Simmons - Single Review: Travelling Show
12 Jul 2020 // by Chris Chick
With a skip in my step, bounding my way through Trafalgar Square making my way to the center of the world as I knew it, London Town, this brand new single by Mini Simmons is, as they say in London, ruddy bloody good. I love songs that take me back to bygone days of freedom and an ignorance that only a young 20 year old called entangle into his swagger.
Read More...
Hummucide - Single Review: Reacher
25 Jun 2020 // by Chris Chick
Picture a wonderfully blissful day, slow wanderings around the park as it blooms fully into the start of a new creation, beckoning good will and tidings to all that seek it. With that picture in mind, now listen to the new single from Hummucide Reacher and transcend the only way possible from the vibe that jazz music can only touch.
Read More...
Whaea Stylz - Single Review: North Star
11 Jun 2020 // by Chris Chick
Whenever anyone makes the plunge into Reggae style music, you just know you are in for a treat, and there is no difference here with Whaea Stylz latest single North Star; an infused reggae beat that is guaranteed to get you moving even those muscles you never knew existed. I was really drawn in by the range of instruments, especially the piano, I thought its use really added to the song.
Read More...
Phil Stoodley - Single Review: Undercover
13 May 2020 // by Chris Chick
I was pleasantly surprised when I was reminded that I also reviewed Phil Stoodley's work 7 years ago. This was like a coming of age moment and having recently returned to the duties of music reviewing, I thoroughly enjoyed the nostalgia of that memory.
Read More...
Terrence & The Optimistics - EP Review: Groovy Baby
07 May 2020 // by Chris Chick
As an eternal optimist, the chance to review a band with that term implanted into their vibe was an easy decision. Some would say that this is a recipe for bias reviewing, I would rather see it as a an extra brownie point before I had even cracked open the computer salivating in anticipation for some retro nostalgic soul grooves of the 60’s and 70;s, not that I was there in person, only in spirit.
Read More...
View All Articles By Chris Chick

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • LAUGH NOW CRY LATER
    Drake feat. Lil Durk
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • MOOD SWINGS
    Pop Smoke feat. Lil Tjay
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem