22 Sep 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Found Family - Single Review: Alive

27 May 2020 // A review by Chris Chick

Again, New Zealand music goes and surprises me, and in a good way. It reminds me of my trip to a well-known hot pool resort in the South Island; I arrived there with my little buddy that I mentor and saw the price of entrance. I asked for a child ticket, and before I could ask for an adult one, I realised I am more of a child than my buddy, and changed it to two children. In a twist of good fortune, I was charged for two children, happy days.

Found Family, an alternative rock duo originally from Christchurch who now reside in Toronto, Canada, bring us their debut single Alive, and it is a corker from start to finish with rasping guitar melodies, to very poignant lyrics for all of us. Probably the saddest part of this review is finding out that these guys relocated from Christchurch to Canada to pursue their musical career - I am not sure how to deal with that, is it a good thing or a bad thing? I think from their perspective it was a good thing, but from the quality of this single, it is a bad thing for us. I can only imagine that they would be a treat to see.

The song itself has a nice mix of uplifting melancholy sounds, which may be an oxymoron, but in this case the emotions the song releases in my soul are a mixture of sadness and jubilation depending on what part of the song you are currently engaging in. The lyrics offer a mixture of the same emotions. The lyrics "at least I am alive to see the sun come up another day" after an internal battle of waiting for something to come along, is the kind of optimism that I can grab a hold of, even in the darkest hours of one's existence.

Once again New Zealand music comes up with another brilliant song. Found Family tick all the boxes with a good sounding Rock/Emo song and poignant lyrics, both of which take you on an emotional journey for better or worse. I am very excited to see what these guys do in the future; they are very much ones to look out for.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Found Family

Found Family are a Toronto-based alternative rock duo from Christchurch, New Zealand. Matt and Troy collaborate on musings of mental health, loss, and seeking silver linings. They moved to Toronto in May of 2019, leaving behind friends, careers and loved ones, chasing a shared dream in music. It starts with their single Alive, released 20th May 2020.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Found Family

Releases

There are no releases to display for Found Family.

Other Reviews By Chris Chick

Oceanspace - Single Review: Silver City Rain
01 Sep 2021 // by Chris Chick
Now and again a song comes around that makes you stop and think "well that certainly surprised me". This is in no way a negative connotation, I would hate to think that my initial perspective was one of which, when I was given the task to review this song, I was already looking to the one-star rating.
Read More...
Salt Rock - Single Review: Six Appeal
30 Jul 2021 // by Chris Chick
Any song that has a sultry baseline and some trumpets are always going to grab my listening ear and have me easily fall in love with, that is just how I roll. Salt Rock are a funk-dub group based in Christchurch made up of seven pals doing their thing to the wonderful New Zealand music scene.
Read More...
False Heights - Single Review: Caught Up
21 Jul 2021 // by Chris Chick
The Taupo based pop duo False Heights have released their new single Caught Up and it is a corker. From the get go, the song takes me from the mid-winter blues (as I write this review) to the yearning of a wonderful sun filled summer on its way.
Read More...
Album Review: Turkey The Bird
07 Jun 2021 // by Chris Chick
The self-professed ‘Simon & Garfunkel’ of Aotearoa bring their first album to the listening ears of all New Zealanders and let us not beat around the bush, this is a corker of epic proportions. From the steadfast sound of the banjo piercing your ears delightful receptacles, to some rather incredibly smooth harmonies backed up by some rasping bass lines.
Read More...
Banana Mundo - EP Review: Hola
29 Apr 2021 // by Chris Chick
You just know with a name like Banana Mundo that you are in for a good time, as my old man once said to me "Chris, I am short and so is life, we are here for a good time, not a long time". It's a shame he did not have this EP at hand to use it in his timely philosophical saying.
Read More...
MARY. - Single Review: Day To Day
12 Mar 2021 // by Chris Chick
MARY. is the ‘dreamy’ alter ego of the songs creator Stef T, a robust and staunch woman making her way in what can be perceived as a very male orientated world in many aspects.
Read More...
Revulva - Single Review: Sniffly Lady
25 Feb 2021 // by Chris Chick
I had the privilege and honour to review the debut single from Revulva, Sniffly Lady, a song all about the grand boogie on a Saturday night. No matter how old or young you are, the intense anticipation of getting out and amongst the people for a boogie, especially in this day and age, is the great equalizer to the capitalistic machine we all find ourselves under.
Read More...
Bad Llamas - EP Review: Wunderlane
31 Jan 2021 // by Chris Chick
The new 6 track EP Wunderlane by Bad Llamas is a breath of fresh air when it comes to NZ music. Situated down in the depths of Christchurch, this is the band's second EP release after their debut 2019 EP What Even is Bad Llamas.
Read More...
View All Articles By Chris Chick

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • PEPEHA
    Six60
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
  • FAIR TRADE
    Drake feat. Travis Scott
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem